We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bend Visit”
Review of Marathon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marathon Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Bend Visit”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I drove from Houston to Marathon. We decided to stay at the Marathon Motel before heading into Big Bend National Park the next day. What a wonderful surprise. This Motel is a little oasis in the middle of nowhere. Our room was the cleanest room we have ever stayed in (including 4-5 star hotels). We walked out to the patio area to find it perfectly manicured, green, fountain, fireplace, furniture, etc. The fireplace was stacked and ready to go. This was the highlight of our trip. We enjoyed the fire and the stars well into the night. And, we cannot say enough about the staff. They are WONDERFUL. We cannot wait to go back.

Ruben and Leslie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    56
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
24
72
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I will begin by saying this is my second time to stay at the Marathon Motel and my stay was very good. Your rooms are actually cabins that were very comfortable with plenty of space. I would suggest that as you make reservations, ask for a full-sized room; the rooms with just one double bed are smaller. The hotel does not have a restaurant or a pool, but generally there are some really good local food spots to choose from. The Marathon Motel does have a very nice courtyard with fireplace, rocking chairs, tables, fire pits and fire wood on-site. The courtyard is a great place to meet people and just sit around and visit in the evenings. This trip we ate breakfast at The
Oasis Coffee Shop (open breakfast and lunch) we got to meet the owner and had a great meal, the bar at the Gage Hotel (the fellow that has been working at the bar the last few years is very accommodating and does a great job serving the bar and the patrons in the bar), the Flying Burro (only open Thursday-Sunday) for burgers and they also have a bar and pool tables in the back. We also ate at a diner in Alpine, Pennys Diner - our server was very friendly and the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Nice cabin for a few nights, price was okay for a remote location (85 $ incl. tax). Good shower and bed, free wifi, i.e. everything you need. Don't expect a large TV or other fancy stuff.
Drive to the big bend headquarters is about 75 minutes.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed there on our way to Big Bend NP . Quaint little cabins, very clean and roomy. This is a perfect setting for families with young children, there is a very nice outdoors area for them to play , beautiful desert flowers and an outside fire place for people to mingle.
The reception staff was very pleasant and anxious to please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageur67NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the Marathon Motel in early March 2013. It is about 70 scenic miles from the heart of Big Bend. The motel room/cabin reminded us of the cabin we had in Yellowstone. The rustic feel fit in perfectly with our visit to Big Bend. We were very pleased with the room even though it lacked the bells and whistles of many other places. There was no fridge or microwave, but the rooms were spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable and warm even though it was 22 degrees F outside. The heater was more than sufficient to make the room toasty. The bathroom was a little small but it was very clean and had plenty of towels. There was free WiFi and television. They do not have handicapped accessible rooms but the showers are walk in. We would definitely stay there again. A note about the area: Dining options are sparce. There are only a couple of places open for breakfast and lunch in the little town and one of them only opens when they feel like it. There is only one option for dinner and, although the food is exceptional for the most part, it is very pricey. Also, there is only one gas station and again, only open when the owner feels like it so gas up when you have the chance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llassocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
790 reviews
564 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a basic small town motel and one of two choices in Marathon. It sits right on the main road though town and you can’t miss it. The place has a lot of rustic charm and a really great courtyard toward the front. The room was small but adequately furnished. Our room was a double bedded room and it had nice green pillow shams and comforter with crisp green sheets. The rooms are small duplex structures so the room had windows on two sides which allowed for nice light. The curtains adequately covered the windows at night. There was a very small TV niched into a corner and we had to sit on the beds to really view the set well. The room included a small desk area, a small easy chair beside the del and space to set your suitcase on a standalone the same wall. Our other suitcase went beside one of the beds. The bathroom is quite tight with limited landing space for toiletries on the sink apron but there is a tray over the toilet that filled the bill. The sink is a nice pedestal. The faucet splashed quite a bit and the faucet could have projected further into the bowl of the sink. You literally had to touch the side of the sink when you washed your hands. The good news about the faucet was the water was nice and hot. In fact the owners could save a penny or two by reducing the temperature of their water heater a degree or two. There is only a small shower that probably measures 30” square. The carpet could use being replaced but it seemed clean enough and I didn’t notice any problems with cleanliness in the room. One great thing about the room was the pitched ceiling which gave the room the illusion of a little more space than was actually there. The staff (both in lady in the evening and the one in the morning) were very pleasant and friendly. They offer one bag of ice per room and have additional bags of ice for sale if needed. The price is reasonable ($1.50 if I recall correctly). Everything was nice and quiet and I only heard train whistler twice during the night - the ear plugs provided were not needed. There were coffee and tea fixings available in the room for those who like to prepare their morning cup. We opted for a small diner in town. The motel was priced right and is a pleasant enough stay. Be sure to look at the stars at night while in Marathon! Use the Courtyard at sunset.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent several nights here on our way to Big Bend. I was very happy with the accommodations. It was nothing fancy but quaint which I love. We had everything we needed and slept very well. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marathon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Motel

Property: Marathon Motel
Address: W. Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Marathon Hotel Marathon
Marathon Motel Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing