We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not what I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock Texas, USA
1 review
“not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

I have stayed in other hotels that have been better. If this is supposed to be Lubbock's best hotel then that is very disappointing. Lubbock has a LOT nicer hotels than this. Room was average, well there was no listings for the TV channels, no microwave, room/concierge service was poor (I never received the things that I asked for). They have a pool and I was expecting an indoor pool from this hotel, but it was outside and nothing fancy about it at all, not that many chairs though and the pool was not heated. The premium room that includes breakfast was NOT in the main restaurant, which I was not informed of upon check-in and the buffet breakfast is $13/per, but i did check out the breakfast that I was supposed to have and it was slightly more than is offered for a standard hotel this one just included breakfast burritos, oatmeal, fruit, cereal and bagels. overall I was pretty disappointed with this hotel, it was just not what I expected at all.

Room Tip: go to another hotel like embassy suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on providing excellent accommodations and service for each of our guests. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations and hope we can earn your business back.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    181
    81
    38
    18
See reviews for
202
83
18
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

The walls were paper thin. By 5am, I could hear three different alarm clocks sounding in the area, and by 6:45, I could hear tv's, showers, toilets, etc. When I am staying in a hotel (or anywhere), I'd rather not hear someone two doors down flush. The coffee was also horrible...and desparately needed after the poor sleep. The comfortor also had some disusting brown stain on it that I only noticed upon waking, and the carpet was "crusty" in places--I kept shoes on.

But, if you don't like coffee, sleep like the dead and/or have hearing problems, and thoroughly inspect the bedding, the beds were comfortable, and there were multiple pillow options and it was in a good location. It was also a good looking hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Thank you for the feedback. Obviously, we are very concerned about the issues you had and will use it as a training opportunity to get better.

We look forward to earning your business next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

My daughter and I stayed here while she looked at Texas Tech. We both really liked the hotel. It was a great location with walking distance to several places to eat. The staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out over Texas Tech.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The bed was awesome, great location to Texas Tech and surrounding shops and dinning. The only thing they need are more trash receptacles inside the room everything else was very good!

Room Tip: Walking distance to Texas Tech
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeverlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for your comment and suggestion about trash receptacles. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel with fellow teachers and students for an academic competition at Texas Tech. I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure. The most surprising thing was the amount of employees working the lobby at 4 am when I had to make a run to the airport. They were so friendly!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thanks for the great comments! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Loved the decor and the room, slept well in a great bed. Thanks for the great shuttle service for giving us a ride for our dinner reservations and picking us up in the middle of the night. Breakfast was delicious in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thank you for your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We have stayed at the Overton before, and once again our overall stay was good. The staff were all young college-age men and women, but were very helpful and courteous. They did remember to wish us happy anniversary upon check in, and offered us a complimentary bottle of wine to celebrate. We reserved a room on the preferred level, which is more expensive and includes a manager's reception and breakfast. Unfortunately, the upgrade was quite a disappointment. We showed up at the manager's reception with 5 minutes to spare, and the server already had everything packed up and acted like we were inconveniencing him. For breakfast, there was a sign on the door informing guests that breakfast would be served in the restaurant downstairs because of Easter. And you would think the rooms would be bigger or different in some way from the standard rooms but they are exactly the same.
Also, a minor oversight, but the hotel pool is on the east side of the hotel, which means it us in the shadow of the hotel after noon and cold! Who goes swimming before noon at a hotel? And even if you did it would be cold in the morning.
I don't mean to complain, we did enjoy our stay and just made light of the drawbacks. It really us the nicest hotel in Lubbock. t

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbbcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshHenegar, Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you so much for your review! This is great feedback and we appreciate the positive comments as well as the constructive criticism.

While we are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall, your concerns about the preferred level and the outdoor pool are valid, and will be talked about as a team in an effort to improve.

Again, your comments are appreciated and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 64 in Lubbock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Lane, Lubbock, TX 79401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing