We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average. Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average. Not worth the price”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I recently stayed here after my wedding. They were nice but the level of service was just not as good as you would expect. They had my room type (2 double bed) was not correct when I got there. As I said before wedding night. Not only did the person at the front desk not confirm the room type (person well aware that it was my wedding night), they had the wrong information in the system. The process was very difficult in order to correct the room. I had to literally pull out my computer and pull up the email confirmation that had the room type on it inorder to get it corrected. They also wanted to charge me EXTRA for it. The other issue was I ordered a bottle of champagne for the room for when we got back. I told them when I was going to be back and they were supposed to put it on ICE. They put i on ice but by the time we got back the water was melted and luke warm. The facilities are rooms are very nice. Everything is new and up to date. The service is seriously lacking for a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    186
    83
    38
    19
See reviews for
207
89
19
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a wonderful weekend and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Great staff and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubbock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was apprehensive at first about the cost per night along with all the other negative reviews. However after speaking to Brian the hotel manager was very helpful and assured me that they uphold the highest standards.

I paid cash for two nights and then added the third night and paid cash as well. There was a little confusion at first however Sarah the office supervisor helped out and fixed the problem.

The hotel was extremely clean and well kept and the staff was friendly and helpful with accomadations.

This turned out to be a memorable experience and a wonderful way to celebrate my graduation

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceValdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel was a great price and very clean! We will stay here every time we come to Lubbock from now on. The room was very nice and quiet with a nice view of the city and is in a perfect location with great places to eat and enjoy within walking distance. I am a nursing student and the staff accomidated me with the most quiet area in the hotel and it is only 5 minutes from the hospital I was testing at. Excellent place to stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornegay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at the Overton for 4 nights - we had a suite on the concierge floor.

The room was great and, mostly the staff were very helpful. There were a couple of exceptions. One, we never had any housekeeping service on Sunday, even though we left the room from noon to 4 PM (w/out any do not disturb sign, in case you're wondering). We even called and asked to have housekeeping come up and service the room. Nothing. I suspect they keep a very limited staff on Sundays and simply didn't get around to it. But why wouldn't the front desk get back to me when I asked them?

Second, their front desk staff is nice, but can be very uneven. We called and asked to speak to the concierge. There was a guy wearing a nametag that said "concierge" and he was very helpful. But when we called back to follow up, we were told that the hotel had no such person.

Strange.

Good rooms, not much in the way of service. I'd go back, but with lowered expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Embarcadero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Room is generously-sized and extremely comfortable.
Bathroom is luxurious, as are toiletries.
Turn-down service chocolates are a nice touch on preferred levels.
Staff is friendly, polite and extremely helpful.
No other hotel in Lubbock comes close!

Room Tip: Preferred levels offer great views, happy hour and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RatherBeSewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel after picking up my tween from a flight. She arrived after 10pm so we ordered room service. Wonderful chicken panni with sundried tomatoes and a kobe beef burger. I did choose a room on the conciere floor at a higher rate. The view was nice and also the club lounge. We missed the evening food and beverage but the next morning I had coffee and my daughter had juice a muffin then dasni water for our trip. They also provide you a breakfast buffet coupon for the resturant. Wonderful eggs, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, waffles and more. the breakfast buffet is offered until 11AM so we had it more as a brunch. Fitness center is open 24 hours per day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_tween_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing