We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Accommodations”
Review of Walden Plantation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walden Plantation
Ranked #7 of 9 Llano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This bed & breakfast is tucked away deep in the hill country. What a wonderful experience. 5 star accommodations, 5 star staff. (The breakfast, included in your price) was by far top notch. The best 3 day getaway I've had. Llano river at your finger tips. Swimming, hot tub, tubing, kayaking. All available for your enjoyment. Close to wineries and Fredricksberg for all other enjoyment. The best kept secret at your fingertips.

Thank you Walden Plantation Bed & Breakfast for an amazing time.

Judy Waggoner
Lubbock, TX

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwaggoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Walden Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

Upon going to Walden plantation we were greated by friendly staff and a sweet manager. I happen to be here the weekend the owner was around. HE WAS RUDE not only to clients but to his staff. The food is good, they lack in any activities, besides the swimming pool, there are no common areas besides the crowded breakfast room. The room was so darn hot I couldn't sleep. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone...the price is too high for what you get and how wants to line the pockets of an owner that doesn't give a crap about his clients or his staff!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsCadillac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Walden. You and your staff did an excellent job and your facilities are top notch. The food was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgid006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Booked three rooms: tem in rooms 44 degrees with a small window unit to heat took over 7 hours running a hair dryer to heat room. Breakfast was beautifully done...but cold! Breakfast room had cartoons playing loudly or TV...(guess what we want to get away from.) This is not a "plantation" is it a hotel on an ugly piece of property near the river but not on it due to flooding. The rooms were nice and bedding was nice if you didn't mind the 44 degrees temp. The staff if fiiendly but you must know how bed and breakast works to actually run a B and B. There is no central meeting room, just the breakfast room. No turn down service and not make up of the room, just towels. I would not recommend this to anyone even though the people are nice. We spent $1000 for the three rooms for two nights and drove 5 hours to get to this....don't waste your time....danny

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dannyfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

If you are into weirdly designed architecture, you will enjoy this eclectic property. There is no lobby, no elevators, no bell service, no restaurant ... just an expensive box placed in the middle of nowhere. The appointments were very nice and the breakfast was excellent. Other than that, there is no reason I would return.

Our suite, "The Leifeste," was supposedly the nugget of the resort. If you select this room, be prepared to pay about $250/night. Also be prepared for a pristine view of ... drum roll ...
not the river but ... the parking lot, which is about 150 yards from your room. I mention this because of the weirdness of it all:
1. The least expensive rooms overlook the river (actually more of a creek).
2. Who wants to lug baggage 150 yards up and down stairwells?
3. The toilet next to the dining room table makes for interesting conversation.
4. There is no common area for reading, watching TV, socializing, etc. and the pool is
extremely small.

The surrounding area is very "un-hill country like." Just flat fields of cactus and mesquite trees. In a word, this place was BORING.

We love the Texas Hill Country and really enjoy places like Barton Creek (Austin) and The
Wildcatter (Graham). Unfortunately, The Walden Plantation does not remotely compare
to these wonderful retreats. Save your money and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here, and it was great. Amenities are more resort or hotel like than your traditional B&B. It is not at all quaint. Its brand new and luxurious, if you woke up in the room you would think Hilton not Llano B&B. Rooms were large and the Dish TV was great. Rooms are quite private and quiet although they open to the community walk way. Linens are top notch as are the furnishings. Service is prompt and unobtrusive. Pool and spa are excellent and cannot be found at similar establishments. Although its relatively secluded, its close enough (10 minutes to the center of Llano and its shopping and food. Being right up against the river is a nice bonus although we preferred the pool! They even had bar service out by the pool.

Food was very good as well and we liked that you had a generous window of time to catch breakfast (8:30-11:00) unlike many B&B's that force you to wake up at the crack of dawn to get breakfast.

If we were to go again, we would either ask for an upstairs river view room, I would not pay the extra $20 a night for the river view on the first floor again since much of the view of the river is obscured by the stairs and pool.

Overall I would highly recommend Walden Plantation to a family or couple looking for high end feel in a country B&B. It was a bit more expensive than I thought it would be when I booked it, especially for the Llano area, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flash333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llano hotels
8.1 mi away
Best Western Llano
Best Western Llano
#1 of 3 in Llano
191 reviews
7.3 mi away
Circle Your Wagons B&B
8.8 mi away
Sandstone Street Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
At Nana's Guest House
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Llano
8.6 mi away
Flossie's Corner Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walden Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Plantation

Address: 1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643-2931
Region: United States > Texas > Llano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Llano
Price Range: £88 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Walden Plantation Hotel Llano
Walden Plantation Llano, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing