We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a wonderful weekend and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Great staff and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was apprehensive at first about the cost per night along with all the other negative reviews. However after speaking to Brian the hotel manager was very helpful and assured me that they uphold the highest standards.

I paid cash for two nights and then added the third night and paid cash as well. There was a little confusion at first however Sarah the office supervisor helped out and fixed the problem.

The hotel was extremely clean and well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful with accomadations.

This turned out to be a memorable experience and a wonderful way to celebrate my graduation

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceValdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel was a great price and very clean! We will stay here every time we come to Lubbock from now on. The room was very nice and quiet with a nice view of the city and is in a perfect location with great places to eat and enjoy within walking distance. I am a nursing student and the staff accomidated me with the most quiet area in the hotel and it is only 5 minutes from the hospital I was testing at. Excellent place to stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kornegay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at the Overton for 4 nights - we had a suite on the concierge floor.

The room was great and, mostly the staff were very helpful. There were a couple of exceptions. One, we never had any housekeeping service on Sunday, even though we left the room from noon to 4 PM (w/out any do not disturb sign, in case you're wondering). We even called and asked to have housekeeping come up and service the room. Nothing. I suspect they keep a very limited staff on Sundays and simply didn't get around to it. But why wouldn't the front desk get back to me when I asked them?

Second, their front desk staff is nice, but can be very uneven. We called and asked to speak to the concierge. There was a guy wearing a nametag that said "concierge" and he was very helpful. But when we called back to follow up, we were told that the hotel had no such person.

Strange.

Good rooms, not much in the way of service. I'd go back, but with lowered expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embarcadero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Room is generously-sized and extremely comfortable.
Bathroom is luxurious, as are toiletries.
Turn-down service chocolates are a nice touch on preferred levels.
Staff is friendly, polite and extremely helpful.
No other hotel in Lubbock comes close!

Room Tip: Preferred levels offer great views, happy hour and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatherBeSewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel after picking up my tween from a flight. She arrived after 10pm so we ordered room service. Wonderful chicken panni with sundried tomatoes and a kobe beef burger. I did choose a room on the conciere floor at a higher rate. The view was nice and also the club lounge. We missed the evening food and beverage but the next morning I had coffee and my daughter had juice a muffin then dasni water for our trip. They also provide you a breakfast buffet coupon for the resturant. Wonderful eggs, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, waffles and more. the breakfast buffet is offered until 11AM so we had it more as a brunch. Fitness center is open 24 hours per day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_tween_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed one night here to move my daughter out of her apartment. While it's a nice hotel, $165 a night for a hotel in Lubbock seems pretty steep. They also have a nice brunch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallasite44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 70 in Lubbock
693 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lubbock, TX
1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#36 of 70 in Lubbock
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range: £102 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing