We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worts places I have ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the worts places I have ever stayed!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not only were the rooms outdated, they smelled, had white debris coming from the air conditioning unit, all of the carpeting was soaking wet by the windows. The housekeeping - if you can call it that - was worse than subpar. A five year old child could make a bed better than the way I found my bed thrown together. I had to stay there for a sporting event. My word of caution.....there are no words to explain how horrible this place was! Oh....the staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    30
    19
    22
See reviews for
49
13
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I will not stay at this hotel again. The hotel is in need of repairs! Requested a wake call but did not receive it. Spoke to the front desk about it and she was very rude saying she called. That evening discovered the phone cord was riped out of the phone and had to be replaced. Traveled with a group and they had other problems with their rooms such as celing falling down in the shower, shower drain blocked, air conditioner not working. Pool was very very cloudy looking. Beware of the free drink tickets - first night checked to see if plain soft drink were include and was told they were free. Gave tickets away. Second night male bartender charged for the plain soft drink and also charged me for another person's plain soft drink. Explained was not charged the night before for a soft drink and only had one plain soft drink, he did not care said there was another person at the table who had a plain soft drink and left. Male bartender was very rude. Paid the $4.22 for the soft drinks. The Dinning Room Staff were VERY NICE and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lubbock hotels

Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs repairs. My first room had a non functioning air conditioner. I was quickly moved to a new room which had an air conditioner that cooled but made lots of noise including an occasional knocking sound. I was woke up by the knocking but did not want to move again. The ice machine on the second floor did not work. The water was very slow to drain in the shower and the ceiling in the bathroom looked like it was falling in around the vent. The restaurant and front desk staff were very nice and friendly, the male bartender not so much. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very quiet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank roxiekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a fine hotel. We stayed here early May 2014 for a gymnastics meet at the Lubbock Civic Center. The location is perfect- right across the street. The hotel has been recently renovated and has fantastic beds/bedding. Some things (tile/bathroom fixtures) are dated, but serviceable. Despite dozens (hundreds?) of young gymnasts at the hotel with us, the rooms were quiet. We got great sleep (my number 1 criterion for rating a hotel).

The pool is indoor, heated, and well-maintained. Despite what I read on previous reviews, our rooms were clean and housekeeping was performed without difficulty during our stay. The attached restaurant offers a well-prepared (but uninspired) breakfast buffet (cereal, fruit, biscuits, eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns). Buffet NOT included in price of room. The hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport and within 3 miles of hotel.

The BEST feature of this hotel is the staff. They were helpful, cheerful, and accommodating at EVERY interaction. From the shuttle drivers to front desk to housekeeping to restaurant severs, all went out of their way to provide excellent service. I would recommend this property and would stay here again.

Small negatives- wifi a bit slow; no plug in bathtub, so even young children had to shower; limited healthy choices in restaurant and separate charge for breakfast; temperature gauge on a/c did not seem accurate


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeynola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I would give this a 1-star but the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, otherwise this is a one star review. Like other reviewers: Room smelled like smoke, The door that led outside that needed a pass key was always open. In addition we their was gum stains in the carpet, very dirty floors, we walked in a chips and trash on floor. Pulled out sofa bed for kids and crumbs and trash everywhere but no sheets or blankets. Front desk did bring them promptly (again staff seemed good for the most part).

Heavy staining of couch and chair. Cigarette burns on desk overall didn't seem clean. Air conditioner was extremely loud...this place needs a complete reconditioning...it's old.

After checking in and getting to our room and putting kids to bed, someone entered our room (at least attempted, luckily we had the latch on). Front desk had given our room to another family, it was pretty startling. This had deactivated our keys, so the only working keys were the intruders (unintentionally on their part). I had to go to front desk, next morning to straighten it out.

This was a family trip for a gymnastics meet, I travel a lot and stay in a lot of rooms across the country, from 5* Four Seasons to Marriott Courtyards. I really just want a clean room and I'm happy but this was not the case.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolTuneLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were here in March for a dance competition held at the Civic Center across the street. Good news is that the hotel got us rooms together and they were very comfortable with many amenities, including a fridge. Breakfast was also generous for the price. Restaurant and bar staff are really great, friendly and attentive.

I would say that the cleaning service was a bit odd. One of the mom's on the trip put out a "do not disturb" sign and really did need the rest. I stopped the cleaning crew from banging on her door to wake her up for a signature saying that she did not need them to clean. They did let me sign, but "do not disturb" means what it says, right? If I hadn't been there, they would have woken her up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura_Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I rely on Tripadvisor a lot when booking rooms.
Lubbock was a one night stay on a road trip across country from Orlando to LA
we werent sure that day where we would stop so we had no room booked or anything.
We took a chance on this hotel as it looked pretty good from the outside
We wanted a king room but only king suites were avaliable
The suite was really surprisingly good. The bed was probably the 2nd best we had in 4 weeks in the states beaten only by the bellagio in Vegas
The hotel seemed quiet friendly and clean
We were given 4 free drinks at the bar and ate breakfast before checking out which was ok nothing special
upon leaving i looked the hotel up on tripadvisor and was surprised at the ratings. if i had read tripadvisor i doubt we would have stayed here
What a great find

Thanks guys

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycobomber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubbock hotels
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
Staybridge Suites Lubbock
#34 of 68 in Lubbock
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Lubbock Downtown/University Area
0.8 mi away
Overton Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lubbock
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lubbock
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lubbock Near Texas Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites

Property: MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites
Address: 801 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel & Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Lubbock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Lubbock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Texas' premier hotel address. The MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites offers deluxe accommodations and amenities combined with the West Texas hospitality that has made Lubbock legendary. Located in downtown Lubbock, we are convenient to Texas Tech University and the Lubbock International Airport. The historic Depot Entertainment District and the Broadway Strip are just minutes away. Your pleasure is our business at the MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MCM Elegante Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lubbock-Hotel And Towers
Lubbock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing