We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of antique tractors and farm equipment.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayer Museum of Agriculture

Bayer Museum of Agriculture
Ranked #11 of 53 things to do in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since completing a large expansion in 2014, our museum focuses on both the history of farming and the science and technology of modern agriculture. Want to learn about cotton? Exhibits take you from early hand harvesting to putting you behind the wheel of a modern cotton stripper in the Cotton Harvest Experience. You can also meet a hologram blacksmith in our shop, or talk to a farmer in the Bayer CropScience exhibit. Bring back memories as you walk through the antique tractors or swap stories with one of our volunteers. With a huge collection of antiques and machinery complimented by interactive kiosks with videos and games, there is something for everyone at the Bayer Museum of Agriculture. Plains Cotton Growers Conference Center available for rentals.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Guymon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of antique tractors and farm equipment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I grew up on a farm and seeing the antique farm equipment brought back old memories. This was a very nice facility and the curator was very friendly and informative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Museum - but GPS is wrong about location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The correct street address for this museum is 1121 Canyon Lake Drive. My brand new GPS sent me about 4 blocks away, where it was previously located. Go to this address and you will find it. The museum has a huge collection of tractors of all brands. It also has kids pedal tractor and model tractor collections. There's a display on cotton and how it is processed. It has several farm implements. There is also a blacksmith shop with 3 short videos. All of of this is indoors. There are outside displays but they are not labeled as well and most are pretty rusty. When we were there in mid-week, there were plenty of knowledgeable docents who were anxious to answer questions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Must see for cotton history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

If you would like to learn more about how that cotton you love in your jeans and shirt got there, this museum needs to be at the top of your to-see list. Priceless contrast across 100 years of cotton ginning machinery from original wooden models to the latest stainless steel and touch screen versions, all accomplishing the same thing, just on different scales of magnitude. Holographic tour of a blacksmith's shop is worth the visit by itself. Lubbock is not renowned for its 1,000 lakes or mountain vistas, but it is known as the largest cotton patch in the world. If you would visit a brewery in St. Louis or a creamery in Milwaukee, you need to put cotton gin history on your bucket list when you come through Lubbock and this museum needs to be your first stop to get a great overview of the process.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not just for agriculturists !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Within 1/2m. of the Wind Power Museum in Lubbock is this, another gem of a museum.
We only visited because of its' proximity to the aforementioned wind power museum, not being 'of the land' people but boy, are we glad we did!
We had put Lubbock on the itinerary for our touring holiday primarily to pay tribute to Buddy Holly but found these museums a big bonus.
The majority of exhibits are housed in a very large warehouse type building accessed via a driveway through lawned grounds dotted with out - buildings and various farming implements.
We were greeted at the door by an elderly but very knowledgeable gent who proceeded to give us a comprehensive guided tour, explaining the types of tractors on display and their specific purpose in each case. The variety is enormous with possibly as many as 40 or 50 crammed into the immaculately presented building. In addition to these vehicles, there are harvesters for cereal crops of all types from wheat to corn and also ground - works preparation machinery. Every one is in running order and obviously well maintained and in excellent cosmetic order.
Dotted about are numerous tableau depicting farming processes and there is a large display of farm vehicle models for the boy in us to drool over as well as a number of videos. Also, we were shown around the workshops where ongoing renovations are taking place, with a large selection of both modern and old tools on display.
After the tour was completed, we were left to wander at will, taking photos as and when we wished.
This is a superb museum which would interest anyone of a mechanical bent and we count ourselves fortunate that chance bought us to it. We can unreservedly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsing, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This museum is excellect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you are interested in your heritage in American Agriculture, do not miss this museum. It is across the road from the Windpower Museum.
The exhibits are excellently restored. There is a wonderful cotton display as well as a blacksmith shop and a tool shop.
The entrance fee is only $5.00 and well worth it. They have dedicated docents to guide you and explain things.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roundupready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayer Museum of Agriculture also viewed

 

Been to Bayer Museum of Agriculture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing