We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Steak”

Double Nickel Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Double Nickel Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 589 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 50th
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steak”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just attended a rehearsal dinner at this gem of a restaruant! The place isnt much to look at on the outside so dont let that fool you! Inside is beautiful and romantic ! Not what you might expect in Lubbock! wonderful steak and mashed potatoe with a side of fried cheese with ranch to dip it in! Dont laugh it was great!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    27
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place for a special dinner”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you want to go out for a very nice dinner on a special occasion, this is a good place to consider. It is a step above most steakhouses in terms of decor, wait staff, and quality of food. Be prepared to pay more accordingly. If you like a beef filet, you won't be disappointed. It practically melted in my mouth. Bar service is available, including a good wine selection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mac7610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
440 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Classic steakhouse”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Terrific place for steaks. My ribeye was prepared to perfection with great seasoning. The atmosphere is classic for the menu with a nice bar to boot. Thus is the stop for a great meal.

Helpful?
Thank djdahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rivals any Dallas steakhouse, fancy interior”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is definitely a suit and tie kind of place. This was our 4th trip and it's always for a special occasion. This was for Tech graduation. Interior is dimly lit with red walls and black accents. We had reservations and we were seated within 3 minutes of arriving.

They were out of the white cranberry for us to have a white cosmopolitan. We ordered regular cosmopolitans, 1 Manhattan, 1 scotch. We also ordered appetizers consisting of crab cakes, jumbo shrimp, and mini steak bites. It was delicious and was certainly enough for our table of 5.

We all ordered steaks- filet mignon, ribeye, and chateaubriand. The sides we wanted weren't available with the meal so, they had to be added at an extra charge. This included broccoli and asparagus. Each entree came with a deep fried cheesestick-a nod to the Spanky's that used to be at this location where they were a specialty.

This is definitely the best place we have eaten at in Lubbock. One of the very few non chain restaurants in the area...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Desert”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is very obvious that this is an extremely well-run establishment. From the moment you walk in the doors, you will not be ignored and you will have the utmost in impeccable service - from initial drinks to final coffee. Most apparent to my cognition is the fact that this restaurant is so far vastly superior to the rest of the competition in Lubbock and the surrounding areas. They really surpass the other eating establishments on the Llano Estacado in innumerable ways. For instance, they actually have lobster bisque on the menu; that is not to say that it was good, because it was not (it seemed like a heavily-creamed tomato soup with not a hint lobster or fish of any sort), but the fact that it was on the menu and can be criticized is way beyond most place out in the desert. The house specialty is the fillet and it should not be ignored as it is some of the best that I have purchased in many attempts at finding the perfect cut of beef. Speaking of beef, all cuts and orders come on the rare side as they should; the kitchen staff knows how to cook the beef!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double Nickel Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Double Nickel Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing