We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience I have EVER had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Longview
Texarkana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience I have EVER had”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I were staying in this hotel for his work for about three weeks. Let me start with the manager/owner. He lives here with his family. Any time you buzz for someone at the front desk he approaches blurry-eyed and half asleep. He has no facial expressions and the inflection in his voice never changes. Since it was my husband, myself, and our baby, we got a room with a king sized bed. They offered us a "suite" at no extra charge because it has cabinets and a sink. I thought this was a great deal until I realized I would have to clean the cabinets myself. Food was in all of them. The floor had not been vacuumed, and there were juice bottles under the furniture from where children had been here before. Our bathroom light did not work for a week. We had to use the bathroom with the door open and shower with a candle. He said that he could not fix it and we would have to switch rooms. Once we couldn't take it anymore, we offered to switch rooms. The room he took me to see was exactly like ours except I noticed a boxed fan in the floor. He opened the window and was like, "here, we can cool it off in here" (instead of using the AC). I was like "wait, does the AC even work?" He said yes, and turned it on and surprise! It did not work. Then he has the nerve to say, "I will just fix your bathroom light. Let me get some tools." He comes and fixes it in about ten minutes.

We got locked out of our room and had to go reset the key. When we did this, my husband had to use the bathroom and was going to use the one in the hall available to everyone. When he tried, the light was out! The manager had taken the light out of the bathroom in the hall to put in ours instead of buying a new one! Out of three lamps in the room, one worked. One didn't even have an available outlet to plug it into, the other that was mounted to the wall burned out. One of the overhead lights never worked to begin with. Being on the first floor, I do not want my window open all day.

Housekeeping came in maybe twice a week. I had to go ask for towels and leave my trash in the hallway for her to get the picture. There are also no "do not disturb" signs. Their plan is for housekeeping to knock every single day, even though she doesn't. The AC is so outdated that it is either freezing or muggy and humid. The carpet has food stuck all in it from where they haven't shampooed it.

The internet is TERRIBLE. I need it for my online schooling and it is at 30% all day and night. The manager/owner lives here so I think it is their personal internet that they share. I can barely get the internet to pull up at all.

There is no breakfast. They will say there is, but there isn't even coffee.
The water even got turned off for a few hours with no notice one day.
I will never again stay in this hotel and if it weren't for us trying to save money we would have left and gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvilongview, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thankyou for participating in our online survey we are so sorry to hear about your past experience with us, we would like to inform you that all the issues pointed by you have been taken care of and we wish to see you soon at our property to give us a chance to not disappoint you.

GM
ABVI-LONGVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Staying at the Longview, TX Americas Best Value Inn motel was a terrible experience. The manager-owner was indifferent and bored.
Friday morning before 7 am, the contract workers that stayed there had taken all of the pastry, juice, etc. When my mother asked for more, the manager said he didn't have any. (She rang the bell on the desk and he came out bleary eyed –she’d awakened him.) There was cereal and some milk.
Saturday morning, there was a tiny amount of milk. Once it was gone, there was no breakfast. There was NOTHING ELSE AVAILABLE!
Sunday morning, there was no milk for cereal. THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE AVAILABLE.
I would never stay at that hotel in Longview under any circumstances. My view of the value of this brand has dropped through the floor.
The outside of the building looks great; inside the place is marginally clean, the lobby restroom was broken our entire stay and no one seems to care.
The front door isn't opened until after 9 am; the manager sleeps late.
Simply awful!

Room Tip: Become a member of the Value Club for great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PokeyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvilongview, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thankyou for participating in our online survey we are so sorry to hear about your past experience with us, we would like to inform you that all the issues pointed by you have been taken care of and we wish to see you soon at our property to give us a chance to not disappoint you.

GM
ABVI-LONGVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Longview hotels

Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This is one of the nicest Best Value Inn's we've stayed in, but be advised that it's a two story motel with NO elevator. And there are no downstairs smoking rooms, so if you're a smoker and don't want to drag your stuff upstairs, stay somewhere else. Internet access is iffy upstairs, too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salesproquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvilongview, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Thankyou so much for your positive feedback, we have upgraded our property and we believe in making each and every customer satisfied.
It will be nice to see you back at our property to give us a chance to serve you with quality service and to make your stay plesant and comfortable
GM
ABVI-LONGVIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2006

$49.95 rate on a Saturday night for 1 person in a non-smoking suite with a king bed and cable, fridge, and microwave. Plus free high speed wireless internet.

This place is very clean and seems to be pretty new. The checkin was quick and staff was friendly. 50 cents for a can of coke in the machine is reasonable.

A nicer room at a lower price than a couple other better known hotels in town. And only a mile or so from 281 where all the restaurants and stores are.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvilongview, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 31 July 2016
Dear Valued Guest,


Thankyou for your positive feedback , its nice to hear good things about our property. we would like to inform you that we have upgraded our property, we have fast speed internet (wifi) in all areas and rooms, microwave refrigerator,iron board, flat screen tv , direct tv with more than 300 hd channels. continental breakfast .

Team- ABVI longview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Longview hotels
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Longview
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Longview/North
Super 8 Longview/North
#19 of 34 in Longview
58 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Longview South
Days Inn Longview South
#5 of 34 in Longview
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Longview
Comfort Suites Longview
#12 of 34 in Longview
75 reviews
5.7 mi away
Centerstone Suites
Centerstone Suites
#17 of 34 in Longview
20 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 34 in Longview
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn and Suites
Address: 2700 N Eastman Rd, Longview, TX 75605-4047
Region: United States > Texas > Longview
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Longview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a terrific property to stay at while visiting Longview, Texas. Our 40 unit, interior corridor property is located off Interstate 259 and in close proximity to the Longview Airport. We are conveniently located close to local shopping venues, as well as, business centers. Come visit the Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing