We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in Marfa”
Review of The Hotel Paisano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Paisano
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel in Marfa”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

As you probably already know, the cast and crew of the movie Giant stayed here and therefore some of the nicest rooms are named after them, i.e. the James Dean, Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson suites. After visiting several rooms, we stayed in a room overlooking the interior patio that had a small kitchenette. We decided that we didn't need to pay extra for one of the special rooms as we were only there one night. This was wise because we were there Christmas Eve, had a delightful dinner at the hotel (it was the only restaurant open in town on Christmas Eve), and bought provisions for breakfast as the hotel let us know that breakfast would not be served on Christmas Day.
About the rooms. The hotel is old, worn and tired looking. But I don't think you are going to find a better place to stay in Marfa. The location is right in the middle of town. The staff is kind and helpful. It is clean. You just have to keep reminding yourself…it is historic! I have stayed there three times.

Room Tip: overlooking interior balcony on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freethacowlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    207
    63
    21
    18
See reviews for
84
221
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
770 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful old hotel in the middle of town. Room and bedding very comfortable, with beautiful lobby. Everything was very clean. Rooms are unique, so you can pick out what you like, including such things as terraces with fireplaces and balconies overlooking the courtyard. Would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed in the Rock Hudson suite for several days. The hotel is old and charming. It has a very solid and relaxing feel. We were very comfortable.

The Rock Hudson suite has a huge patio where we spent most of our time (when we were in the room). If you're looking for a space to entertain or just hang out, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This lovely old hotel is a site where the film Giant was filmed and there is a special room of memorabilia where one can even sit down and watch the movie. The lobby, fireplace room off the lobby, shops, restaurant are all beautifully decorated. Staff was very helpful. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. Our bathroom was tiny but a minor thing as far as I was concerned. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aheis1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Sadly, I must agree with some of the previous comments. I didn't feel the charm I expected from the Paisano, and certainly not from the desk staff. The hotel is archetcturally significant, and well done. The public areas show wear and a bit of neglect. Front desk staff was business efficient, but not really welcoming. Suite was clean, showing signs of age (expected, so no surprise and that's part of the charm), but very cold when we walked into it. Luckily the heater kicked in quickly. Six towels (3 sizes, 2 each) in the bathroom (sufficient, but most hotels have at least 1 extra set). Mattress was comfortable, thin blanket was not double sheeted. Pillows, as others stated, were very firm/hard. The desk advised "no" they don't have softer or feather pillows. Did not try the hotel dining room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely place. Super comfortable room. Reasonable rate. Front desk staff about as warm and friendly as an iceberg. They cannot disguise their utter disdain for even the most gentle and unassuming traveller. Ignore this fact and talk to the housekeepers for area information. They are informative and kind, going above and beyond their expected duties as cleaners. They had the integrity to offer tourist advice that was incredibly helpful, and it was info not readily found on your average Marfa sites. Great hotel, dreadful desk staff. And the humorous gift shops located off the hotel's lobby appear as though the merchandise was ordered by a wealthy middle-aged boat person. Overpriced absurd items abound! Save your tourist dollars and buy from the artists in Marfa. Overall we'd stay here again if we HAD to even though Marfa is a bit precious and NOT worth the trouble of travelling for. Best part of Marfa is the James Dean/Giant history. The rest is all very silly and pretentious. xo

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shinola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Too bad, such a beautiful hotel to merit a mixed review. Hotel ambience and architecture- A+ hospitality and service-D. Since they are the only act in town maybe they don't have to try. We were so disappointed in the attitude of this hotel staff that we would recommend a walk through ( gawk through) rather than a stay. Our stay coincided with a private party of the local art crowd that over took the bar that night causing chaos for the lone bar tender and terrible mixed drinks for us after waiting ages. Our dinners were oddly bland ( luckily very reasonably priced) after a wait that forced many in the dinning room to go graze on the private party's left over hors d'ourves! Our room overlooking the courtyard was lovely but the king size bed offered only two, rock-hard foam pillows like a throw back to the olden days. I choose to make my own pillow by stuffing my down coat in the pillow case--clever! My husband just suffered all night. Upon checking out the manager on duty asked us perfunctorily if our stay was satisfactory. We related our poor bar and dining service from the night before and suggested they add a choice of pillows instead of the two, skimpy rock hard foam ones on the king size bed. He then argued with us, saying "That's Marfa." Wait, what?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
199 reviews
21.7 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
477 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
534 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
57 reviews
23.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Paisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Paisano

Property: The Hotel Paisano
Address: 207 N. Highland Ave., Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Paisano Hotel Marfa
Hotel Paisano
The Hotel Paisano Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing