We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive collection of windmills.”

American Wind Power Center
Ranked #5 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest windmill museum in the United States.
Guymon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive collection of windmills.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I've never see that many different kinds of windmills in one place.
Very impressive displays inside the building and outside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lots of wind”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

this give a great history of windmills and the power they can give. lots of windmills to see, even get close up to one of the mills that they are using today to supply electricity to power plants

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank junebugHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Unique and educational collection displayed well”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is not to be missed if you have the slightest interest in rural america's introduction to wind energy i.e. windmills. Beautiful location on a hillside with displays inside and out. Actual operating windmills.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

all kinds of windmills and power systems from water to MegaWatt units of today. Enjoyed seeing the many windmills in operation outside and getting up close to the 1.5Megwatt unit outside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything you never knew about windmills and more!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited American Wind Power Center for the first time and enjoyed it a lot (at least my husband and I did.) There are so many different types of wind mills and they have them all. The indoor display is great with lots to read about each one, along with history and location many were first used. We spent over an hour there, but could have made it longer if we had the time. Our 2 teenagers were with us and they could have cared less, but that's the way they are with everything that isn't their idea. Some might have an interest. There is also a large room with an amazing mural that is worth spending time looking at. Very neat place, something to learn about, and not a typical museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heisteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Wind Power Center also viewed

 

Been to American Wind Power Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing