We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An annual treat for our group of friends!! Eve's Garden is our favorite place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An annual treat for our group of friends!! Eve's Garden is our favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Our friends stay here every year on New Year's Eve and we consider it one of the highlights of our year. The architecture is amazing and one-of-a-kind. After reading the other reviews, I think that you need to be an artistic, open-minded and free thinker to truly understand and appreciate what Clyde and Kate are doing. They have created a massive oasis in the middle of a desert: lush landscapes, vibrant buildings, cozy rooms, delicious food, and unbeatable service. You do not want to miss out on this experience if you are anywhere near Big Bend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMMLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    16
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
17
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
244 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

When we arrived, we found that the rooms wer nothing like the web site. The place was filthy with trash and flies in the kitchen area. I would not have let my pet eat food from the kitchen. The pool was not working, thus disapointing the child.
With all the problems, the manager just did not care. So we decided to move on. I heard things are full; you will not find a room. We did at a pleasent place, the Marathon Motel.
Even though we arrived in the afternoon so the reservation should have been cancelled. We were charged for the room.

Thanks to the credit card company for removing the charge.

I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bubba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaine B, Owner at Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We always appreciate feedback, we’ll address your points one by one below…
Our Website:
We just launched a new website now April, 2012. More suggestions always welcome on that. Or share pictures!

Our Kitchen:
I am the owner’s (Kate’s) daughter-in-law; I spend much of my time in the kitchen. Kate would NEVER leave or let me leave her kitchen dirty, Never! As an organic B & B, we do our best to conserve resources, we do keep all of our food scraps for our neighbors at Z-Bar Farms and their goats, (it has been a long time since this review was posted, sorry for delay in responding, just getting into the modern world here) it was probably an afternoon we had set out the food scraps for Sally, the ranch owner, to come and pick up the scraps for the goats (and chickens, and puppies). On days when not expecting Miss Sally, I have a fridge in which I store the goat food. But I can not imagine that there had been a fly in our kitchen!

Pool:
Eve’s Garden does not advertise that we have a pool.
We have a winter and spring reflection pool and a warm weather lap pool.
As the water is solar heated it warms up in the summer and is a refreshing source of water on a warm desert afternoon.
As Eve’s Garden’s vision is one of conserving resources and demonstrating how to tread more lightly, the idea of expending resources to heat a large space of water in the wintertime is against our principles. Our sumertime pool has a water transfer system flows the water between the pool and the greenhouse; heating the pool and cooling off our greenhouse.

Our Refund Policy:
Again, this was posted in Nov, 2009, we’ve changed and improved. We do have a clear refund policy on our website, however we have grown and learned and if someone felt unhappy with our home, we’d be happy to do all we could to make them happy.

Marathon Motel:
We agree, nice place, a different concept than Eve’s Garden, but nice folks, nice place.

And:
The events that the reviewer described don't seem to match any guest that we had reserved or any of our records. We had no unfulfilled reservations in the months during or before this review and our credit card processor did not remove any charges. However, we certainly do apologize for any negative experience or misunderstanding.

Thanks again for the feedback, sorry you got the wrong impression,
Alaine, Noble, Kate
Eve's Garden Organic Bed and Breakfast and Ecology Resource Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We had never heard of or seen Eve's Garden until we saw what appeared to be an old church ruin while driving through Marathon, Texas. The closer we got, the more we saw that it wasn't a church. It was a bed and breakfast that looked part prairie home, part lunar colony. Bright pastel colors, domes and colored glass everywhere. We had to stop.

One of the owners, Clyde, a colorful character, gave us a brief tour. We went through a beautiful frame structure, large kitchen and high-ceilinged living area and then entered wonderland. The first extra room they have added to the original house contains a large pool and rounded bench seats. We then exited into a courtyard with a concealed hot tub, then an organic greenhouse, then a courtyard with a pool and fountain. This final courtyard was surrounded by rooms, each unique. Most of this structure was made of papercrete, a fibrous cement construction tecnhique that is very inexpensive, light and easy. Clyde then showed us the areas still under construction and explained his sustainable living philosophy. At the end of the tour we walked back to the car to talk about whether or not we wanted to stay there or perhaps check out another location. But my wife was mesmerized. We went back inside and booked a room for the night.

The rooms are all different, all unique. Even our room, the smallest, was cozy, spacious, warm and inviting, luxurious. Given the fact that this facility is on the edge of town, on the edge of the chihuahuan desert, I would have expected more wildlife frankly. Not so much as a scorpion or cricket visited our room.

We were the only guests that night so we unpacked, showered and spent some time wandering around. There are so many nooks and crannies that each time you pass an area you find something new. We ate dinner at the local Flying Burro and then took a quick dip in the hot tub before retiring for the night. We surprised a couple of javelinas who had decided to explore the courtyard. Their quick retreat was comical! We slept with the door open so that the fountain could lull us to sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was a delicious spinach/mushroom/feta cheese omelette, grapefruit with meringue and raisin bread. We talked with Kate the whole time she prepared the food and then with both her and Clyde after breakfast and before we left. They are very entertaining, interesting and passionate about all things organic and sustainable and local. And yet I never found them to be pushy or overbearing in any way. And, if I may be so bold, I find some of the previous reviews mentioning 'physical threats' to be unbelievable to the point of ludicrousness. I can't imagine either of these kind souls threatening any one. Eve's Garden is, if nothing else, peace, love and harmony.

My wife spent the morning walking around and sitting down in different places to enjoy each new perspective as if it were a completely different experience than the bench seat just around the corner. She found it relaxing, refreshing, even healing. I asked my wife how often she would like to go back for a return visit. Even though Marathon is a good 8-9 hour drive from our house, and even though it is more expensive than my wife's penny-pinching heart can normally take, she responded immediately: "Every weekend!"

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

By phone, owner said pets were allowed (but $20 extra charge). When we arrived, she said no pets, so we said we'd leave, but then she reluctantly said that we should stay even though it would make her unhappy. We told her we'd spend one night instead of two, and left early the next morning. She then emailed to say she'd give us an in-house credit for one night stay (for the next time we visit). A few days later our credit card was billed for the second night. We objected, but she insisted on charging us for the second night, even though our stay was only one day and we left because she misrepresented her pet policy. We won't be going back to use the in-house credit, and were charged for two nights when we spent only one very uncomfortable night at this B&B.

More generally, we thought the rooms very small. There was no door on the bathroom, just a cloth curtain (though we were there with our college-age son), and the window into the bathroom (from outside) was transparent enough to see someone inside at the toilet. The floors are concrete (painted) and the room had only a small space heater. The beds are built into the structure (concrete bases) with a mattress on top; quite uncomfortable. There were no bureaus (no drawers into which we could unpack) and few flat surfaces (no tables or counters) onto which we could put our belongings.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Owner rude, misrepresented pet policy, charged for night not spent there
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JupiOnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaine B, Owner at Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Feedback is always appreciated. We need to address your points.

Our pet policy.
While we love pets, our website clearly states that NO Pets are allowed EVER. While we love animals, we cannot allow pets due to Kate’s (and other guests) allergies. We clearly state several times all over the website (the old one and the new one) that we can not accommodate pets. The way we remember this guest, she arrived with the pet disregarding being told we can not accommodate pets and Kate let her stay regardless. Kate did all she could to try to please this lady on the super-busy Thanksgiving weekend.

Our refund policy
Also clearly stated on our site, due to being a family-run business (we are just three folks now) our policy is to give a credit if the guests’ plans change unexpectedly. On a busy weekend with just seven rooms, having an empty room after turning down many others is disappointing. While our official policy remains the same we have learned that if a family was ever again unhappy with the fabulousness that is Eve’s Garden, we would not quibble and not charge.

Doors on bathroom,
Thanks for that feedback, we have since installed doors on all of our bathrooms--minus the Ocotillo Room, which will be installed shortly.

Window in the Bathroom in the Lotus Suite,
I’ve just submitted a photo to Trip Advisor so you can see it, it is a translucent antique stained glass window that does allow in light, but one cannot see in. There is a beaded curtain on the inside of the window. The outside of the window is located in the partially private entrance to the Lotus room-no traffic passes this window unless entering the Lotus Suite.

“Concrete” and heating:
We do not build with “concrete” we build with Papercrete, a very warm, soft, insulating material which we hand make here on our property from recycled materials: recycled paper and (in the blocks) recycled Styrofoam. With an R-factor of 2.5 per inch only a small romantic faux fireplace is needed to keep our comfortably sized rooms toasty warm…and just a small A/C in the summertime.

Room Size, storage, comfy-ness:
With our focus on the pretty architecture-domes, arches, vaults- in the beginning, we didn’t put much emphasis on storage space, though this room has always had a bedside table and a desk, 6 drawers for guests to use, and large shelves in the bathroom. We are remedying this, thanks for the feedback. Pretty hooks and shelving have been added to the Lotus Suite and other rooms.
We have seven unique rooms, I’ll put the measurements up on the website, we don’t consider them small.
The guests also have access to all of our property; half a city block. The large courtyard with a fountain and goldfish is surrounded by seating, and there is a tea room that provides not only coffee, tea, hot chocolate, beer, and filtered water, but another (not giant) space to spend time.
As an “ecology resource center” some folks do come here to see the work in progress. We are currently constructing a library and conference area with papercrete made on-site… so that our guests have even more social space.
The main house is also open from 7:30 AM until 8PM.
Our mattresses are the super comfy pillow-top kind.

Regarding the "rude owner"
At the time this guest was at Eve's Garden we had a fourth owner, he is no longer with us and we are a happy peaceful family here to make our guests' stay memorable--IN A GOOD WAY.
Thanks again, Noble, Kate, Alaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

My husband and I are from California and we rondezvoused with my parents, who live in Texas, at Eve's Garden in Marathon. We all had an absolutely delightful stay, which started the second we walked up to the front door and lasted until we regretfully had to be on our way the next morning after enjoying the beautifully prepared breakfast. Kate, the proprietor, made a specially prepared gluten free quiche for my mother and myself which was fantastic! The B&B is tended by people who obviously have a love of beauty, an eye for detail, and a playful spirit. For instance, a small knick in a drawer in a pretty antique chest was charmingly mended with a little carved mouse peeking out of the flaw -- too cute! There is a delight for the eye in every nook and every cranny. The art is lovely and abundant and the garden is a paradise. This is a true find! We also stayed at the Gage Hotel, which is charming, but the next time we get back to the area, we will choose to stay at Eve's Garden the whole time. We loved it!

  • Liked — beautiful, whimsical B&B with interesting and intelligent owners
  • Disliked — we were only able to stay one night
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

Marathon is a small town with a great location. Eve's Bed and Breakfast is the reason you take a chance on a B&B. This place is very interesting. The rooms are unique with no square corners. The courtyard is beautiful and the greenhouse is incredible. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was great. You will spend hours just walking around their place.

  • Liked — It was a great momory
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Eve's Garden. It's an interesting, unique, even quirky place...as are its owners. We enjoyed the accommodations as well as the yummy breakfasts and all the conversation that went along with the experience. If you're looking for an interesting experience, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank perfectlypaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: North 3rd Street & Avenue C, Marathon, TX 79842
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit us at Eve's Garden Bed and Breakfast and Ecology Resource Center. Located in Marathon, Texas, a high desert oasis. You start your visit with us entering through large indoor gardens filled year-round blooming roses, bougainvillea, and countless flowers. Our private, quiet, hand-built guest rooms open to a central covered courtyard with a pond and tea room. We offer yummy homemade organic gourmet breakfasts. Marathon, Texas, is the gateway to the Big Bed! Feel like you are in an old western movie. Marathon is located just a short gorgeous drive from: Big Bend National Park's 3 life zones desert, river, and mountain; Marfa's art scene; Ft. Davis's state park, observatory and its star party; Alpine's museums and galleries; and much more! Come enjoy cool, romantic summer nights with our family-run B&B! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eve's Garden Bed & Breakfast Marathon, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing