We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you come from a place where Mexican and BBQ aren't the two major food groups...”
Review of Cafe Barron's

Cafe Barron's
Ranked #11 of 236 Restaurants in Longview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The newly remodeled Café Barron's features a full service bar, extensive wine & beer list and three imaginative menus: lunch, dinner, and Saturday brunch, with small plates featured for afternoon cocktails. A few of our favorites include veal picatta, hot 'n crunchy chicken, pomegranate salmon, a mouthwatering mesquite bison burger and hand-cut ribeyes. Our focus is providing delicious innovative food in a refreshing, upscale, unpretentious comfortable space.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Barron's is a lovely restaurant! The service is excellent and the food is delicious. We moved here from a big city and really struggle with the quality and variety of restaurant food that is available in Longview. Barron's is one of the few exceptions. We enjoy eating at Barron's and wish there were more restaurants like it in Longview. The menu has options for everyone. I particularly enjoy the daily specials. Lunch and dinner are available. If you get tired of the "chain restaurants" - you really need to try Barron's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joanneb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Owner at Cafe Barron's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments. My parents, the founders, moved here from a big city too and created our concept to provide what THEY missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We like to go to Barron's because it is centrally located and the food and atmosphere is above average for Longview. Service is adequate and prices are reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Owner at Cafe Barron's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

We appreciate your comments. We seem to have "missed the mark" on service. "Adequate" is not up to our standards. We will strive to make your next experience far better than average.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very good cafe with a fine dining ambiance and a unique menu. Not like a franchise menu. Love the crispy chicken and crispy fish. Also when available the lamb is also wonderful. Also try the chicken salad, Very delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tmayfield1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Owner at Cafe Barron's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for dining with us! So glad you like our hot 'n crunchy chicken & fish, they are our signature dishes. And about that chicken salad - we changed the recipe once and had a mutiny - so it's gonna stay AS YOU LIKE IT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

There was a time when every major American Dept. Store had a wonderful place to eat after shopping. Who can forget Le Train Bleu Restaurant or the Coffee Shop on 6th at Bloomingdale's in NYC or the great Zodiac Room at Neiman Marcus in Dallas, Texas. Cafe Barron's in Longview, Texas continues in this wonderful tradition.

Cafe Barron's has a small but select Luncheon menu of Soups & Salads, Pastas, Sandwiches and Specialties like the Lobster & Blue Crab Cakes. Please inquire about the Hot Lunch Specials as I did. You will not be disappointed. Cafe Barron's is also offering a special 3 course Valentine's Day menu from 5 pm to 9 pm. I understand that Reservations are a Must!

There is plenty of seating both inside and out, weather permitting. And what is especially wonderful about this place is that you can have a nice conversation during your meal.

Traveler's: Please note the hours of service:

Lunch is served from Monday - Saturday 11 to 2:30 pm
Dinner is served from Tuesday - Saturday 5 - 9 pm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank filmbuffintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Owner at Cafe Barron's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for dining with us and relating your good experience! We started as a bookstore in 1972 and have grown from 1,500 sq. ft. to the 16,000 sq. ft. of shopping/eatery we are today - still the same family. It is good people like you that make us love what we do.

Sincerely, Brandon Barron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I love to go to Barron's Cafe. The bread and the Tomato Bisque Soup are lovely and a favorite of mine for lunch.... and they have great salads. Try the specials when you can.....because they are....... ..well.....'special'. It's nice to have a place where you can have a nice glass of wine with your meal, and the service has always been perfect.
I've had the pastas at Barron's and I loved them.....from a tasty pasta with a bit of spiciness ....to a pasta with seafood..... all are great.
Anyway.... I recommend Barron's if you like a nice quiet ambience, a place to chat, and good food and wine.
If you like loud places with huge portions.... go on over to Papacita's Mexican Restaurant... because, Barron's has the feel of a European cafe....where people can sit comfortably with soft music and eat soups, bread, seafood, chicken, salads, pasta, steak, (sometimes Prime Rib...) etc.. for a whole hour, and enjoy the spices, the sauces, ....and actually speak to each other... : -)
I'm going there tonight with a friend to have the Snapper with Crab meat and sauce!! I'm really looking forward to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Barron's also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Barron's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing