We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”
Review of Cibolo Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cibolo Creek Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Denver City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I visited alone on business, but I will be returning with my wife soon. Beautiful location, wonderful service and amazing food. Old fort which has been beautifully renovated. The furnishings are excellent and the view and location are one of a kind. I didn't have time to participate in any of the activities, but I plan to do so on my next trip. I highly recommend Cibolo Creek for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APwesttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    25
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
31
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cibolo Ranch. The accommodations are very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The facilities were very nice and there are a number of nice hikes in the area and other activities ( at extra charge ) for those who want them. The outdoor hot tub and pool were great; try the hot tub under the stars one night! We also enjoyed the dog, Annie, who followed us on 2 hikes ( though we didn't discourage her ). The food was very good-- not outstanding but tasty ; portions were generous.
If you are looking for a luxurious special treat in this area, we' d highly recommend Cibolo Ranch.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Date of our stay was August 13-15, 2013

This is a superb location providing escape to the Chinati mountains with activities for everyone in the family.

All of the meals were very good. The evening social hour was a highlight which carried over into a great dinner to allow continuing conversations with those new acquaintances we had made or mix it up and make some new ones as we sat down to a great meal. After dinner you can enjoy making (and eating) 'Smores out by the lake. All the fixin's were there fresh each evening - the marshmallows, skewers, graham crackers and chocolate. This is just one more opportunity to continue meeting and making new acquaintances. It's also a good time to jump into one of the paddle boats and glide around the lake a bit.

Everyone in the office was helpful. All of the service staff were right on top of everything and gracious in their part of making our stay so good.

Be advised it IS remote and no obvious signs are posted to alert you to the entrance so pay attention to the directions that you will be sent via email or copy them from their website. Do NOT expect to see a big "Cibolo Creek Ranch - Turn Here" sign. There is none but it is simple to find if you follow the directions you will receive.

Also, the remote location that makes this ranch so desirable means that there is no cell phone coverage. Further, there are no phones in the rooms either so you are truly isolated from the outside world for calling in or out. The WiFi is really good though so email and web stuff works great. If you don't bring your own computer there is one conveniently located for guests' use.

We took the mountain tour by ATV and really recommend that. Some of the children we talked with at dinner told us about fishing, shooting BB guns, playing pool, swimming, bicycling and more. The range of activities appeals to the range of ages that you will find from youngsters to young at heart. As an aside let me say that all of the children we met (Caroline, Ben, Max, Charlie) were mature acting and delightful to talk to.

If you are looking for a remote, get-away-from-it-all spot, this is it. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had one of the 10 lakeside rooms and recommend them. Along the front of all of the lakeside buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beedub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

So....looking for a private getaway? Hours away from any airport, other than a private jet strip next door. This is the destination then! Cibolo is a truly western getaway, a fort restored to its original beauty by history buff Mr. John Poindexter in its old style beauty, along with all the amenities you could ask for in the privacy of the ranch. Horseback, skeet shoots, humvee tours, polaris off road jeeps, paddleboats and on site spa with appointments arranged and fine dining prepared for your convenience and enjoyment. Full breakfast, lunch, cocktails/hors d'oeuvres hour, and dinner daily. The town of Marfa with its history and culture is a short drive away. Tour the Paisano Hotel where stars stayed during the filming of Giant in the mid 1950's, or tour some art galleries like D. Judd Foundation. Indulge yourself...for a truly spectacular view and taste of the old west. End your day with a bonfire and dip in the outdoor pool or hottub. Truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Pool side suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and stayed for 4 nights. We enjoyed every minute. We had most of our meals there and enjoyed wisiting with the other guests each night. The staff was excellent and met our every need. We looked at the historical artifacts, took a ranch tour and traveled to McDonald Observatory one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed two nights over a holiday weekend in 'The Cowboy' room which over looks the main courtyard inside the fort. The drive into the hotel from the highway is about 4 miles and is mostly gravel. Bring your truck or SUV and four wheel drive. You can manage the drive in a sedan but a large vehicle is the way to go.

Upon arrival we met the manager and he showed us the grounds and offered to help with our bags. He also provided us with a pitcher of water with lemons and glasses in our room which was very nice. We did have to sign the medical liability waiver upon arrival. I believe that it is important for people to acknowledge that they (and their families) are far from medical assistance and that they are taking a risk by staying at the ranch in the case of emergency.

The Room: The room was much larger than I had expected from the photos. There was a large king size bed, desk and chair, sitting chair, two night stands, and a dresser. Each room also has a fire place. The bathroom was also fairly large. The shower was very clean and I took a bath the first night because the room was equipped with bath salts that I could not pass up. The bathroom had nice towels, soaps, two robes and a small hair dryer. The bed was not the most comfortable bed in the whole world, but it was good enough. The bed had very nice sheets and pillows, but the mattress just was not for me. The hotel did make the bed each day and provided a turn down service during dinner. We enjoyed staying on the courtyard side of the hotel and sitting on the patio outside the door. I will say that the doors to the room have glass panes that allow sound and light in.

Food: While we stayed at the resort we had one dinner, which was very good. The dinner started with a salad with vinaigrette dressing and goat cheese. The main course was asparagus, steak, and potatoes. Dessert was a fruit cheese cake. Dinner was very good. It was served fairly slowly and you eat in dinning hall with the other guests. We had a boxed lunch the day we departed the hotel which included a large ham sandwich, gala apple, chips, a cookie, and a water. The boxed lunch was my favorite thing I ate because the sandwich was amazing. We had breakfast both mornings we were there. The breakfast was very good and included fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage and other southwest dishes. You could also order waffles, pancakes, and omelets from the kitchen. Everything we ate was very good. The price tag is decent given that all of the food must be purchased, delivered, prepared, and served on the ranch. We had several drinks while we were there and they were all very good; I thought the bar tender was very good. $75.00 per day plus drinks

Hotel: This luxury hotel has everything you need including a private air strip, RTVs, shooting, paddle boats, fishing, mountain biking, star gazing, nightly fire and s'mores, mountain tours, pool, and is meant to be a private retreat. The hotel has several artifact rooms that show the history of the land. The hotel does not have cell phone service, but they do have free wifi and offer a community office space where phones and computers are available. The living area is a great place to sit inside and relax and have a drink. You can bird watch on your patio.

I would love to say this place is perfect, but alas, it had a few faults.
- There were about 10-12 children staying at the hotel while we were visiting. The only negative thing about this was that the kids were running up and down the exterior courtyards until 11:30-12pm. We would have preferred the hotel enforce a curfew for the kids if their parents would not do so. The price tag of the resort does not permit this type of noise in my opinion.
- The mountain tour was very beautiful, but the tour was completed by the bar tender who does not normally do the tours and the cost was still the normal price of $75.00 per person. I would have preferred that they offer a discount since the normal tour guide was not available. We did have a great time on the tour seeing the sights of the ranch, but it was not narrated very well.

We drove into Marfa and completed a few art tours while we visited. Marfa is about a hour from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to all of those who want to experience ranch life, reflect, read, visit with friends and family, rest and relax. We will be returning one day.
Our two night total was about $950 with tip.

Room Tip: The rooms along the lake have an in-door siting area over looking the lake. The rooms along the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjack0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here with our grandson. The location, in the Texas Big Bend Country, is spectacular. The hotel is located in the restored and modernized ranch fort (ca. 1857) of Milton Faver, a cattle baron. You won't find a more unique location or resort anywhere and it has received rave reviews in national and international publications for over 20 years. We look forward to a return visit.

Now for some constructive criticism. Since you are 40 miles from the nearest restaurant most people take their meal plan. We paid $75 per day per adult for three meals. Breakfast has something of a rotating menu and you order as you come in off the menu of the day. Breakfast was always good. Lunch has no choice unless you have arranged in advance for allergies or vegetarian accommodation. Supper is the same with no choice offered. The food was consistently good but not outstanding. We both wished that we had been offered a choice of entree. Snapper Vera Cruz was the entree one night and, while good, I just had no desire for a fish dish that night. An always available beef or chicken dish would have been appreciated.

Our big gripe centered around the bar service and the wine at dinner. Mixed drinks are offered for an hour before dinner and are expensive at $10 a throw. That would not be so bad but they do not have a trained bartender and we never got a decent result on our order. Plus, you do not sign a chit and we had been over charged for cocktails on our bill. Wine, both red and white, is offered with dinner, which is served family style. There was no indication that the wine was not included in the food plan and we kept no track of our consumption. Our glasses were refilled regularly and the wine flowed freely as we conversed with our new friends each night. We were surprised to learn that we had been charged by the glass. Since glasses were regularly topped off I fail to understand how they came up with the number of glasses to charge. If I am going to be charged for drinks and wine, tell me up front and give me a ticket to sign!

Be forewarned that there is not a lot to do other than read, wait for the next meal, swim or hike. There is some very nice hiking if it is not summer with its high temperatures. We took the Humvee mountain tour and, while expensive, it was fun and worth doing once.

We will go back at a cooler time of the year as we love the Big Bend area of Texas. Next time we will back our own lunch foods in an ice chest and just do breakfast and dinner on the food plan. We will also have cocktails in our room or carry them to the bar area and will skip the wine at dinner; unless they get a trained bartender and have us sign for drinks and wine so we all know just what we are spending.

Finally, this is a working ranch and flies are everywhere. The dining area. while screened, is really open air and the little creatures buzz you during your meals.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cibolo Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cibolo Creek Ranch

Property: Cibolo Creek Ranch
Address: Box 44 HC 67, 33.4 miles South of Marfa, Texas, Marfa, TX 79843-9712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cibolo Creek Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 30,000 acre ranch, with the finest luxury boutique resort in West Texas and the Big Bend. Unique accommodations with fireplaces, spectacular views, gourmet food. Three restored adobe forts dating back to 1857. .Located 30 minutes south of Marfa and 30 minutes north of Presidio, Facilities include several museums, fitness center, spa, Media Center with a extensive library of movies and board games, horseback riding, ATV tours, Humvee tours, skeet and target shooting, hiking, mountain biking, bird watching and fishing. Near the Chinati Foundation, Judd Foundation and art galleries in Marfa. Big Bend National Park, Fort Davis, and McDonald Observatory within one to two hours driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cibolo Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cibolo Creek Ranch Hotel Marfa
Cibolo Creek Ranch Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing