We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ chicken in town”

Porky's Smokehouse and Grill
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best BBQ chicken in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

As you might expect, the meat is the strong point at this restaurant. The chicken in particular is excellent, as are the ribs and the catfish. To be honest, I've never gotten bad meat here.

Considerably less attention is paid to the sides, however. I can't promise that the slaw, potato salad, and the beans are purchased generically, but that's definitely the sense you get from them.

I still love this place, and the value is great, but come for the meat, and if you don't expect a ton out of the sides, you'll be happy. It is also the only BBQ in Marshall with convenient eat-in seating, so is a great choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hemingway155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darby, Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The " Little hole in the wall " places are usually the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

After a day on the interstate this place recommended by the front desk staff at the hotel I stayed at for the night. I got the pulled pork dinner with beans and cole slaw and was not disappointed in the least. The pulled pork was not all gristle and dry ( like some other places I have been ) the cole slaw was very good ( not as good as mom's but hey who's is? ) and the beans were excellent. The waitress's there are GREAT ( they make you feel like a local and right at home ) Next time I am going through the area I will make sure I stop in here and get a full belly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to Pulled Pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

A good knockoff of Neely’s Brown Pig. Maybe the sandwich is just a little larger. I eat there most of the time when I travel to Marshall.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hometown Bar B Que At It's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

It's a cozy, and wonderful atmosphere that you enter. Seat yourself wherever you want, and try the sweet tea! It's delicious, and they have more than bbq for the people that may be in your party and don't want it. The Catfish is delicious as well!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly servers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

The girls that were serving were very nice. They were also very helpful when I asked for directions. They went out of their way to help. The food was ok. The BBQ sauce was the only disappointment

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prnnykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porky's Smokehouse and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Porky's Smokehouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing