We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service”
Review of Cast Iron Grill

Cast Iron Grill
Ranked #1 of 588 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Cast Iron Grill is a busy restaurant nestled in downtown Lubbock. Our menu is filled with country cookin' specialties that are made from scratch. Our desserts are homemade every morning. Come Join us For Breakfast or Lunch Monday-Friday 6am-2pm We are also open Friday Nights for dinner from 5pm-10pm. Come enjoy the patio on friday nights with live music.TIP: Order Dessert First
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the time we walked in to the time we left, one of the friendliest restaurants we have eaten at. The staff was prompt to our needs. The food was fresh and hot, at a good price. We will the Cast Iron Grill is on our must stop list on our next visit to Lubbock.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david038Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastIronGrill, Owner at Cast Iron Grill, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Oh Mylanta! Thank you so much for taking the time to eat at the CIG! We are giddy you enjoyed our restaurant! Hope to see you next time you are in Lubbock! Have a blessed and beautiful day!


Teresa Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    69
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Racism in good ole west Texas”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Walking into this place, you'd think the owner to be quite meticulous and full of heart. That's if you can ignore the elderly black man at the front door waiting to shine your shoes. Or the young black man bussing tables as white bred cowgirls bug you every minute about your food and needs. Yes, they are prompt. Seriously. Not joking. This owner apparently is cut from the same cloth as Paula Deen. By the way, the food is laden in salt and does not taste delicious at all. The price is right, that's the one thing that is. Unless you're a racist bigot, then you'll love this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pixie_mama_mia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastIronGrill, Owner at Cast Iron Grill, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Cast Iron Grill. I would love to say we could fix some of your concerns, but we can't. The "black man" shinning shoes is Johnny! He is a preacher that has shined shoes all his life and has chosen this as his ministry. He has a great story that needs to be heard. We are very thankful Johnny chose our restaurant to work and spread the word! Take a seat in his chair next time your in, you wont be disappointed.

Sincerely

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryton, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home cooking done right”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

This place has a great atmosphere and you can tell the owner put a lot of love and hard work into it. The wait stress is very friendly and the food came out quickly. The place was packed so that should tell you something! The food was good and there are lots of choices: breakfast, fried, healthy, comfort goods, etc... I didn't have dessert but this place has tons to choose from and all homemade. I even saw the owner cleaning tables and helping out around the restaurant. I like this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastIronGrill, Owner at Cast Iron Grill, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for coming to eat at the CIG! Your review is appreciated! Have a blessed day and hope to see you again!

Teresa Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level Contributor
153 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Chicken Fried Steak had good flavor and was fork tender but the fake gravy really took the bloom off it. Cherry Banana Split pie was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoopsman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wowie wowie good stuff yes eat dessert first I did”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

wow wow such good food. I ate dessert first and was blown away by that then the soup and salad came sooooooo goooood

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cast Iron Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing