We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Steak Restaurant”

Double Nickel Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Double Nickel Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 588 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 50th
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Upscale Steak Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The service was impeccable. Not the best steak I've ever had, but the rack of lambs was delicious. Appetizers were just okay. Dessert was very good. Their crème brulee had a bit of a lemony taste, but there are very few crème brulees that taste bad!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelLandsPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    64
    28
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great wines and steak.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Business meal. Nice quiet location to discuss business. Great decor. Waitress was knowledgeable. Steak was cooked appropriately. Very good wine list. I will be back especially during the week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated steak house”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I ordered sea bass a $35 plate and couldn't eat it. The fish was undercooked, the asparagus was so tough I couldn't cut it with a knife, and the rice was cold. If you want an upscale steak house that has excellent food go to Las Brisas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fearless1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Service, Not sure it's a High-End Steakhouse But Great Anyhow!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I really like the idea of eating at a female-owned steakhouse - it looks like an old bordello in the Wild West, complete with mirrors, red cloth, blinged out chandeliers, a really nice change from the old school male smoking room steakhouse! This was a great touch and feel. The service was impeccable, which is what you would expect from a high end steakhouse, and that was expected and lovely, but the presentation was not that of a high-end steakhouse so it left me confused. People come here far and wide for the owner's famous fried cheese - and it's worth it - it's pretty amazing! The steak was really well cooked but the presentation is not that of a high-end steakhouse. The sides were on the same plate, which is something more homemade and hometown than a 5-star, which was actually a great difference from the usual thing, not too much food and good quality, just a surpise since I am so used to be served a certain way. I would recommend this steakhouse if anything for the experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My colleagues had brought a group of us to a great steak dinner. My filet mignon came out the well I wanted it - medium rare. The waiter was also good enough to warn me that it was going to be redder in the middle and whether I was ok with that. Honestly, it came out well and the quality of the steak was superb. It was juicy and yet tender. I was amused by the waiters lighting up the steak, asking us to cut it up to check if the quality was to our liking. It's a nice show.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Nickel Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Double Nickel Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing