We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The bed was awesome, great location to Texas Tech and surrounding shops and dinning. The only thing they need are more trash receptacles inside the room everything else was very good!

Room Tip: Walking distance to Texas Tech
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeverlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for your comment and suggestion about trash receptacles. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    190
    84
    39
    19
See reviews for
210
91
20
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel with fellow teachers and students for an academic competition at Texas Tech. I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure. The most surprising thing was the amount of employees working the lobby at 4 am when I had to make a run to the airport. They were so friendly!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thanks for the great comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Loved the decor and the room, slept well in a great bed. Thanks for the great shuttle service for giving us a ride for our dinner reservations and picking us up in the middle of the night. Breakfast was delicious in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have stayed at the Overton before, and once again our overall stay was good. The staff were all young college-age men and women, but were very helpful and courteous. They did remember to wish us happy anniversary upon check in, and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate. We reserved a room on the preferred level, which is more expensive and includes a manager's reception and breakfast. Unfortunately, the upgrade was quite a disappointment. We showed up at the manager's reception with 5 minutes to spare, and the server already had everything packed up and acted like we were inconveniencing him. For breakfast, there was a sign on the door informing guests that breakfast would be served in the restaurant downstairs because of Easter. And you would think the rooms would be bigger or different in some way from the standard rooms but they are exactly the same.
Also, a minor oversight, but the hotel pool is on the east side of the hotel, which means it us in the shadow of the hotel after noon and cold! Who goes swimming before noon at a hotel? And even if you did it would be cold in the morning.
I don't mean to complain, we did enjoy our stay and just made light of the drawbacks. It really us the nicest hotel in Lubbock. t

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbbcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you so much for your review! This is great feedback and we appreciate the positive comments as well as the constructive criticism.

While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall, your concerns about the preferred level and the outdoor pool are valid, and will be talked about as a team in an effort to improve.

Again, your comments are appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Resvd 2 rooms and upon entering the first room, it stank of cigarette smoke. Went to front desk and was promised that the smell would be removed in just a couple of hours. Came back several hours later, and the room still stank. The hotel was sold out, but I expected they would comp the room because of the nasty smell. They did no. and apparently they thought they were being generous in giving me $10 off the room rate. Developed a headache from the room smell and had a horrible nights sleep. The smoke smell was mostly in the bathroom, so you would think they would have changed out the shower curtain and towels. They did not. No one seemed to care and I would rate this hotel, even though the actual facility is probably nices than any other in Lubbock, WITH A BIG FAT " with a0."

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbileneTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Overton. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and regret that we were not able to resolve the smoke odor issue to your satisfaction. Not only are we a non-smoking hotel and strive to provide a fresh and clean experience in every room, but we pride ourselves on the exceptional service we expect for every guest, which you did not receive in this case.

We hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to Lubbock, and that we can exceed your expectations this time.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My fiance and I spent the weekend at the Overton while in town visiting my son who is a student at Tx Tech. I had a zipper bag with several pairs of my favorite earrings on the nightstand. Everything in the bag was taken. There was never anyone in the room other than my fiance and I. When reported to the hotel manager, he said that he had spoken with the housekeeper assigned to my room and the supervisor and no one had seen or knew anything. Of course they didn't! Did he really think they would admit to taking them? I am very disappointed first, that this occurred but second, the position that was taken by hotel mgmt. I was basically told to call their insurance company. Maybe this happens often?!?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HeavenisColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I spent two nights at the Overton in early February. Smooth check-in, all of the staff was friendly (all weekend). I love the decor of the hotel's common spaces. West Texas without being hokey! Wood, leather, interesting artwork to peruse, comfortable feeling to me. Some Texas Tech pride displayed but not overdone.

The room was very nicely decorated, warm earth tones, lot of fluffly pillows and a throw to cover up with while watching TV. Nice size flat-screen TV. Beds were very comfortable. Nice workspace if needed. Free wi-fi. Clean, Clean, Clean.

Steal of the day was $4 a day valet parking, with in and out privileges. The person who brought my car in and out was very friendly. Very close to Tech if you are attending an event. I was going to events at LCU and it was less than a 10 minute drive down 19th Street. Good location.

I will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snydertxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank for the review of your recent stay at the Overton! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a great day!

Josh Henegar
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#33 of 68 in Lubbock
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing