We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly excellent ”
Review of River City Grille

River City Grille
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Marble Falls
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Great food, friendly people, casual atmosphere and lakefront location are what make River City Grille a favorite spot for the folks in Marble Falls and Highland Lakes.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly excellent ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had catfish and fresh mash potatoes, green beans, and Lake Cakes which were all excellent. The place has a spectacular view of the lake. My catfish was tender and fresh and not overdone or over-battered and in no way resembled the other reviewer's description. Totally happy with our meal, ambiance, service and view.

Helpful?
Thank Scott3p0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the catfish, mashed potatoes, green beans and Lake Cakes. These are some of the most popular items on our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    231
    119
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Going Back!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I drove an hour to try River City Grille. They messed up my burger by undercooking it. After the first bite I noticed and they offered to fix it. A few minutes later they brought back the same burger just more cooked with the same toppings on a new bun. How many hands touched the food doing that? Even with gloves on...how much other food was touched before they took my burger apart to reheat it? I've worked in food...when I made a mistake, the customer got a fresh product, not the correction on reheated food. Save yourself time and money...go to burger king.

Helpful?
Thank Jody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I'm disappointed to read that your were unhappy with our attempt to fix a burger mistake. Our goal is to make sure every burger is cooked exactly to your liking. We'd love to discuss this further with you. Please email us at rcg@nctv.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkins, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had purchased a Travelzoo voucher for Hampton Inn at the Lake in Marble Falls. The River City Grille is right next door. We got a voucher with our hotel purchase for the restaurant. The food was VERY good. We all LOVED the green chile queso and chips, even our picky eater, the hot sauce was also very tasty and fresh. I order chopped steak very frequently when eating at restaurants and I must say this was the BEST I have ever eaten!! The steak was tasty and juicy with yummy onions also got the grilled squash which was cooked just right and seasoned well. My husband liked the chopped steak as well (he is usually not such a fan). He got the chicken fried steak which was also very good. All the side dishes were tasty. Great chips and hot sauce. Out daughter got the cheese burger and fries which did not come as we ordered but was sent back and corrected quickly. Our waitress was not the friendliest, not much personality. The restaurant does have nice views of the lake and was busy the entire time we were there. Would definitely visit again if in the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Sounds like you had a great stay in Marble Falls. We're glad that you visited River City Grille. We get lots of compliments on the chopped steak and are thrilled that you think it was the best you've ever tasted. Come back and see us next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a terrific lunch at the River City Grille when passing through Marble Falls, TX. Service was attentive and efficient and the food was good.

They have big windows and a shaded deck overlooking the Colorado River, plus a rustic dining room and bar. It was a sunny day and wasn't too hot by Texas standards, so we opted for the deck.

Be advised, the place is popular and there can be a longish wait for a table. We timed it well and only had about a 15 minute wait for a table on railing of the deck (prime location). By the time we were seated they were quoting 45 minute waits.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Sounds like you did have a primo spot on the deck! Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed the food and the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“river City Grill Revue”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very,very disappointing. Only good thing about it was the waiter. He did a good job. Food was not as expected. Catfish was overcooked, cold. Potatoes were cold. Will not ever go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B, Owner at River City Grille, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the catfish and potatoes. We do our best to make sure our food is cooked perfectly and served at the right temperature. Sounds like your server did a good job of taking care of you. We hope you'll give us another try next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River City Grille also viewed

 

Been to River City Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing