We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty”
Review of Plum Creek Inn

Plum Creek Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plum Creek Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lockhart
Abilene, Texas
1 review
“Nasty”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very musky and nasty smell, stains on sheets, dingy bath towels. Dirty ice container. No ice machines they give a frozen plastic bag with ice. Showers no water pressure probably due to very old shower head. Tubs so nasty you have to lay a towel down so you don't have to step on it. The rooms look like they have not been updated since the 1970's and you may want to wear shoes cause the carpets are nasty they also have cigarette burns on them. If you want to stay there ask to look at the room first before paying. I will not make that mistake EVER Again.

Room Tip: Go Else Where!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
12
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This motel was great all around. We had a nice room good bed.Price was fair and the people where great.We are going to make this motel one of our stops south next year in Nov.2014.Thank you very much.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We are really happy that you liked our motel and are thrilled that you will be staying with us in future. Thank you for you kind words from bottom of our hearts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I found this motel a nice place for 1 or 2 nights. Clean, friendly and affordable. The rooms are spacious and clean, what do you need more for a good nights sleep? I would go there again, it is good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you very much for your honest opinion and complementing us. I hope we would be able to exceed your expectations next time you stay with us. We really appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It seems that the Plum Creek got a bum rap from some grouchy folks for reasons I could not see or find. The just-this-past-week visit there was for a single night, but the motel was very clean, well kept, and the management was most accommodating. It isn’t a brand-new place if that’s what you have to have and are willing to pay extra to have that. By the way, the temperature in Lockhart was about 103F that day and the Plum Creek air worked well. What a relief! The bath room was clean as was the room. The layout is unique and very private. Very clean pool too. Lockhart has good BBQ and the Mexican restaurant next to the Plum Creek has good, inexpensive, quality food. I’d stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G0SpursG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thanks for your honest opinion and glad to hear that you would like to stay with us.
May god bless you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

You get what you pay for, but its clean and the staff is awlays nice. No fancy anything, but Ive stayed several times over the last few months, and the beds and bathrooms are aways clean. No fitness center, no breakfast, sketchy wifi, but its cheap. No bugs as previously stated. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thanks for you kind words. Happy that you got your money's worth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockhart, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

this is a nasty place needs major cleaning and new house keepers and new management if they would see that the beds were not durty they wouldnt take them off they would leave them on there and still make the beds the dont wash the top blankets only if they smell dont clean under the beds or between the doors some house keepers were not responsible that instead of doing there job and clean keep everything nice and tight the would sit in the bed and watch tv instead of spending the time cleaning the room right and doing there job come on if you want to get paid for doing nothing that aint right just stay you at home and the owner that own that are harley even there since they come from out of town

Room Tip: never stay there its not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felipe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I wanted to do my part in supporting local businesses by holding my baby shower here. Worst decision ever!! Not only is the staff rude but so is the owner. When I went to view the conference room the owner showed it to us, seemed nice and assured us that the space would be clean; even said she would rent it w/out taking a deposit! Which was nice seeing it was a so-so room that we were renting for $150 plus tax for 4hrs. 2 days before my shower my mother & I back to refresh our memory of the space. Room windows were still filthy w/ hand prints & dead bugs guts smashed on them. Floor was still dirty with cricket bodies scattered about, the bar area had been filled with tables stacked behind it and tons of chairs. Before leaving we asked the front desk lady if windows could be cleaned, floor vacuumed & tables & extra chairs moved out b/c we would need the whole space for the amount of ppl we had coming. She looked at us blankly saying she guess she could ask maintenance to do so & we would have to speak to the owner about the tables & chairs. Sunday comes & thankfully we decided to go early to check on room. The owner was extremely upset with us b/c "we complained" about the room. We tried explaining we had not complained only asked for it to be cleaned. (God forbid) She chewed us out saying if we wanted it clean we had to do so, that she told us that. "you clean before, you clean up after"...then the tables & chair issue she told us they could not be moved b/c she was renovating her rooms. It was Sunday she didn't have maintenance there to move them nor a place. Idk if you follow but apparently it's ok to charge someone $150 + tax for a dirty room that 1/4 of the space "they" occupied. After paying an extra $25 and giving her a credit card she allowed us to move table & chairs into another room. She went on & on about how she didn't live here she lived in Houston..(relevance=NONE) and was like I told you tables couldn't be moves but whatever! Enjoy your party. Gee thanks! Thankfully we got set up in time & had a wonderful turn out despite a rough start. I do no recommend bringing your money to this business. Owner is very unprofessional, facility is dirty. I can only hope you r have to clean the room you stay in the way you have to clean the conference area!?! Absolutely ridiculous!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lmae1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Guests were taken to meeting room to show it was not rentable as we were putting new furniture in rooms. They were told that furniture could not be moved but they still insisted on renting it. We gave them $25.00 discount. We clean meeting room in the morning before it is rented and not two days in advance. It was a clean meeting room when rented. Guests wanted more area probably because they expected more guests. They willingly moved the chairs and were charged $25.00 for using more room. Their guests started coming in at about10.00 A.M. and they were in the room till 6.00 P.M. That is one full day and not 4 hrs. We even guided their guests whenever they asked for directions or for any kind of help at our end.
We insist that our guests keep our motel clean as much as possible, turn off utilities if not needed and go green by recycling.
People should not complain just for sake of complaining or getting discount after using the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lockhart
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lockhart Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Lockhart Inn
Lockhart Inn
#2 of 3 in Lockhart
24 reviews
14.6 mi away
Longhorn Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn University near Downtown
15.4 mi away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#18 of 32 in San Marcos
204 reviews
15.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#19 of 32 in San Marcos
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Creek Inn

Property: Plum Creek Inn
Address: 2001 Highway 183 South, Lockhart, TX 78644-3951
Region: United States > Texas > Lockhart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lockhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Plum Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique motel spread over 10 acres of land with 10 separate buildings. Tex-Mex resataurant on premise. Owner-Manager on property most of the time. Right across from new Super Walmart. Upgraded new rooms. 18 miles from formuls Race 1 Track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Plum Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing