We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need Updating”
Review of Riata Inn Marfa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marfa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riata Inn Marfa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
199 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rooms need Updating”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Comfortable beds, good heater,air cond. and an okay shower. Friendly staff are a plus but the vanity counter was dirty and the bath fixtures were coming off the wall. Toilet was also loose from the floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
33
25
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pescadero, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was a nice hotel at an affordable price. It's close to all the big attractions in town, the judd museum and a host of smaller galleries. The room was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Plenty of parking by your room.

Room Tip: My room was on the east side of the property. So that gave me a beautiful view of the sunrise in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahoo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The owners were very friendly, but for the price that we paid, we would expect hot water for our showers. It was lukewarm at best. Wi-fi didn't work in the room, but it did work in the lobby. This was attributed to an unusually windy day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene and Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marfa hotels

Camden, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Adequate lodging for the price. Could have used a coffee maker, but coffee was available in the office during their open hours. Owner was very helpful with advise on what to see and do. This was my second time to stay here with consistent service each trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ouachitadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

The ads are correct that the rooms are large and clean. As long as you do not expect a lot, then no problem. I had read previous reviews on the hotel and they were correct there were no blow dryers or irons in the rooms. There are also no coffee makers either. Since this hotel does not offer any type of breakfast options, a coffee maker would be nice. We were at this hotel three days. One day the office was open and coffee was available there. If the office is not open, then you have to drive to the quickie mart down the street for coffee. You might also consider taking a blanket with you if you travel in the winter. The bed had only a sheet and a well worn bed spread. The air is very dry here during the winter. If you turn up the heater, the air gets dryer. I finally placed a cup of water on the window still to put more moisture in the air since there was a blanket shortage. You might also consider taking your own towels. Our reservation was for three people. When we checked in there were only two towels and one wash cloth in the room. We had to go to the office to ask for more towels. We got one more towel and no wash cloth. The room was serviced every day, beds made and towels replaced. Some days we had three towels, other days we had one. The carpets were well worn and stained in our room. The refrigerator and microwave was handy as the restaurants are very expensive! Just an FYI, get up early or there will be no hot water for a shower. If you stay here, the cost is the most reasonable in Marfa,but just do not expect a lot of extras that most hotels offer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 716gen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Riata was great - very clean and spacious rooms and much better price-wise than anywhere else in Marfa. Despite a bit of a muddle up over the booking, Rick the manager was really friendly and helpful. My bag was stolen with the room keys in it and he was very patient about being woken up in the middle of the night and still managed to smile the next morning! Definitely would recommend staying here!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ddefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oc, ca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

As previous reviewers said, Rick is super nice and the rate was good by Marfa stadards. Our car broke down so we couldn't go to Ft. Davis where we had reservations.... only the Rock Hudson suite was available at the Paisano, otherwise that would have been my choice. Everyone we met was super nice, Juan who gave us a lift to the motel, Hector who fixed our car. Beautiful sunrise. Bathtub was clogged, sink was cracked and yellowed, carpet was filthy....but the microwave and frig in the room was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank lagunahillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marfa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#1 of 4 in Marfa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Maverick Inn
The Maverick Inn
#3 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holland Hotel
Holland Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 13 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Alpine
Hampton Inn Alpine
#1 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
Quarter Circle 7 Hotel
#5 of 13 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riata Inn Marfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riata Inn Marfa

Property: Riata Inn Marfa
Address: 1500 E. Highway 90, Marfa, TX 79843
Region: United States > Texas > Marfa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Marfa
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Riata Inn where we offer the biggest rooms from a hotel in Marfa TX! Being the closest property to the Marfa Lights observation and viewing area, (less than 7 miles away) we are minutes away from much of the fun excitement Marfa Texas has to offer. The hotel is also advantageously located near Marfa's McDonald Observatory, Chinati Foundation, and the Fort Davis State Park. Also, stay with us to enjoy the largest rooms around when you visit Big Bend State Park and Big Bend National Park!. "Great product, Great Price, and a put the Customer first style of service." We are confident that your stay at the Riata Inn Hotel Marfa Texas will be a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riata Inn Marfa Hotel Marfa
Riata Hotel Marfa
Riata Inn Marfa Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing