We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a hotel in Lubbock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We were in Lubbock for an emergency, had never been there, and saw this hotel (one of tallest buildings in Lubbock) very close to Texas Tech hospital and campus. We expected it to be expensive because of its appearance, amenities, and location, but were surprised to find that it was less than the chain hotels (which do not compare in quality). The restaurant was very good for breakfast and the lounge was very good for a light meal. Service throughout the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to write this review, it is very appreciated. We look forward to having stay with us when your travels bring you back to Lubbock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Overton Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Lubbock is limited when it comes to hotels. The Overton is the lone standout. Clean, modern, great amenities and a helpful staff. I finally quit trying others and stay here when in town. Thanks, Overton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarryonBag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

You are very welcomed. We truly strive to please every guest, every time and make all of our guests feel at home. Thank you and we hope to see you back here again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here and I love it! Perfect location across from the campus and as a former Red Raider that is huge! It is newer and the decor is really nice! The beds are so comfortable. Room as are spacious and have refrigerator and wifi! Very clean and great place to stay! Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Travelsnob22Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your high recommendation. We are glad that you loved our hotel, location and everything about your second stay. We hope that you will have many more stays with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A things good, especially staff with reservation and great rate

Have stayed here numerous times and experience has been outstanding.
The convenient location of the hotel cannot be beat.

The hotel management students/ staff from Texas Tech are very knowledge and dedicated,

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this. We are happy to serve you anytime whether it is for an emergency trip, or visit to Lubbock. Thank you for kind words about our staff and we do have the best location. We look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great! Perfect location to the University! The hotel is clean, nice, service is great!
Far exceeded my expectations!
For being an experienced traveler, I wasn't expecting such a nice hotel in a small college town. This place was great! Service was simply first class! Well done Overton!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj79Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

It is great to know that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate an experienced traveler like yourself, taking the time to share details about your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Overton the next time you come to Lubbock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Cannot understand why this property is #7 out of Lubbock hotels. It's by far the best hotel in Lubbock. The rooms are clean & have very high quality linens & bath amenities. There are plenty of outlets for charging electronics and the furniture is very nice, including a leather chair and an office chair for the desk. Decor is upscale Southwestern. There is also a refrigerator and a Keurig coffee pot in each room.
The bar and restaurant also serve very high quality food- in fact I often choose to eat there instead of leaving hotel to find a restaurant. The bar is a great place to hang out and watch sports and relax after a long day. There is also a business center, exercise room and small heated swimming pool.
Since this hotel has a large conference center, it is often booked for meetings & conferences so book early.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellithetaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We truly do strive to provide our guests with an experience that is memorable. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Lubbock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This stay was during the week. I must say staying during the week is much better than football weekends. Valet was there when we arrived. Bellman met us at the car and took all luggage and other items we needed for a birthday party to the room. Both guys were very polite and attentive to our needs. Front desk check in was wonderful and the ladies were very accommodating. Room was clean and neat as it has been in past visits. We only encountered two small problems, first they say they have 24 hour valet, however we pulled up at 11:15 P.M. And waited several minutes before we parked ourselves. Front desk the next morning removed the valet charge from our bill without any problems. Second thing is the breakfast buffet, it really needs a lot of attention. Everything from the wait staff to the buffet itself. Total overhaul needed. Other than that this really is a great place to stay. I just wish we received the same quality service during football weekends.
This comment is for the management. Better get some caulk around those bath tubs or your really going to have some problems later.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OvertonGM, General Manager at Overton Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your candid review about your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that this stay was better than your previous stay. We are aware that we have challenges in the Pecan Grill and have made the necessary changes to better serve you and all of our guests. I appreciate you bringing to my attention the caulking around the bath tub, we have addressed this immediately. I assure you that you will receive the same quality service at the Overton no matter what time of the year you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
5.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lubbock Southwest
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lubbock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lubbock West
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#34 of 69 in Lubbock
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2322 Mac Davis Ln, Lubbock, TX 79401-2219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lubbock
#9 Family Hotel in Lubbock
Price Range: £104 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overton Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first and only Four Diamond Lodging in West Texas, the Overton Hotel is Lubbock's premiere destination for leisure and business travel. With construction complete in July of 2009, the Overton is Lubbock's newest and most luxurious hotel and conference center. Conveniently located next to Texas Tech in the newly redeveloped Overton Park, the Overton Hotel is close to the Health Sciences Center, downtown Lubbock, the depot entertainment district, and 10 minutes from the Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Overton Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Hotel Lubbock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing