We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with quite rooms”
Review of Courtyard Lubbock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Lubbock
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location with quite rooms”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were in town for the first time for a family wedding. Rooms were clean and quite. Staff was friendly with large open area with different space to read or watch tv. First time staying in a Courtyard by Marriott and did not have a free breakfast or coffee. Coffee in rooms were good and indoor pool for grandkids were clean. Did not have time or evening drinks or food bur had breakfast were good two eggs with bacon or sausage with toast for $8.00 all made fresh and had Starbucks coffee also for a price. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    44
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
15
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travelled to Lubbock, TX for family reasons in late May and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly front desk staff that seemed genuinely interested in making certain we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We arrived at about 10 am and they had a room available for us without any wait. The hotel front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance staff was always helpful and courteous. The front desk staff greeted us with genuine hellos and smiles every time we exited and re entered the hotel.

Upon entering the room, it was hot and muggy, but didn't smell bad. The room was a bit dated and small, but I felt like it was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. In the end, that is what I find most important about a hotel room unless I am vacationing and want luxury.

The room was equipped with a nice flat screen TV and had a small refrigerator that is large enough to store a few 12oz bottles and whatever leftovers you accumulate. There is no microwave in the room, so you have to go down to the hotel lobby to warm up any food you may have in your room.

The bathtub in the room felt very narrow, but the bathroom was clean, which was a reflection of the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel. The hotel housekeeping and maintenance staff appeared to do a good job at upkeep.

The hotel had a small indoor pool that was long enough to swim short laps. A hot tub is located next to the pool; nice to sit in after a swim.

The hotel gym was basic. It had two treadmills, an elliptical trainer, dumbbells ranging from 10 to 50 pounds, an adjustable bench that adjusts between 45deg and 180deg, a water cooler, cups, towels, and a flat screen TV. Both treadmills had a fair amount of wobble to them and were obviously not kept up very well, but I muddled through a 4 mile run on them. Treadmills definitely need maintenance.

The hotel had a bar/restaurant in the lobby. There was a happy hour, but upon checking into happy hour pricing, we found that a glass of wine was $7. To me, that isn't much of a happy hour price. I cannot comment on the food quality, as we always ate at the restaurants surrounding the hotel.

Outback Steakhouse, Jason's Deli, and IHOP are located right next to the hotel (walking distance), which was a huge plus. We ate at all 3 restaurants several times, and all were clean, provided good service, and the food quality was excellent. The hotel also has direct access to loop 289, which is another plus.

There are other newer and nicer hotels for the money in Lubbock, but all in all, if someone asked about the Courtyard, I would tell them it is a safe choice. The fact that the hotel was a bit dated, the gym equipment was unmaintained, and the happy hour is substandard are the reasons I give the hotel a 3 out of 4. The hotel staff gets a 5 out of 5.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Lubbock, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Bvit,
Thank you for your thorough review of the Courtyard Lubbock. I am glad that you had a satisfactory stay, but am sorry that we did not provide you with the five star experience we strive to give our guests. I appreciate you recommending us to others and hope to have another chance to impress you on your next trip to Lubbock.

Sincerely,
Brandon B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've stayed here twice. Its Clean and comfortable and has some of the most helpful, friendliest staff you will ever meet.
Decent size rooms overall. Kinda small sink areas, maybe should be redesigned.
I like the Starbucks in the lounge. Also has an indoor pool/spa area.
Good location to get around quickly, though not walking distance from Texas Tech.
If you are a Marriott Rewards peron, this is where you hold stay as the Residence Inn is not as nice, and there is no Marriott or JW. To be fair, I haven't seen the Fairmount.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaimeaLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were greeted by Kyle when registering he was super helpful. Our room was beautiful had a wonderful balcony overlooking the front. We were offered a free meal in appreciation of my husband being deployed the next day, it made our last hours together wonderful. thank you
our only problem was the pool was out of service but the front desk called 3 local hotels to find us a place we could swim. above and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

As reviewed before it is a standard new Courtyard property but with better customer service then is standard. I left the do not disturb sign on my door and arrived back that afternoon to find a basket of fresh towels and toiletries. Was in town during the NFL conference championship games and the staff allowed us to watch the game on the large TV downstairs with outside snacks and refreshments. Will be glad to return to this property in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed the weekend in Lubbock and chose Courtyard. The overall stay was good. The room was clean and spacious. We needed directions to a brewery outside of Lubbock and Kyle at the front desk was courteous to look it up and print it out for us. As we left our room, the housekeeping ladies were very sweet to wave goodbye to our son in the hallway.
We were glad that they offered an indoor pool, but the water was quite cool so we didn't stay long. We've stayed at hotels with complimentary breakfast, but this hotel does not. They do have a small cafe that you can purchase breakfast and beverages. Overall the hotel stay was quite nice and we would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mleal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

For years, my go-to hotels in Lubbock have been Hilton properties, but that's definitely changed. This Courtyard is the new style with a very open lobby and a small bar/bistro, but what sets it apart is the service. From the warm welcome at check-in to the very friendly person working the bistro, service was consistently very good. The rooms are large, nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable - with plenty of work and relaxing space. Nice large flat-panel TVs with plenty of channels served up in high definition complete the space. And although the air conditioner was a bit "old school" (no thermostat on the wall, just a wall mounted air conditioning unit) it seemed relatively new, quiet, and kept the room comfortable. I will definitely plan on staying here again on future trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoRest4wkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lubbock
Hampton Inn Lubbock
#11 of 66 in Lubbock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
3.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lubbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lubbock

Property: Courtyard Lubbock
Address: 4011 S Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79423-1131
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lubbock 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Lubbock is excited for your arrival and ready to provide you with exceptional customer service. Conveniently located near Texas Tech University and South Plains Mall, guests will never have a shortage of things to do in Lubbock, TX. With a variety of restaurants within walking distance to our hotel, you have plenty of dining options. Additionally, the Courtyard Lubbock includes The Bistro with dining options for any time of day. The Bistro includes Starbucks specialty drink options to start your morning off right. Our indoor pool & hot tub, and our 24-hour fitness center will give you the means to work out and relax during your time with us. We are centrally located near a variety of hub city attractions including Buffalo Springs Lake, the South Plains Fairgrounds, and concerts at United Spirit Arena. Only a 20-minute drive from the Preston Smith International Airport makes our hotel a convenient stay for travelers to the Lubbock area. Lubbock businesses and small groups in the area will appreciate our meeting room space available on site, as well as the Courtyard Lubbock's free WiFi and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Lubbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lubbock Hotel Lubbock
Lubbock Marriott
Lubbock Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing