We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.”
Review of 12 Gage

12 Gage
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant at the Gage Hotel
Austin,tx
Level Contributor
183 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The place is very casual for the quality of the food and service. my family owned a restaurant, so I notice things like how the staff works together. When they do, it is a sure sign that the place is well run. They work together here to ensure that you, the customer, get first class treatment. I had the pork loin. I was scred to death that it would be cooked to death. It was cooked perfectly, just a little on the pink side. The chicken fried steak was also a standout. They have two choices of gravy. I asked for both on the side. I have to admit I liked the spicier one better. That is a matter of taste. My advice is to do as I did and get the gravies on the side and choose the one you like best- or choose both.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Austin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    60
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Chicken fried steak!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We went and had salmon, steak and chicken fried steak and all were awesome! Definitely a must try! Great service! If I had one drawback it would be that they didn't have a ribeye. They did have a filet and NY Strip though.

Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food ”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Went to this place with fantastic friends for graduation celebration. The food was fantastic, the dessert and coffee was great. We left stuffed. Yes it is a little pricey, but great service and food and drinks beats it

Helpful?
1 Thank Troy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanee, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice selection of meals”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The outdoor dining option is an excellent choice while dining at the 12 Gage restaurant during early May. I've not visited during other months of the year, so I don't know whether the conditions may be too hot during the summer or too cold during the winter months.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SisuTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
443 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
“3 Star w/ 5 Star Prices”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked reservations at the 12 Gage for a major celebration and probably got our hopes up too high based on the Hotel & Restaurants' lavish marketing. The Gage complex is the only show in town, and unfortunately no competition to drive pricing, quality, and service. Our experience there was disappointing for the high prices charged along with slow, unprofessional service. Be sure to ask your server questions about various entree offerings and do not assume anything. For example, there are no 'Truffles' with your $37.00 steak as stated on their menu, you will receive thin fries cooked in truffle oil with a deceptive French twist. Avoid the more expensive prickly pear margaritas (no frozen available), they are small; the worst & saltiest we have ever tasted @ $12.00 each. If you want to eat al fresco, be sure to reserve well ahead of time the tables near the fireplaces with padded seats as the chairs in the open air space are hard as rocks with no cushions and very uncomfortable. We were surrounded with flies too, so you are better off dining inside where the western motif is very comfortable and lovely. You should bring a cooler of food because the two other run down restaurants near the hotel (also owned by The Gage) that serve breakfast are either closed or awful. The 12 Gage Restaurant does not serve breakfast or lunch. Marathon, The Gage, and Big Bend National Park was a one act show for us, we will never return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 12 Gage also viewed

 

Been to 12 Gage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing