We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive, but a cute and fun place”
Review of Thunderbird Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunderbird Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It'll give ya that rustic yet modern Marfa feel. It's cozy. They rent bikes. The staff was awesome. Everything in Marfa is nearby since it's a tiny town. We stayed on the second floor, which was great. But you might want a ground level floor if you have a lot to carry or if you don't want to take stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

First off... Don't stay in Marfa overnight unless you have a good reason. Honestly, you can do the art scene in 1/2 a day -- or less. The food in town is uniformly mediocre, but arrives with attitude. The Marfa lights will entertain you for about 3 minutes. Honestly, the best cultural experience was the Dairy Queen and colorful DJs at the local radio station.

For what it costs, I guess the Thunderbird is passable. I think it's pretty annoying that over my entire stay, the wireless internet didnt work, and the staff seemed pretty unconcerned with getting it operational. Not sure if it was actually even broken. One guy said he needed to find a few minutes to reset the router. 24 hours later, still not working.....

Other little things that are annoying include maids who knock on the door repeatedly, even after you've told them you don't want the room cleaned.... Climate control system is impossible to use and there aren't any directions in the room. Who wants to spend half an hour trying to figure out how to turn off the AC?? ... Another hotel pet peeve is when the staff doesn't reset the alarm clock in the room, so if the previous guest woke up at 430am -- guess what -- so will you... Also had a good amount of trouble with my blinds. The window faced a central corridor, so when the blinds decide they want to open themselves, guess what, you might be exposed to passersby.

Eh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank reb6234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed here August 2013 for a wedding in Marfa.

Positives: large bath, nice bed, cool mood lighting, plush towels, great bath products, good service, nice snack offerings in rooms, great local coffee (served in the lounge across the street from the rooms).

Negatives: trains come directly behind the hotel every 2 hours through the night and blow their whistles while they go through town, (Ear plugs are provided in all rooms - no joke!) EXPENSIVE $180/night for a motel room, Bugs were reported by other guests in our wedding party, Pool is a hole in the middle of the parking lot, minimal breakfast on the weekends.

If I were to revisit Marfa, I would stay at the Paisano Hotel in the town square.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chtrudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a sweet little motel very fitting to the Martha vibe. The beds were super comfortable. Love the decor. However, it's not quite up to the standard for the price. As compared to the San Jose in Austin, it fell short in grounds maintenance, bits of trash, on the grounds, at San Jose, full time staff is keeping up the grounds. Breakfast was nice but no OJ!!! Also a staff member and her child and their DOG were in the breakfast area, not cool, when I put my feet up when the dog came near me, she said with a snort, "we're pet friendly"!!! Also, staff needs to tighten up on bed making, daybed was sloppily made. Nice idea, we had a wonderful time anyway, saw the lights, a few things need improving to make this the perfect place to stay in Marfa...oh and the trains, but they would be heard from anywhere in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I subsequently learned that this hotel was once owned by the woman who owns Hotel San José in Austin and still owns El Cosmico in Marfa. The current owners of the Thunderbird have wisely retained her aesthetic, business values, and service. Love the retro design (you can rent a phonograph with records). Nice, spare room. Good hair and body products. Very comfortable bed. The location is fine. Right down the street from Cochineal, excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjmckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have read the reviews and a 1 star is it for me. Getting straight to the point this is worth $59.00 all day and night long and equal to a Motel 6. I had a stranger open my door with a key at 10 pm and at $130 plus a night I don't expect to see a stranger or mold and DO expect to see a COFFEE MAKER! The 1980s wall mounted Sony TV is right above the window unit and I bumped my head on its sharp corner powering up the AC. Not "cool" in this so called "cool" motel.

Room Tip: Stay in Alpine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PepeJoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My family and I loved this minimal, retro and hip oasis in the middle of West Texas. Great vintage decor. My children loved the vintage record player and vinyl that was available. Our room and the whole facility was well main inked and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
282 reviews
19.9 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#4 of 13 in Alpine
73 reviews
22 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
419 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
574 reviews
23.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Hotel

Address: 600 West San Antonio, Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range: £59 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing