We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay, needs some improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent stay, needs some improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I finally got away for a date night and decided to stay at The Overton. It's wonderful to have a nice hotel in Lubbock now and The Overton was a great getaway, although there were some issues that could be fixed.
The hotel is a mix of modern & western chic design, which we really loved. We booked a king room on a preferred level (rm. 1417) but right away I noticed that the bathroom was poorly designed. It had a stand alone shower with a plastic/vinyl tray and tile surround. It looked like a handicapped shower in a hospital. The shower curtain wasn't long enough so the water poured onto the bathroom floor. The caulking around the tray edge was mildewed and the grate on the drain cover allowed the mildewed sewer pipe to be clearly visible. Odd design choices! This surprised me for an upscale hotel. The rat of the room was fairly comfortable, although all of the pillows were overstuffed. There need to be some down pillows.

Another issue was the food. We had drinks and a sandwich at the bar around 9:45pm. Rebekah, the bartender, was fantastic. Fun, friendly, and handled the busy bar well. We ordered the Chicken Milenese sandwich, comprised of a "breaded chicken cutlet" and other things. The "chicken cutlet" turned out to be a frozen breaded processed chicken patty like you would see in a bad school cafeteria. We were really surprised! This has no place on the Pecan Grill's menu. They should be ashamed. We also had the breakfast buffet in The Pecan Grill and it was fine. Nothing special, everything needed salt and more seasoning. It was included in our room price but I wouldn't have gone out of our way to eat there.

Another thought -- we didn't use the pool but we did look at it. The pool is fine but the pool area is small and there is minimal seating and no decor. It simply doesn't fit the rest of the property. It looks like a complete afterthought. For a property like this, the fencing needs to be better, the furniture more luxurious, and they need plants/trees/decor. It looked like it could have been any pool at any motor lodge. A little work could make it much more appealing!

Overall, we were happy with our stay at The Overton because, 1) we were just happy to getaway for a night, 2) there's really no other hotel in Lubbock that we would use for a date night, and 3) it's Lubbock and we're just thankful to have a nicer hotel here.

With minimal work, this hotel and restaurant could be the real gem that it claims to be!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txnraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for your honest review and appreciate your time. We are making some necessary improvements to our Preferred Level to better serve you and all of our guests. We hope that you did in fact enjoy your date night and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    181
    81
    38
    18
See reviews for
202
83
18
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We really enjoyed the privacy, security and services of the fourteenth floor. The evening snacks and the morning breakfasts and good service from the staff made our stay pleasantly memorable. The hotel was quiet in the evening. The valets and front desk attendants were very amiable and polite. The exercise room was well equipped with machines, weights, etc. The food at the hotel restaurant was mediocre. The dinner menu was limited. The breakfast buffet was also fair but had a large variety of food items from which to choose. There was sufficient free convenient parking. The final bill was lower than we had expected for the services we'd received. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay on our Preferred Level while you were here for your daughter's wedding. We appreciate your compliment to our staff, and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the hotel, from the room, the staff, catering and meeting facilities. This was the first time I have stayed at this property and was very impressed. We hosted a conference and it went off without any problems. The catering did an outstanding job with all of the meals. The bone-in ribeye was prepared very well for a large group. The meeting room has very good acoustics and the microphones and video worked great.
We will definitely use this location again for meeting in the future.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us and it is great to know that everything with your conference was great. We look forward to being your location for another event soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The Overton has proven time and again to be a beautiful mess. The property is gorgeous and unique. The staff is poorly trained, and management cuts corners on a regular basis. I've been three separate times on the "preferred" level. The breakfast has always closed 30 minutes early in the lounge, and the manager's reception ran out of food. I desperately wish that someone would take hold of this place and make it luxurious on all levels.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cburch04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

A stunning hotel in west Texas. Impeccably decorated with service to match. Valet parking is only $4/night so indulge yourself. The lobby welcomes you with a huge bouquet of fresh flowers and front desk staff that are genuinely interested in service. There really is no reason to stay elsewhere as the rates provide a great value.

Room Tip: Get above the 5th floor so that you're not seeing A/C units right outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHTbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you very much for your time and review. We are more than happy to be an oasis for you, when you have to travel to Lubbock. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you travel here for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here before. Overpriced. It is ok, but nothing out of this world. About average to me. It is just my opinion, but choices of decent places in Lubbock are limited. A safe choice, but don't expect upscale luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cactusgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for candid review, we are sorry that you felt we are overpriced and not luxurious. Here at the Overton Hotel and Conference Center we strive to please every guest every time, we hope that you will consider staying with us again to show you what true hospitality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have stayed at the Overton several times, and am pleased to report that it remains, in my opinion, the finest hotel in Lubbock. The property is very well maintained. The lobby bar is very comfortable, and the hotel rooms are large and well appointed. There is a lot of hotel staff present, and they are always very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a small outdoor pool. The Overton is very convenient to the Texas Tech campus, and is located across the street from the football stadium. There are a number of stores and restaurants within walking distance. I have yet to be disappointed in my decision to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We truly appreciate your continued business, it is guests like you that we love and look forward to seeing time and time again. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when you travel to Lubbock on business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 64 in Lubbock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2322 Mac Davis Lane, Lubbock, TX 79401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing