We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks”
Review of Riata Inn Marfa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riata Inn Marfa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The owners were very friendly, but for the price that we paid, we would expect hot water for our showers. It was lukewarm at best. Wi-fi didn't work in the room, but it did work in the lobby. This was attributed to an unusually windy day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene and Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Riata Inn Marfa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Adequate lodging for the price. Could have used a coffee maker, but coffee was available in the office during their open hours. Owner was very helpful with advise on what to see and do. This was my second time to stay here with consistent service each trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ouachitadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The ads are correct that the rooms are large and clean. As long as you do not expect a lot, then no problem. I had read previous reviews on the hotel and they were correct there were no blow dryers or irons in the rooms. There are also no coffee makers either. Since this hotel does not offer any type of breakfast options, a coffee maker would be nice. We were at this hotel three days. One day the office was open and coffee was available there. If the office is not open, then you have to drive to the quickie mart down the street for coffee. You might also consider taking a blanket with you if you travel in the winter. The bed had only a sheet and a well worn bed spread. The air is very dry here during the winter. If you turn up the heater, the air gets dryer. I finally placed a cup of water on the window still to put more moisture in the air since there was a blanket shortage. You might also consider taking your own towels. Our reservation was for three people. When we checked in there were only two towels and one wash cloth in the room. We had to go to the office to ask for more towels. We got one more towel and no wash cloth. The room was serviced every day, beds made and towels replaced. Some days we had three towels, other days we had one. The carpets were well worn and stained in our room. The refrigerator and microwave was handy as the restaurants are very expensive! Just an FYI, get up early or there will be no hot water for a shower. If you stay here, the cost is the most reasonable in Marfa,but just do not expect a lot of extras that most hotels offer.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank 716gen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Riata was great - very clean and spacious rooms and much better price-wise than anywhere else in Marfa. Despite a bit of a muddle up over the booking, Rick the manager was really friendly and helpful. My bag was stolen with the room keys in it and he was very patient about being woken up in the middle of the night and still managed to smile the next morning! Definitely would recommend staying here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ddefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As previous reviewers said, Rick is super nice and the rate was good by Marfa stadards. Our car broke down so we couldn't go to Ft. Davis where we had reservations.... only the Rock Hudson suite was available at the Paisano, otherwise that would have been my choice. Everyone we met was super nice, Juan who gave us a lift to the motel, Hector who fixed our car. Beautiful sunrise. Bathtub was clogged, sink was cracked and yellowed, carpet was filthy....but the microwave and frig in the room was a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank lagunahillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Rick, the hotel manager, is super awesome and cool! Helpful, yeah, but nice and good to talk to, even about non-hotel-room-renting-business. We were arriving late and they close at 10pm but we called and he stayed late for us. Our last night there, he offered us his computer to print boarding passes for going back home. This is really a great place to stay in Marfa. Large room, clean large beds and the mini fridge that came in handy. Cable is included along with free wi-fi. Also, the price was by far the best we found. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtEndBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived at the Riata Inn about 5pm and no one was there, literally there was no staff anywhere in sight. The front door was locked. There was NO sign on the door, the laundry room door was open, and 2 room keys were sitting in the window ledge. My husband and I tried to call the office got voicemail. Walked around thinking maybe they were on the property. After about 15 min when we began to wonder if something bad had happened to them, someone pulled up in a car and checked us into our room. The room was not that well kept, you could see on the floor where the vacuum was never pushed further then the edge of the bed and underneath was dusty and dirty. The smoke detector was missing, The room was set up with a King bed and a fold out couch, after realizing that there were no sheets on the fold out couch for the kids, we headed back up to the office... And again no one was there and the door was locked... We left a message on the voicemail. We went to eat and see the Marfa lights. Thought when we came back there would sheets. No such luck, upon return we has to ask for sheets again. Just about the time we get settled our sleep was disturbed by the employee and her friends who were now hanging out by the pool (which was green) and drinking until after mid night.... Finally to top things off when we checked out the next morning there was a sign saying they had stepped away. We left our key on the ledge as it appeared prior guest had and left. Alpine appeared to have a lot more selection for rooms my Advice.....keep driving.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGirl1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alpine Southeast
0.0 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#1 of 13 in Alpine
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gage Hotel
Gage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Marathon
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riata Inn Marfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riata Inn Marfa

Address: 1500 E. Highway 90, Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Riata Inn where we offer the biggest rooms from a hotel in Marfa TX! Being the closest property to the Marfa Lights observation and viewing area, (less than 7 miles away) we are minutes away from much of the fun excitement Marfa Texas has to offer. The hotel is also advantageously located near Marfa's McDonald Observatory, Chinati Foundation, and the Fort Davis State Park. Also, stay with us to enjoy the largest rooms around when you visit Big Bend State Park and Big Bend National Park!. "Great product, Great Price, and a put the Customer first style of service." We are confident that your stay at the Riata Inn Hotel Marfa Texas will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riata Inn Marfa Hotel Marfa
Riata Hotel Marfa
Riata Inn Marfa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing