We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded B&B”
Review of Walden Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walden Plantation
Ranked #7 of 9 Llano B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Secluded B&B”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My husband and I spent a night here in November for our anniversary. This was our first time staying at a B&B, so we really didn't know what to expect. It is in the middle of nowhere & it was very quiet and peaceful. The room was a good size and very clean. There are no elevators, only metal stairs. The breakfast was delicious! We were given juice, fruit & a muffin to start with, and then given blueberry pancakes with sausage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisybug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I found this hidden gem and went for a night. Where to begin... First of all, we had wanted to arrive early even though check in is at 3pm and Minerva made it a point to have the room ready beforehand. When we arrived we were sent to our very clean room. Apparently the Plantation was booked solid, but it's so quiet you would never know. At night, there were people out by the pool and fire pit, but the entire place was quiet.
In the morning we went down for breakfast and was truly delectable. The owners were cooking and chatting with all their guests.
My only complaint and its not a big deal was that there really is no where relatively close to eat. The closest place is about 10miles out.

My husband and I will return to the wonderful place for R&R!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Batata32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Fresnos, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Finding Walden Plantation is a challenge worth accepting. It is hidden in the Hill Country brush well off the beaten path. Like most who live "out there," Walden tends to be self-sufficient: translation, sometimes things break down, but that's part of the charm. We were out of water for a short time while the pump was repaired, but it wasn't a big inconvenience. That was far outweighed by the lovely, wild setting and the beauty of the man-made structures. Walden is all modern and luxurious and should be regarded as a destination rather than a place to stay. Breakfast was wonderful, tasty and available later than most for a relaxed start of the day. We're looking forward to a return for a mini-vacation rather than a stop along the way.

Room Tip: All rooms open to the brush country, some on the second floor may be able to see the river, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4funaurora_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bend, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This "retreat" is 11 miles west of Llano. It was a destination 3 day mini vacation for us. The owner's were very pleasant and helpful. The room was extremely nice, with newer furnishings, quiet, clean and very comfortable. We stayed on the 2nd floor and in order to get to your room you had to climb metal stairs. No elevator. So if you cannot climb stairs I would recommend getting a room on the first floor. The breakfast served to us was wonderful! Each day it included fruit and a mini muffin plate and a second dish consisting of 2 sausage and 2 waffles (day 1), bacon and eggs with potatoes (day 2), and pancakes and 2 sausage (day 3). The pool and hot tub were very nice and one evening it was quite chilly so we enjoyed the outdoor gas firepit while drinking a glass of wine. Wine is sold on the premises and for $4.00 you get a large glass! Being in the Texas Hill Country the location is not too far from area wineries, Enchanted Rock, lakes, and Fredericksburg for shopping. We noticed a large family staying in one of the suites but mostly there were other couples. This would be a wonderful place for a family reunion, class reunion, a wedding or weekend get-a-way. It was well worth the money to stay here. The only drawback was in the evening after sundown, you had to make sure you didn't step on a frog near the path lights leading to the outdoor seating area and walkway to the Plantation! This was not a problem, it was just due to the country location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieNanaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is just a unique place and Minerva made this stay even more special. Her very outgoing and friendly way made us "feel at home" right away.
We loved our room, it was very clean and comfortable. The pool was so nice and if we ever come back, we will definitely stay longer. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Texas country site and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EundE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The web site made this place sound wonderful and we were really looking forward to a romantic week-end away. We managed to have a good time in spite of the Walden Plantation but if we could have gotten our money back after that first night and gone somewhere else we would have! Where to start? I have stayed at numerous bed and breakfast places which are usually wonderful with little extra touches and wonderful people who run them. The large building you see in the pictures is where you stay and it is just like a hotel. A bedroom and bathroom with a little refrigerator. They had peanut packages on the counter and the fridge was stocked but all of that was to buy - they wanted $2.50 for a small package of peanuts! I have never seen that at a B&B, only at hotels. We arrived a little after 3:00pm which is check-in time. We walked around to the office/dining room building to check in only to find no-one there and all the lights off. We waited around for a little bit and then went walking around looking for someone. The first floor porch around the building had dead bugs and animal poop all around it. When we didn't find anyone, we went back to the office and still no one. We started to walk off when finally a nice lady came out to greet us. She greeted us by the wrong name and didn't know that we had a reservation, but quickly found it. We hauled all our stuff in - Ricardo is right it is a hike by an ugly fountain that has not been well maintained! I wanted to go check out the Llano river so we walked around to the back to see it. It too is a hike and they have this dirt path which like the fountain is not well-maintained. Stickers were everywhere! The river bank on their side is all grassy and weedy and there is no good place to get in. Now across from them, down the road that runs by the property to the other side, the river bank is all rock and dirt and you can just wade right in. Everyone we saw in the river had done this - driven in their car on that road to the other side. We spent 30 minutes getting the stickers out of our shoes with tweezers when we got back to the room. Unfortunately, others had not been so considerate so we encountered stickers in the carpet and in the bath mat! After driving into Llano for dinner, we came back out to relax with a drink and play backgammon. The only place that you can sit at a table is in their dining area or the outside bar area which looks really nice. It wasn't. First, they were playing Christmas music in August and it was pretty loud. I had to ask if it could be turned off or changed and she seemed a little surprised that I didn't want to listen to Christmas music. The table and chairs weren't that comfortable and the bugs were bad so we ended up back in our room sitting on our bed to play. The bed was the best thing in the whole place but we still didn't sleep great because the a/c unit is loud and we could hear everything above us. It sounded like a herd of elephants were in the rooms above us! The shower pressure wasn't great and they didn't replace the used washcloths. The filter basket in the coffee maker in our room was disgusting. Breakfast was good but we didn't stick around for it Sunday morning because we were ready to get out of there and never go back! I booked the stay through a bed and breakfast web site which stated that Walden Plantation is 30 minutes from Fredericksburg but it is not. It is a good 45 minutes to an hour depending on traffic. Next time, we will stay in Fredericksburg! They obviously spent a lot of money on building the place, but didn't put a lot of thought into it and have definitely not maintained it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Walden Plantation located 11 miles from Llano, Tx is a quiet, relaxing, elegant retreat. The property is bordered on one side by a slow moving river with benches available for your comfort. There is a swimming pool and hot tub and the breakfast was delicious. Walden Plantation is quite a ways from town, but that distance means there are no city sounds to disturb you. Early one morning, I sat on the porch outside our room and watched a dear and fawn in an adjacent field. We went during a summer special so the rooms were more reasonable than most hotels.

Room Tip: Bottom floor river view rooms have river view only from a side window. Upstairs rooms have a much b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llano
8.0 mi away
Best Western Llano
Best Western Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Llano
8.8 mi away
Sandstone Street Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Circle Your Wagons B&B
8.9 mi away
At Nana's Guest House
At Nana's Guest House
#1 of 4 in Llano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
23.3 mi away
Rio Vista Resort
Rio Vista Resort
#5 of 7 in Kingsland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walden Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Plantation

Property: Walden Plantation
Address: 1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643-2931
Region: United States > Texas > Llano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Walden Plantation Hotel Llano
Walden Plantation Llano, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing