We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Hotel in TX”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Little Hotel in TX”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The Title to this review comes from my kids, who insist on spending their birthday here (triplets). They call it the Cowboy Hotel because of its rustic, authentic Western decorations in the rooms and main building and the grounds. But its way more than a Cowboy Hotel.

The architecture is varied. A multi-story main building which previously served as a major west Texas ranch headquarters, a courtyard ringed by authentic adobe with lodgepole pine roofing and then the White Buffalo Bar. The restaurant, Cafe Cenizo, would be a top restaurant in Houston, Dallas, New York or San Francisco.

The rooms in the Los Portales adobe courtyard have kiva fireplaces and in-room firewood.

Ultimately hotels are about hospitality - the way they make you feel when you stay with them. The Gage Hotel is without doubts one of the most hospitable places I have been. Many visitors to the Gage are couples (of all ages) looking for a romantic getaway in the high chaparral country of west Texas. They keep coming back because the Gage experience is one they want to repeat.

In my experience, there are too many beautiful hotels that just don't want to see a family with kids walk through the door. The Gage is different.

We have always felt extremely welcome at the Gage. They've always shown us the best of Texas hospitality. That means alot to us. We're grateful and look forward to coming back for many years.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtypicalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    126
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
85
251
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fort worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Arrived after 2 days of hiking in Big Bend Park to enjoy a historic hotel. Arrived at 1230 PM and were informed check in was at 3 PM. We went down the street and had lunch and returned at 1:30 pm and confirmed we had a room in the historic part of the hotel. The room was ready but we were told we could not check in until 3PM. When we discussed cancelling our reservations at 2:45 PM, we were allowed o check in to our room. Although the historic hotel is somewhat authentically decorated, the posters for flea markets and other local events tacked to the registration desk detract from the decor. Noisy by 6 am in the lobby. We had a more enjoyable stay in Marfa at the Pisano.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

my husband and I stayed at the Gage en route to Big Bend in August for one night. We had one of the Portalis rooms which was absolutely beautiful. The grounds and pool areas were also amazing- as was the reception area in the main hotel. We also ate at the Gage in the outside courtyard- which was very nice but could have done with a greater care over details which may have made it more conducive to eating out- table cloths for instance ? My meal was about ok- my husband's mixed grill however was pretty poor- and the most expensive dish we had on a three week road trip. Our main and major, reservation about the gage was in fact the manners of some of the staff. We were greeted at reception with a temperature of just about luke warm- we had been in Texas for four days by this time and had become used to the amazingly warm and friendly welcome everywhere we went. Our check out experience was the thing that has made me write this report. The young woman on the desk when we went to check out was engaged in a mobile phone conversation. She continued with this conversation all the way through checking us out- no eye contact, no query as to whether we had had a good stay, no smile, no acknowledgement that there were two human beings in front of her- nothing.
We were so shocked by this- it really tainted what our view of what was otherwise a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We received great service. Very quiet and peaceful. Restaurant served wonderful meals.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Our family has stayed in the Gage for generations, but this was my first trip personally. We stopped in Marathon on the way back from Big Bend because the restaurant here has a great reputation. The service was very nice, but we were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. Menu items should have included local things like Texas Goat cheese, but most of the offerings were very heavy and not necessarily local. My salad was extremely heavy and salty, and my husband's steak was tender but had an awful smoky taste. Aside from the Gage, there is almost nothing else in Marathon. Although there were about 2 blocks of cute little shops/cafes, most were not open on a Tuesday. Maybe you have to go on a weekend?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeaceoutLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We have been going to the Gage Hotel for years..........Always a secret escape place in the Davis Mountains: The Big bend part Of Texas. The Gage Hotel is the place to stay when going to Big Bend National Park. The hotel has two sections, the older origonal two story section and the newer patio Las Portilas section. Also it has a wonderful pool area with very plush gardens and grounds all around the hotel. A great restaurant and small spa. The massage at the spa is a reason to go to the Gagr itself. Recently, both the Las Portalis and the rooms in the original hotel have been very nicely updated. If you read review about the trains whistle noise, ignore it. The railroad is about to compete a no whistle crossing and probably complete bu now. this will eliminate the train whistle problem. It never was a problem for us. The new bedding and room appointments are very well done. This is a place to go to relax. The management and staff are ever present to make your visit an enjoyable event.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is a beautifully maintained old hotel with spacious lobbies and outdoor spaces. The hotel was mostly empty when we arrived, and as they leave open the doors to unoccupied rooms, I got a pretty good look at several different room types. Our room (a queen w/ en suite shower) was beautiful though not particularly large. A room down the hall had two doubles and was considerably larger. Rooms without bathrooms had sinks, and the shared bathroom down the hall was very tidy.

The building is a little old and the floors creaky, and it gave me the feeling of sneaking around a grandparent's house after everyone else has gone to bed. I can imagine that downstairs the noise may be a bothersome when the place is crowded. We had no trouble with noise, however.

We were a bit disappointed that they would not extend our checkout beyond 11:30, particularly because we didn't arrive until shortly before midnight and because the place was empty.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Property: Gage Hotel
Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing