We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Desert”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Desert”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I are from California and we rondezvoused with my parents, who live in Texas, at Eve's Garden in Marathon. We all had an absolutely delightful stay, which started the second we walked up to the front door and lasted until we regretfully had to be on our way the next morning after enjoying the beautifully prepared breakfast. Kate, the proprietor, made a specially prepared gluten free quiche for my mother and myself which was fantastic! The B&B is tended by people who obviously have a love of beauty, an eye for detail, and a playful spirit. For instance, a small knick in a drawer in a pretty antique chest was charmingly mended with a little carved mouse peeking out of the flaw -- too cute! There is a delight for the eye in every nook and every cranny. The art is lovely and abundant and the garden is a paradise. This is a true find! We also stayed at the Gage Hotel, which is charming, but the next time we get back to the area, we will choose to stay at Eve's Garden the whole time. We loved it!

  • Liked — beautiful, whimsical B&B with interesting and intelligent owners
  • Disliked — we were only able to stay one night
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    16
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
17
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Marathon is a small town with a great location. Eve's Bed and Breakfast is the reason you take a chance on a B&B. This place is very interesting. The rooms are unique with no square corners. The courtyard is beautiful and the greenhouse is incredible. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. You will spend hours just walking around their place.

  • Liked — It was a great momory
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Eve's Garden. It's an interesting, unique, even quirky place...as are its owners. We enjoyed the accommodations as well as the yummy breakfasts and all the conversation that went along with the experience. If you're looking for an interesting experience, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectlypaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

I booked the Lotus room for a night with my parents. It was great because they could stay in the big room and I stayed in the adjacent room which also had a queen sized bed. What you will find so uplifting about this place is the rounded architecture, uplifting colors, and greenhouse garden that is just outside of your room. The coffee in the morning is great with agave nectar sweetener. We enjoyed a fabulously large beakfast that will fill you up until dinner. They will even cater to you if you have food allergies or special diet needs. Yes, I can believe that the owners have values that are a little different from the average individual living in a large city, but that is what makes the experience unique. They live "green" and their environment surrounding you shows that, but I they really don't push it on you. I think other travelers that posted bad reviews in the past may have confronted the issues with them in a negative way. Everyone has differnet feelings about everything - so just let it be. I didn't notice any bugs in my room either - but hay you are staying right outside of a huge garden, so don't expect it to be as prestine as the Hilton. This would be the perfect place for an artist to stay for a few days or for someone that is burned out from work stress and just needs to get back to nature and to interflect about life. My mom loved the gardens and everything - it made her birthday special. My dad liked chatting with other guests at the hotel, you never know who your going to meet. They met a lady that lives 1/2 hour from them in Michigan and they were both in the same harness racing industry together years back. Such a small world. I would deffinitely recommend this B & B! Spoil yourself, you deserve it -and take a friend along to treat them to a relaxing get-a-way too. We did our shopping, eating and drinking in Alpine, 20 minutes down the road where you can catch the Amtrak train and the cowboy poetry convention.

  • Liked — Unique and beautiful sorroundings - great breakfast too.
  • Disliked — Pretty far from anything - but a good get-a-way.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PlasticHorseshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

We found the owners to be borderline militant in their opinions on just about everything (the government, the president, food production in the US, other area businesses...). We were insulted several times because of our professions (we work in the computer industry), including being told that we didn't do "real work" or "work hard" like they do. We were quoted a lower price on the phone than the price they charged us, when we brought this to their attention, they were very nasty, to the point of threatening us. It was a very long drive home and we were very angry. Do not support this business.

  • Liked — The Big Bend area is beautiful
  • Disliked — The owners threatened and insulted us
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the Marathon Motel (lower cost) or Gage Hotel instead
  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ArtBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaine B, Owner at Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Well, we are passionate about what we do, we would never want to make anyone feel uncomfortable!

Again, I respond late to this written back in 2007. At the time Kate, one of the creators and owner of Eve’s Garden, was married to an opinionated man whose vision for the future was at times overpowering.

We have respect for that same ex-partner, but his passion and his desire to inspire passion in others did sometimes overpower the kind gentleness that is Kate.

Now there are just the three of us; Kate, her son Noble (computer geek himself!), and Alaine (me, Noble’s wife.) While passionate about building a place that is inspirational and beautiful for ourselves and gentler on the planet, our main motivation is our guests: to make our guests comfortable, to inspire them to see their own creativity, and to provide for them a fun, relaxing, and memorable visit to West Texas.

In more recent reviews:
March 2012
The owners are easy going and welcoming...

Dec 2011
The owners were very accommodating and gave me the tour of the place and the greenhouse,

Nov 2011
The people are lovely.. friendly.. the food is more than fabulous

And more…
- It's always fun to see what is new and to catch up with Kate
- From the moment I arrived when Nobel and Kate greeted me I knew this was going to be a great experience.
- Loved the hospitality here - really deliver with that Texas hospitality.
- We immediately connected with Kate
- … treat you like friends

Prices:
Our prices are clearly stated on our website. Texas does have a 13% hotel-motel tax on top of the rate.

Thank you,
Alaine, Kate, Noble
Eve's Garden Organic Bed and Breakfast and Ecology Resource Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

The biggest problem we had with the hotel were the bugs. We left for dinner and when we came back they were *everywhere* ! We honestly would have encountered far fewer bugs if we slept outside. It was disgusting! That the owners were opinionated is an understatement- they shoved their opinions down our throats and didn't hide the fact that they were extremely judgemental of us! When breakfast came, there wasn't enough food and they said it was because they didn't expect us to be up in time! Our complaints got us nothing but physical threats. We're not kidding.

  • Disliked — the dirtiness
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pugsprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaine B, Owner at Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks for the feedback;
Yup, Eve’s Garden, an organic Bed and Breakfast (not a Hotel) ... an Organic Garden. There can be a bug or two, but this was a unique occasion. The situation was that the nice young couple went out for dinner having left on all the lights on, left the doors and windows open in the blooming summertime. The chrysanthemum and mint oil based bug repeler that Kate used was no match for the bright-shiny room with its inviting wide open doors and windows in the summertime at dusk.
Opinionated:
That was our passionate Clyde. Clyde has moved on from Eve's Garden. While we still have passion about our mission, we’re just as interested to hear your ideas or let you just relax on your vacation.
Food:
This is the only time I’ve ever seen this feedback. Yesterday I served ONE guest three big omelets (with spinach from the garden, portabella mushrooms sautéed in tequila, Swiss cheese and local eggs), homemade vetebrod (Swedish cinnamon rolls), and baked sugared pears.

We do serve a conscientiously healthy breakfast, and as much of it as you’d like. We strive for a balanced breakfast: generally an egg dish, homemade bread, fruit, and juices, or, if pancakes or French toast, a side of some protein (meat and/or yogurt), fruit, and juices.

So sorry you had an unpleasant experience, we have had quite a few changes here since your stay. We are a very peaceful and happy place.
Thank you
Alaine, Kate, Noble, and Bubbles-the-Chihuahua-Poodle-Puppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 April 2006

Unique, colorful atmosphere with a great energy about it. The hosts were very gracious and warm...couldn't have asked for a nicer stay. Funky and aesthetic would be good words for Eve's Garden...If you are on the conservative side don't let the funkiness put you off. It is very clean and well-done. Its just decorated in a strong colors. Breakfasts were filling and tasty, and included great conversation around the table. For example, we had an egg and asparagus casserole, baked pears with butter and dried cranberries, and coffee/juice on the first day. We would stay here again instead of the Gage Hotel. The Gage is good to go to for other meals that are not served at Eve's.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: North 3rd Street & Avenue C, Marathon, TX 79842
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Eve's Garden Bed and Breakfast and Ecology Resource Center. Located in Marathon, Texas, a high desert oasis. You start your visit with us entering through large indoor gardens filled year-round blooming roses, bougainvillea, and countless flowers. Our private, quiet, hand-built guest rooms open to a central covered courtyard with a pond and tea room. We offer yummy homemade organic gourmet breakfasts. Marathon, Texas, is the gateway to the Big Bed! Feel like you are in an old western movie. Marathon is located just a short gorgeous drive from: Big Bend National Park's 3 life zones desert, river, and mountain; Marfa's art scene; Ft. Davis's state park, observatory and its star party; Alpine's museums and galleries; and much more! Come enjoy cool, romantic summer nights with our family-run B&B! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast Marathon, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing