We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful escape in West Texas”
other travellers have booked this property
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior Downstairs Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior
Downstairs Living Room
Upstairs Bedroom
Balcony View
Kitchen facing entry
Exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Marfa, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sarah H
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape in West Texas”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin for 4.5 days and loved every minute of it. The views were amazing, the hammocks were delightful, and the drive coming up was perfect.
I highly recommend taking Pinto Canyon up if you drive a Jeep or a truck -- Make sure you've mapped out your route to and from the cabin before you head that way.

We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, porch, outdoor shower, grill
Liked least: N/A, loved it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelB49...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility, solitude, beautiful views, & close to hot springs”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The drive on Hwy. 2810 and on the unpaved roads was amazing and adventurous. The drive was a step back in time and a true get-a-way. I have a Subaru and had no problems on the back roads driving varying speeds of 30mph to 15mph on washed out areas. You don't need four-wheel drive, but may have to drive a little slower in a "normal" car. Don't be in a rush to make this incredible drive.
The cabin is a cabin, it is rustic, and the kitchen has everything you need to cook and BBQ outside. I could not get the oven to work. The water supply is rainwater and the pressure is adequate to wash dishes and shower. Don't expect the water pressure of a municipal system. Even though my wife was not excited about the outdoor hot shower, she did it because it was hot outside and even said she would go back to this cabin and put up with the outdoor shower. I loved the shower and didn't mind being outside because you are on the other side of nowhere. The deck has unbelievable panoramic views and gentle cross winds. We sat on the deck and listened to the drum rolls of distant thunderstorms. We had a storm that rolled over giving us brief small hail. Incredible! The power did go out for a couple of hours due to a distant storm. We used the land line to call Charlie for reassurance, so he called the power company for us. The power outage was a gift because we enjoyed the perfect quiet you don't get in many other places. This was definitely a Guys getaway before becoming a rental, but my wife love it.
Finally, even though Chinati Hot Springs is very close to the cabin you would not know it because of its location in a small canyon. This place is off the beat and path and plan to return.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and tranquility
Liked least: Probably not best for small children
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Thanks, glad you enjoyed the stay! Sorry about the oven not working, I'll get a new control knob for it. I'm working on increasing the water pressure so hope to improve it soon. Very grateful for your description of the road condition and how to manage it, Pinto Canyon Road is considered one of the most beautiful drives in Texas; thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best skies ever!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My dear friend Jo and I wanted a few days of solitude and we received it. Yes, the road is very rocky. And it is so worth it! The views are magnificent. Every day we were gifted with brilliant big skies of changing cloud formations and colors -- and the light cast onto the mountains -- all spectacular! The cabin is perfect -- private, quiet, safe. Loved the morning alarm clock of bird vespers! There was a nest on the upstairs deck with an attentive mom. Loved the tree branch beside the deck that brought different bird songs. Enjoyed the outside shower. It was a perfect holiday for us. Hope to visit again!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The skies, the solitude
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thanks for staying, glad you enjoy the desert environment as much as I do, hope you come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samfull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inconvenient relaxation”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is well equipped with all that you need to relax and escape the typical rush of every day life, however there were some drawbacks to the experience. The dirt/rock road to access the cabin was left out of the information given and, if you're in a sedan, can be time consuming (added 35 minutes to the trip there). The outdoor shower doesn't have much water pressure and doesn't do hot (or even warm) water. It was a bit of a tease. The views from the daybed are great and the movie reviews Charlie made up were very entertaining. There were some questionable reading materials scattered throughout the magazine stacks which caught us off guard. Overall a pleasant place to spend the weekend for us, just maybe take a high clearance vehicle if you're thinking about booking.

Date of stay: March 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Thanks for the review and the business! I would like to mention that the directions to the property clearly state the last 7 miles are a gravel road, I also have a friend who drives a low-clearance Prius and he has driven this route dozens of times without issue. In regards to the shower I am guessing that either you did not plug in the water heater or the dial on the water heater was turned down to low, it actually works quite well and on the highest setting can be too hot for comfort, sorry that you didn't figure that out. Many guests leave reading material and I rarely run an inventory of them, I apologize for that. If you specifically let me know what magazines were questionable I will remove them, thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cgengar
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice and peaceful”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is very nice and peaceful, I really like the art decorations. I love the view. It's Very remote, but is worth it and is worth the drive. If you want to get away from the world and just relax, this is the place. I loved my stay there, I would rent it again!!!!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onehuneyb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We were totally surprised how spacious and clean this house was. The previous pictures did not do it justice. The art work here was nicer than we saw in Marfa! we met Charlie who was such a book full of knowledge and very kind to share it all. He even helped us find a tire place after we got a flat @big bend state park. We ran over one of those shrubs he told us not to drive over. Totally relaxing place with indoor toilet. Plenty of comfy seats n fireplaces the view goes on forever. Couldn't believe what a nice place for the money. Thank you C.A

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.