We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Buddy Holly Statue and West Texas Walk of Fame
Ranked #8 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NYC Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was one of the places we first took our NYC visitor. He had heard of Buddy Holly and has lots of his music. He could not believe all the history located in this one spot. We will definitely hear lots of comments when he returns to NYC. Thanks for the great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a must-see if you're into music history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

see the buddy holly statue as a tribute to music's legends and history....just takes a few minutes (because nothing's far in Lubbock)...all the locals have seen it!! we wouldn't miss it! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Saunders_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LIVED HERE 6YRS & NEVER WENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I really enjoyed the history behind the Glasses. It was a really neat place to visit. Come by on the 1st Friday of the month. It's Free of charge and you can enjoy Beer, Wine and snacks. It is so worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOVIE16GIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“A fitting tribute to a man who gave us so much in a short time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My son in law and I arrived at the Buddy Holly and West Texas walk of fame on Cricket Avenue in Lubbock just after 10am and firstly crossed the street to see the Buddy Holly Statue and the Walk of Fame memorials amongst whom were Roy Orbison of whom I am a great fan and Dan Blocker from the Ponderosa days as an actor. There were a number of names on the plaques behind the statue not all of whom I knew but included the Crickets his group for a short time in reality. We then crossed to the museum with songs from Buddy playing as we approached the main door. Inside we were greeted by two ladies who gave us a briefing on what was in the museum. We paid our $5 dollars entry and proceeded to watch a film of about 30 minutes on the life of Buddy and his achievements up to the terrible night when he was killed along with the Big Bopper and Ricky Valance plus of course the pilot. Many well known stars attribute their musical development to Buddy including the Beatles, Rolling Stones and many others. We then proceeded into the history artifacts section amongst which were many personal items of Buddy's from the time he was a young boy through his life. In the other section of the facility were the walk of fame pictures etc.
It was well worth the visit and gave a clear insight to the legend that is Buddy Holly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggleOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
246 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Buddy Holly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Buddy Holly was such an influential talent and did so much before his untimely death at age 22. In a town that does not have much, they do have this one great claim to fame! Don't forget to visit the Buddy Holly Center across the street and take your picute with the giant pair of glasses!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mom_in_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buddy Holly Statue and West Texas Walk of Fame also viewed

 

Been to Buddy Holly Statue and West Texas Walk of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing