We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of The Egg & I

The Egg & I
Ranked #92 of 591 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lubbock, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had the artichoke florentine Benedict. Flavor was good. Was not crazy about the sauce. It was too runny and too much. The egg could be a little more done.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twksutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Promising menu, glitches in service and food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stopped here for breakfast and had mixed results.

Ordered crabcake benedict and a single pancake. Order took a long time, delivered some time after my daughter's frittata. When it came, it was just OK. The eggs were not poached enough - whites were runny, and both my and my daughters potatoes were undercooked. The well-meaning manager came over and said that sometimes the cooks just want to get the orders out quickly, which I explained could not have been the case with mine. He was nice, but did not do anything to remove the price of the sides from the bill.

Our server was very nice, but seemed like she had too many tables and was rushing everywhere.

On the plus side, prices are good, and the pancake was great - large and slightly crispy, how I like them. This place has lots of promise, but needs a quality review to get more consistent and better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service great, food fine, took too long...”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Echo was our waitress and she was nice, accommodating and attentive. The manager stopped by to check on us also. The food was good but it took way too long for our order in an almost empty restaurant. They addressed that problem, and I would try this restaurant again, especially for breakfast. Lots of choices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it a good review”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I have been to the Egg and I in Lubbock on 3 different occasions. The first time was not long after they opened. The food and service were great. Thought it was a great addition to Lubbock.

The second time I went was about 3 months ago and the service was decent but the food was not good. The salad was supposed to have a salsa type dressing and was served completely dry. After requested the dressing I received the "dressing" which was just crushed tomatoes straight out the can. The salad tasted horrible, no flavor and the crushed tomatoes ruined what was already a bad salad. The sandwich was supposed to have bacon and avocado but had nothing on it. The waitress stated the cook was new and was not familiar with the menu.

I thought I would give them another chance this week. I went in at lunch and they were not very crowded. I ordered a soup and salad combination. I waited 30 minutes and the waitress came back to tell me that they were out of soup. I then ordered a sandwich. The waitress came out with my "soup" and salad combo. She stated they decided they did have enough soup for a serving. The vegetable beef soup consisted of about 10 kernels of corn and a watery broth, no other vegetables and no beef. The premium salad consisted of iceberg lettuce and 2 croutons, no tomatoes, carrots or any other veggies. Regretfully, I will not go back to the Egg and I. It has such great potential but has miserably.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not so great...”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We ate here on our way to the airport for a family vacation. It was breakfast time. It took a long time to get waitstaff and there were only 2 other tables seated. It then took a long time for the order to come out and the food was cold and it wasn't that great. It was expensive for breakfast!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Egg & I also viewed

 

Been to The Egg & I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing