We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and Trains”
Review of Gage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I recommend the Gage if your looking for atmosphere in this very small West Texas town. The hotel is worth a stop even if your just passing through. Do take the time to go to the gardens less than a half mile away and enjoy a drink in the bar. We stayed in room 20 in the rear of the hotel and its only draw back was the train noise, I thought I read that the trains no longer blow a whistle at night - wrong.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

This is the place to stay if your travels take you to this part of Texas. The hotel radiates with historic, western ambiance. The room was decorated with western gear, and the lobby and common areas were elegantly appointed in Spanish decor. The service was top notch. The breakfast was excellent - continental but with lots of variety. The restaurant on site is a great choice for dinner. Sit outside if the wather cooperates: the stars are incredible.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaribethAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The Title to this review comes from my kids, who insist on spending their birthday here (triplets). They call it the Cowboy Hotel because of its rustic, authentic Western decorations in the rooms and main building and the grounds. But its way more than a Cowboy Hotel.

The architecture is varied. A multi-story main building which previously served as a major west Texas ranch headquarters, a courtyard ringed by authentic adobe with lodgepole pine roofing and then the White Buffalo Bar. The restaurant, Cafe Cenizo, would be a top restaurant in Houston, Dallas, New York or San Francisco.

The rooms in the Los Portales adobe courtyard have kiva fireplaces and in-room firewood.

Ultimately hotels are about hospitality - the way they make you feel when you stay with them. The Gage Hotel is without doubts one of the most hospitable places I have been. Many visitors to the Gage are couples (of all ages) looking for a romantic getaway in the high chaparral country of west Texas. They keep coming back because the Gage experience is one they want to repeat.

In my experience, there are too many beautiful hotels that just don't want to see a family with kids walk through the door. The Gage is different.

We have always felt extremely welcome at the Gage. They've always shown us the best of Texas hospitality. That means alot to us. We're grateful and look forward to coming back for many years.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtypicalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Arrived after 2 days of hiking in Big Bend Park to enjoy a historic hotel. Arrived at 1230 PM and were informed check in was at 3 PM. We went down the street and had lunch and returned at 1:30 pm and confirmed we had a room in the historic part of the hotel. The room was ready but we were told we could not check in until 3PM. When we discussed cancelling our reservations at 2:45 PM, we were allowed o check in to our room. Although the historic hotel is somewhat authentically decorated, the posters for flea markets and other local events tacked to the registration desk detract from the decor. Noisy by 6 am in the lobby. We had a more enjoyable stay in Marfa at the Pisano.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

my husband and I stayed at the Gage en route to Big Bend in August for one night. We had one of the Portalis rooms which was absolutely beautiful. The grounds and pool areas were also amazing- as was the reception area in the main hotel. We also ate at the Gage in the outside courtyard- which was very nice but could have done with a greater care over details which may have made it more conducive to eating out- table cloths for instance ? My meal was about ok- my husband's mixed grill however was pretty poor- and the most expensive dish we had on a three week road trip. Our main and major, reservation about the gage was in fact the manners of some of the staff. We were greeted at reception with a temperature of just about luke warm- we had been in Texas for four days by this time and had become used to the amazingly warm and friendly welcome everywhere we went. Our check out experience was the thing that has made me write this report. The young woman on the desk when we went to check out was engaged in a mobile phone conversation. She continued with this conversation all the way through checking us out- no eye contact, no query as to whether we had had a good stay, no smile, no acknowledgement that there were two human beings in front of her- nothing.
We were so shocked by this- it really tainted what our view of what was otherwise a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We received great service. Very quiet and peaceful. Restaurant served wonderful meals.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Our family has stayed in the Gage for generations, but this was my first trip personally. We stopped in Marathon on the way back from Big Bend because the restaurant here has a great reputation. The service was very nice, but we were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. Menu items should have included local things like Texas Goat cheese, but most of the offerings were very heavy and not necessarily local. My salad was extremely heavy and salty, and my husband's steak was tender but had an awful smoky taste. Aside from the Gage, there is almost nothing else in Marathon. Although there were about 2 blocks of cute little shops/cafes, most were not open on a Tuesday. Maybe you have to go on a weekend?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaceoutLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gage Hotel

Address: 102 E US Highway 90, Marathon, TX 79842-9800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £97 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Texas Mountain Region, the Gage Hotel offers elegant accommodations to those wishing to escape the mundane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gage Hotel Marathon, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing