We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truck dining brought to a new standard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Future Shark

Future Shark
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Marfa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truck dining brought to a new standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Food Sharks is located in the heart of Marfa and has set up with outdoor dining under cover. The food is generally Mediterranean but excellent and has been written up multiple times in magazines.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mebledsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere in Marfa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a great lunch at Future Shark. Chile verde on rice and beans. Hipster atmosphere, but not annoyingly so.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marfa, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in the West !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The food is superior and ever changing and the facility is just as super. I am the family 'hunter gatherer,' the forager and I know of what I speak. Best in the West.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great food and day lounge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

A great hangout for breakfast in Marfa! Cool, Judd-esque interiors. The food was really terrific for breakfast...and the mimosas and Lone Stars were a perfect compliment. If you are here to see the works of Donald Judd, then this is the perfect breakfast spot.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pafmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I would like to steal their recipes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

At first I was a little jaded--initially, the place struck me as very Williamsburg--but the food was outstanding, the service friendly, and the prices very reasonable. Being vegetarian in Texas has been challenging, so finding an establishment that made a cauliflower/pesto. feta panini, and made it really well, felt like a gift from above. My husband was very happy with his chicken soup, and we both really enjoyed the decor a lot. We did not drink anything but water, but the wine list looked very enticing as well. The restaurant is sort of like a cafeteria in that you bus your own table and can sit at large tables with people you don't know if you want to. There are also cafe tables outside which are fun because of the restaurant's central location.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Future Shark also viewed

 

Been to Future Shark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing