We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and two Movies”

Stars & Stripes Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #2 of 12 Fun & Games in Lubbock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Families and friends have been making memories at our drive-in movie theatre ever since we built and opened in 2003. We show new double features year-round. For the full drive-in experience, visit our 50's Cafe to grab Rockin' Eats & Tasty Treats. Arrive 30 to 60 minutes early to skip the lines and enjoy the freedom! *Voted best place to watch a sunset. (Lubbock Avalanche-Journal 2012, 2014) *Voted best family entertainment. (Lubbock Avalanche-Journal 2007) *Trip Advisor ranked #1 drive-in theatre in Texas, #3 drive-in theatre in U.S.A. (2014)
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner and two Movies”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a wonderful value you get to see two movies for $6.00 per person. They have a wonderful diner that sells great food. They have a wide selection to choose from. This is also perfect for families with small children. We have taken our grandchildren and they really enjoyed it. They have a playground for the children. Nice facilities are located inside the diner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still a very fun activity”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

While there a not a lot of drive-in theaters still around they are gaining popularity again because of the fun they offer the family or group of friends. Regardless if you choose to sit in your car or take lawn chairs or sit in the back of your pickup you get to design the comfort of your sitting area. You also have more latitude around refreshments whether you purchase them at the refreshment bar or bring your own. You can even bring your own dinner. The price is right and the atmosphere is relaxing. Stars and Stripes does a great job of making your movie experience enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rrreed99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice outdoor cinema, good foods with affordable price. I love 50's style food over there.
Ideal place for a family with kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice drive in!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great place to see a movie! It wasn't too crowded and the movie and sound quality were good. The cafe was nice - the sodas are huge! Certainly a great way to spend a night in Lubbock.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First drive in movie for kiddos!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our movie experience! 2 movies in one night is always awesome. You can watch from your car or bring chairs and sit outside.
Great family outing or fun date night too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stars & Stripes Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Stars & Stripes Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing