We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfy, cool motel-chic and my roadtrip's best bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thunderbird Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
los angeles, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“comfy, cool motel-chic and my roadtrip's best bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2006

Most visitors to Marfa go for the art, and this "boutique motel" rewards that quest to live as a Juddian might.
Super thoughtful details that make room for mindfulness:
* an eclectic CD library (gratefully received since I was tired of soundtracking my silent drive to the town with my own singing and interior dialogues)
* manual typewriters to peck out pithy Hemingway correspondence back to the unfortunate homebodies you left behind
* really nice, chill front desk folks (boutique hotel without the attitude, thank God.)
* dimmer switches for the pendant lights by the bed (all that extra bedside surface space for your glasses and reading)
* *really* yummy toiletries by Malin+Goetz (like the bergamot shampoo)
* reasonably, comparably priced with the town's most established hotel.
* and best of all, the amazingly comfortable bed. I had time to take in this desert mini-revelation the next night when the Tbird was booked solid for Fort Davis' bike race, and I had to sleep at a bona fide motel on Marfa's outskirts between scratchy sheets, on a saggy mattress, under a moth-worn and somewhat suspect coverlet, and at war with wimpy pillows.

You're on vacation, and you've gone so far... may as well live it up.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank elaina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    56
    37
    21
    18
See reviews for
21
69
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, north carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2006

I loved the thunderbird. No question that it compares to any boutique hotel in NYC. The staff made the trip for us though. Very helpful, kind, and went out of their way to make sure that we relaxed and slowed down to Marfa time.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa27608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2006

Had a fantastic stay. This hotel matches any boutique hotel I have stayed in NY which charges triple what this hotel charges.

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and the staff were cool and without attitude....

The ipod home system in the room was great.

We will definately be back.......

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2006

This hotel is one of my favorite hotels in the world! It is charming, stylish, and has the most accomidating lovely staff. I highly recommend staying at Thunderbird.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaNYC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2005

The Thunderbird Hotel is a truly unique property. Situated in the middle of Marfa, it manages to blend into the environment of the small West Texas town, while simultaneously standing out through the simplicity of its minimalist design. In other words, it's pretty cool!

The rooms feature simple, minimalist decor. Chairs were big on style but not quite as comfortable to actually sit in, but that was offset by a very comfortable bed. The free high-speed internet worked well; it's not wireless so bring a cable with you. You would expect a hip hotel to offer hip toiletries, and the Thunderbird delivers, offering products from Malin+Goetz, a New York-based apothecary; the remainders mangaed to make their way home in my travel bag! The staff was very friendly and helpful, offering good suggestions on local sights and restaurants.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped with native Texas plants and shrubs. The pool area looked very atractive and well-maintained, although it was too cold to go swimming during our visit. Several guests appeared to enjoy hanging out next to an outdoor fireplace; it's a good place to sit back with a bottle of wine on a cool evening and visit.

My only complaint is that the hotel is located very close to the main rail line which goes through town. (To be fair, Marfa is such a small town that you can't really go anywhere without being near the rail line). In any case, during our stay, loud freight trains seemed to roll through in the wee hours of the morning, horns blaring. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to bring a pair of earplugs.

It would also be nice if the hotel had a bar or cafe; they appeared to be working on just that during our stay, as there was a sign in an adjacent building indicating they were applying for a liquor license. That will be a welcome addition to the property, although there are plenty of good restaurants in Marfa to tide you over in the meantime.

Aside from that, this is a truly unique property; it's a refreshing alternative to the mostly anonymous rooms at big chain hotels/motels, and it helps make you feel truly at home in West Texas. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jtaylordfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2005

The Thunderbird Hotel is a renovated motel that was once an old motor inn.
It's decor is unique, sort of a modern art style. Our room had a platform bed,
a painted concrete floor with an animal skin rug and a funky chair. All rooms have a outdoor sitting area. The pool area is very nice with very comfortable seating. There is also an outdoor fireplace area. Overall, the Thunderbird is very charming, although the room was small and not very comfortable due to the funky decor, although the mattress was really nice. The room was very clean with some nice touches with the amenities. This was a fun place to stay and not your ordinary motel. There are two sections to this motel, a one-story and a two-story section. I would suggest asking for a room in the one-story section or a room on the second floor of the two-story section since you can hear every footstep of the people above you if you are on the first floor of the one-story section.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 2together78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2005

The Thunderbird was a great place stay, and in the West Texas/Big Bend region its hard to find a better bargain than the Thunderbird. Recently remodeled, the Thunderbird had small but comfortable rooms and a gorgeous exterior. DVD players are in every room, and the front desk has a library of DVDs one can check out during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ACWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22.0 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
19.8 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Hotel

Property: Thunderbird Hotel
Address: 600 West San Antonio, Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Marfa, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing