We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not Excellent”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #2 of 592 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Ropesville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good but not Excellent”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Abuelo's has always had good food, but the service is notoriously slow. However, if you want a good band on a Friday afternoon, don't miss out on their courtyard. They have a good swirl margarita; decent food, and it's reasonably priced. It's not overly kid-friendly (mostly because it's slow and there is an older crowd) but if you're with your friends/spouse, it's a nice evening out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie L, Owner at Abuelo's, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
We're very sorry our service has the reputation for being slower than you would like. We will definitely try to speed it up around here. I can't apologize enough for this.

Also, I'm very happy to hear you've loved our bands and margaritas. Those Friday night getaways on the patio sure are fun! Thank you for leaving us this -- and for your feedback! -- we hope to see you around soon!

Best,
Jackie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    132
    56
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

They have high quality food and margaritas at moderate prices. Friendly service and laid back atmosphere that's both family friendly and a great place for a date night with my husband. I definitely would like to check out the patio on a weekend...sounds like it is a blast!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were told this was great and sit on the patio. It was closed due to wind I presume.

We passed through a nice room with a lovely fountain. We were seated in a back room with a large group already seated. Our server came and took our drink order and more or less apologized he had to take the big group order but a hostess (college student) came back and was friendly and visited with us for a bit so made the wait enjoyable. Service was intermittent but we enjoyed the margaritas and loved the chips and salsa which came abundantly. Our food was satisfactory but we had to track our server down a couple of times (after the group left) making for not so memorable evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TsGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie L, Owner at Abuelo's, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
We are so sorry our service didn't match your expectations! You should never have to experience slow service, even if there is a large group in the restaurant. I am so sorry we didn't make the experience here memorable, and we hope we can make it up to you.

Do you think you could give us another shot? It's so wonderful to hear you loved the margaritas and chips and salsa, so I know we can really blow you away! Hope to see you soon, and perhaps this time, the patio will be open! If you could call ahead, we could definitely let you know for sure.

Until next time,
Jackie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slow”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Slow service. Average food. Dropped dishes. Not great for Fathers Day. Perhaps trying to take
on too much at the expense of good customer service or we just caught them on a bad and busy day. Not returning but they have plenty of business.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie L, Owner at Abuelo's, responded to this review, 3 November 2014
Richard, we are so sorry we were slow when you came in for Father's Day. This is not usually the case with us, as we are always attentive and caring when we serve our guests! I hope that you'll come give us another chance in the future.

Best,
Jackie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best dining in Lubbock”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have had good mexican food, great service, great ambience. Their enchilada's are my favorite. If you go during rush hour there maybe a wait but not more than 15mins, they don't accept reservation. They also have outdoor seating and live band.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unebellefemme07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing