We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you're a wine lover.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Funky Door Bistro Wine Room

The Funky Door Bistro Wine Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Funky Door Bistro Wine Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 578 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Frankford
Description: The Funky Door is a brand new Wine and Bistro Bar/Rest. in Lubbock Texas.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you're a wine lover.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very clever way to be able to try different wines. You buy a card at the bar, put some $$ on it and then use the self pours. You can get 1.5, 3 or 6 oz pours. The food? Good, not great BUT oh wow!! The fondue! Fantastic! And if you're just there for the wine (a decent selection, by the way) order the "wine platter". It's definitely enough for two!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 52486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    37
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“This is a good little restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The atmosphere inside is very nice. They have a nice selection of wines, pricey though, but it is a wine bar. The food is diverse, a little something for every one. Its on a major road in a shopping center close to some other restaurants. Servers were attentive and do a good job - seem well trained. There is plenty of parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank discip1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Bistro in Lubbock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had dinner at the Funky Door Bistro when we were in town for the weekend. It looked more interesting than the usual chain restaurants or steak/BBQ joints in Lubbock. Made reservations on Open Table for Saturday night....the place was very full and unless one had a reservation...no walk ins were able to get in. The place had a separate wine bar on the left side with a smallish intimate restaurant on the right. As it was the day after Valentine's...they still had the special menu in effect (as opposed to the menu on the website). My wife and I shared the Steak Diane for 2....the tenderloin was cooked as we ordered and was very tender. The vegetable sides we very good also. Although it wasn't on the menu (it usually is on a regular weekend)...they prepared a vegetable lasagna for my daughter which was nice. She thought it was quite good. The only downside was the desert which was mediocre (or I would of probably gave the place 5 stars). Very attentive service and a good wine list. Would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJean681985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentines Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great dinner on Valentines Day. The MahiMahi was cooked perfectly and the special hollandaise sauce was outstanding. The rice side and asparagus. were great. the only downer was the lettuce wedge was a little bitter. The chef also knows how to cook lobster which is rare out here in west Texas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
286 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food, great wine list, fun place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We ate there Friday night. We started in the bar area where they have serve yourself wine from a prepaid card. Also live music and original artwork. Very nice wine list. The food was good, not great but everyone enjoyed it. Prices were a little on the high side but everyone had a fun night. Our server did a great job and was very attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TxBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Funky Door Bistro Wine Room also viewed

 

Been to The Funky Door Bistro Wine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing