We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Neely’s Brown Pig
Ranked #15 of 74 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Waskom, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Neeley's is not your regular BBQ joint. The best thing on the menu is the Brown Pig, which I grew up on. It's been here for 85 years, so they must be doing something right!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilmer, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall good”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Went several years ago and loved it so decided to try again while in town serving on jury. The place hadn't changed much. Old time café, clean areas and friendly staff. Drinks were good and French fries hot. The brown pig ( pork sandwich) was tiny but tasty...g
ot out for around 8 bucks with portion just right for lunch. Lots of regulars eating so kinda cool and nostalgic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROADHOTMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A really good local landmark”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When traveling through Marshall you have to take time to grab yourself a "Brown Pig" barbecue sandwich! It was definitely a different kind of barbecue than I have ever had before but well worth the try. The fries are great as well! The service was excellent and while we meeting old friends there they didn't mind us taking up space for over an hour. That goes along way in my book!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SEKY214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hometown standard”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been meaning to write this for a while. This has been a staple in the community for over 85 years I believe. My brother worked at their location on S. Washington in the 50's and I remember it fondly. They have had several different locations over the years and the one now is just down the road from the original. I stopped in on a motorcycle trip in August 2013. While it may never be featured on "Diners, Drive-in, and Dives", it is nice to relive days of yesteryear. The "Brown Pig" is just how I remember it. There were some old yearbooks from the 50's that had my brother and sister in them and it was great to sit and reminisce. My father was one of the most well known people in the community in the 50's, 60's, 70's and 80's and they all had known him, which added to the nostalgia. What a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfied my craving for a brown pig”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Neely's is an institution in Marshall. Nothing fancy but a great place to have a brown pig sandwich (and fries and bean and coleslaw). It is always on my "to do" list when I visit my home town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Us00041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neely’s Brown Pig also viewed

 

Been to Neely’s Brown Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing