We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prairie Dog Town is the worst that Lubbock has to offer”
Review of Prairie Dog Town

Prairie Dog Town
Ranked #6 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Prairie Dog Town is the worst that Lubbock has to offer”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stupid wasteland--a sad ghetto for critters. Don't waste your time, go to the windmill museum instead.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diving_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    67
    39
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
349 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Free Entertainment with Prairie Dogs as the Stars!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I loved watching these cute little animals and was impressed there is no fee to enter the park which in itself is worth visiting. This is not a glamourised zoo attraction. It is simply an area that has been left for the wildlife to be observed in their natural habitat. A break from the hustle and bustle of the town. Definitely worth seeing if you enjoy wildlife.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiligenhaus, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Visit the Prairie Dogs!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I hadn't really seen prairie dogs until I came to Lubbock. These little guys have a whole field set aside for them in Lubbock and you can come and watch them go in one hole and come out another. The "Prairie Dog" town is set in a park, so you can exercise or let your kids enjoy the park when you are done. It's fun to take photographs and watch these creatures' activities.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cute rodents ”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

What else can I add? Bring something for them to eat if you want them to get close and be patient. The birds know the drill too so they will rake as much as they can get. If you stay right of the ball fields you'll find it. If you are at the golf course you are on the wrong side of the park.

Helpful?
Thank SCTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring Bread”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I stopped in here on our way through and we rolled up some bread slices as recommended in a previous TripAdvisor review. The prairie dogs were so cute running to get the bread and we enjoyed watching them. It is well worth a stop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prairie Dog Town also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Dog Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing