We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time at the restaurant.”

Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in Marshall
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Texas Cuisine with a Continental Flare. Local grown greens, home baked bread and pastries, Certified Angus Beef and fresh fish daily. Join us for dinner and enjoy the best outdoor music venue within walking distance of the Historic Harrison County Courthouse. Blue Frog now lives in the same space with Charlies Backyard Bar to bring the best food, best music and best beverage in town!
Great Bend, Kansas
1 review
“Great time at the restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I would consider the frog rest. It had wonderful shrimp there, good service, and they let you bring in your own wine or what ever mix drink you want. They will chill it for you and later serve it to you. Thanks frog rest. to a wonderful evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good evening of food and live entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

So glad I caught an evening of music to go along with the enjoyable food. The crab cakes were marvelous. Service was delightful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelerJay630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Found ourselves in Marshall one evening around christmas. Walked the streets and then found The Blue Frog Grill. Charming location right across from the courthouse on the square. The service was terrific, the Ribeye melted in your mouth and was full of flavor. The crab cakes were outstanding, no fishyness, nice mild spices that worked well with the crab. Chef stopped by the table and inquired about our meal (a nice touch). They have live music a couple nights a week to add to the ambiance. BYOB is no problem as there is a wonderful little wine shop 5 doors north for the Frog with a healthy selection of Texas wines.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonpolliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch on the Square”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you have ever worked in Marshall on the square, you know that your lunch options are limited on the square. We dine at the Blue Frog occasionally out of convenience but after today we will not be doing that any longer. When we got to the restaurant, there were only 2 other tables with customers so we made 3. We had a party of 7 but with so few other tables you would not expect this to be an issue. We ordered our drinks and our waiter was a nice young man and explained the specials to us. Our order was not complex at all. One hamburger with sweet potato chips, two chicken fried steak sandwiches with fries, one half BLT and a half house salad, one club sandwich with sweet potato chips,one cobb salad with sweet chips and one salad (not sure of type). We asked the waiter after 45 minutes when we could expect to get our meal and he informed us they were preparing them. The one salad I am unsure of left because she had to return to work. We waited at least another 15 minutes before our meal finally came out. The two orders with fries had to ask for the fries. The food was not even warm. The customer with the club took two bites of his meal and asked for his check. He left without finishing his meal and said it was not good at all. The lettuce in the salads was wilted and mushy from sitting too long and the cobb salad with the sweet chips as a side cost over $18.00 so she was very upset. The bacon on the BLT was burnt. We paid and told our waiter we were unhappy but he really had nothing to say. Altogether the experience was very bad. The convenience of the location is no longer worth the headache of a bad meal. It is very unfortunate but for as much as the food cost at this restaurant you expect better than what we received. If you only upset 1 out of 7 its is a success but when 7 out of 7 leave upset, it is not a good situation at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better experience than before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I've eaten at The Blue Frog a couple of times and thought it only mediocre I the past but had a nice experience for dinner recently. Had Tuscan chicken and the flavors were nice but the chicken was tough. However the garlic polenta (okay, they called them grits) was amazing. Could have eaten a plateful happily. The buttermilk chocolate cake was one of the best desserts I've had. And our server Kelsey was a joy. Although she said she was new and maybe not as familiar with the menu, she had the skills of a very gracious server and helped make the meal a joy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank radley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering also viewed

 

Been to Blue Frog Restaurant and Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing