We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lubbock TX
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Lubbock
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    132
    107
    61
    72
See reviews for
232
79
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keller
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The first thing I should say is that when I stay at a Travelodge I do not expect much because I am fully aware that they are an inexpensive chain. This hotel has just changed to a Howard Johnson, so maybe it will be better eventually. We have stayed here three times for Tech football games because of the low price we got by booking far in advance, but we are going to find somewhere else next time. I cancelled our reservations for the last games because it is better to spend more and stay somewhere else. First, the pros- the hotel is either fairly new or remodeled and it is clean and the rooms and fairly large and pretty quiet. It has nice water pressure in the shower. The wi-fi is nice and fast. The staff is friendly and do seem concerned when you report a problem. Now, the cons- the staff, while friendly, do not care if you have a problem, they just write it on notebook paper and say they will tell someone, the beds are awful, absolutely the worst we have had in a hotel. They are as hard as a board, I would have been just as comfortable on the floor. And the sheets are paper thin and too small for the bed. You can literally watch the TV through the sheets. And they kept coming off, exposing the nasty mattress pad with pubic hairs on it, ugh!!IT was bad enough that we didn't sleep and that is why we will stay somewhere else next time. The furniture was very flimsy and already breaking. The breakfast area was chaotic, and was only staffed by the front desk person when she had a chance to check on it, and it was messy and dirty. The breakfast isn't important to me, but if it is for you, you can find much better elsewhere. It is supposed to be no smoking but someone was smoking somewhere and there was a strong smell in the hall. With a few improvements this would be a decent inexpensive place to stay. If they were to get better beds, or at least better sheets, we would probably stay there again. But there are many low priced hotels in Lubbock that are nicer than this one for the same price range, so until then, we will find a different place to stay. I am hopeful that they may try to solve the problems and if they do, I will try again because of the low price. If you stay in the summer and a pool is important, this isn't the place for you. The pool is the tiniest I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor, you can really hear the people above you on the lower floors. Also, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruzn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. Guest like you feedback help us to improve
our guest needs and services. We thank you for your stay with and looking forward to have you
our guest again. If we can do anything to make sure next stay more enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very large room for the price, great beds and wonderful AC (Lubbock is hot
in the summer). Checked in late at night, had room reserved, walked in front door and, without even asking my name, the desk lady handed me the room paperwork to sign. That's efficient. I should have realized it, though, it said they offered ESPN. Within walking distance of several restaurants and 50th Street nearby has about every kind of food you'd want within a half mile. When we were there (third week in Sept., 2012) it was in the process of chancing from a Travelodge to a Howard Johnson's. (Not the one who used to play third base for the Mets.)

Room Tip: There's a back way out of motel to 50th Street, lets you avoid one-way interstate service road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachpit01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. I am very happy to heard you enjoy staying at our Hotel. You are very right, we have every type of restaurant at walking distance from the Hotel.
We are also off of 50th Street Exit from Interstate-27. We are about one year old.
We are looking forward to have you our guest again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Let's start with me reserving a room with two beds and arriving late at night after a football game to 1 king bed. That's OK except that no rooms that I wanted were available and they charged me 15.00 for a roll-a-way that had to be propped up with a phone book to keep from collapsing in on itself. The reason for the charge - I got such a good deal on the room by reserving on the internet that they just couldn't give me the roll-a-way for free. Honestly, I was pissed but at 11:00 at night the family and I were exhausted and ready to sleep. We made do.

We did get the room for less than 100.00 total which is a good deal but you need to understand you are right on the edge of the really bad parts of Lubbock. If you stay here you will need to plan to drive to better parts of town to eat and shop. It's not the hood - but close.

The room was clean and large and the bathroom was definitely what you would expect at this price point. We did not eat the breakfast due to prior plans so no comments on that but I agree with previous posts that the area is quite small. Overall, it is fairly clean and the front desk staff was nice but the owner should have given me the roll-a-way for free rather than fret over my "really good deal." Seriously?

I would stay again if our preferred hotels (Hawthorn and Overton) are booked. If you are in Lubbock for a visit to Tech this not the most convenient place to stay but nothing in Lubbock is very far from Tech. If you are on a tight budget this is way better than some of the older, really dumpy places around but you can also do better without spending much more money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budamacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
We strive for excellence, and try our best to meet or exceed our guest expectation.
If we can do anything to make your next stay more comfortable and enjoyable please let us know.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Nicely renovated Hotel. Breakfast area too small only one waffle maker backed things up. Glad I only wanted coffee. Plan on going back when we visit Texas Tech. Nice place for the price, clean comfortable, free internet.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, General Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
I am very happy to heard you enjoy your stay with us and you were very satisfy with our services.
We are looking forward to have you our guest again, and if we can do anything to make your next stay more enjoyable and comfortable please let us know.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Was warmly welcomed by Michelle at the front desk. Hotel is remodeled. Not super fancy but what you would expect for the price. Couldn't hook up to the Wifi and staff did not help. Also the pool isn't bigger than two hot tubs put together and the door by the pool is broken already. But if you just need a place to sleep its not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSchexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel, we strive for best customer service.our goal is to meet or exceed our guest expectation. We are not 5 star Hotel, but we provide services and amenities close to 5 star Hotel. We are looking forward to have you our guest again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here end of June for 3 nights while in Lubbock for Buffalo Springs Lake triathlon. Location is perfect for ez access to race site! Travelodge is a real "find" for the budget minded. I had a HUGE room with queen bed, table/chairs, microwave & refrigerator. Since the property was recently remodeled - everything appears clean & in good repair.

Front desk staff friendly & helpful - departure day I wanted to get an early start home & was plesantly surprised to find that lobby breakfast was set up before posted 6AM. Typical hot bfast - waffles, toast, cereal, donuts... nothing special... but food was fresh - gal working front desk & breakfast was friendly & had that welcoming Texas hospitality!

On this particular weekend there were softball & basketball tournys in town (besides the Ironman triathlon) - so there were more teens making late night hallway noise than I'd prefer - but there's not a lot that management can do about that. Triathletes tend to go to bed early.

I'd recommend this property to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean good nights sleep. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Third/top floor to avoid feet overhead. This is a total non-smoking property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie85614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARIQ F, Manager at Howard Johnson Lubbock TX, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
First of all I would like to Thank you for your stay with you. Secondly we are glad to heard that you enjoy and like to stay at our Hotel. I would also like to thank you for your encouraging response, to our services and our Hotel. Positive feed back encourage our employee and management to even do better to exceed our guest expectation. We are looking forward to have you as our VIP guest again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lubbock South
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Conference Center Lubbock
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lubbock Windsor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Lubbock TX
Super 8 Lubbock TX
#32 of 66 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge I-27
Econo Lodge I-27
#39 of 66 in Lubbock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lubbock TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lubbock TX

Property: Howard Johnson Lubbock TX
Address: 5108 Interstate 27, Lubbock, TX 79404-4400 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lubbock TX 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Lubbock TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing