We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real DUMP, walked in walked out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Marshall
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real DUMP, walked in walked out”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I prepaid over a travel site by my office, when I arrived it took me 2 minutes to get turn around and get a refund and go down the street. Dirty stained cealing/walls, old/musty smell, rock hard bed, They dont care about the place. Stay away, for the same price, 2 blocks down 3 other hotels that will put it to shame

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
5
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

It's a budget hotel. There's a microwave and fridge which we used. It's older--our room clearly had some water and other assorted damage from the past, but oh well. It was relatively clean. The heating and AC worked--we used both due to time of year. There's some breakfast food--cereal, bagels, pastries. We drove around the I-20/59 area and checked with three hotels. This had the best price and looked pretty okay from the outside. It served our purposes well: as a jumping off point for visiting Caddo Lake and Jefferson. We didn't leave our valuables/important stuff--just in case. People who worked there were nice.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieP6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Nice place to stay. Always had towels, but housekeeping needs help in making beds. Room was cleaned daily. The only problem, someone took a valuable necklace. Someone else other than us who had entry to our room took it.?? Housekeeping????? It was hidden to where the individual had to literally go through our stuff to find it. Keep your valuables locked up if you go there.!!!!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank MelnMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Stayed at this hotel last weekend and it was much as I expected it to be - very basic.

I had no problems concerning the cleanliness of this facility - I even walked across the carpet wearing white socks and had no dirt transfer to the socks. The bath, sink and toilet were all clean with no stains. The heating and air conditioning both worked well (this being Texas in March, both were needed over the 2 nights I was there).

My only negative comment is in regards to the other guests. There appeared to be a party going on the first night, with the resulting loud music with heavy bass and the debris of beer cans in the parking lot the next morning. The 3 low-rider cars parked in the parking lot apparently generated much admiration, as their car alarms went off numerous times.

All in all, it was a fair price for a reasonable room. If you are expecting the Ritz, this ain't it, but if you need a clean, basic room for a cheap price, this'll do.

  • Liked — Price and convenient location
  • Disliked — Inconsiderate guests
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Walton Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2008

I booked this through Choice Hotels 1-800 number while driving. I would sleep in my car before staying at this hotel again. The carpet was absolutely FILTHY!!! The carpet had a sticky, gamy, nasty look and feel to it. My socks stuck to the carpet and turned brown after walking from the bed to the bathroom. The bedding (sheets/blankets) looked 20 years old and WAY past their usefulness. They were worn and beaded up all over and very unfortable. I'd give management a zero because the carpet. My question is: If the carpet is this OBVIOUSLY NASTY, what else is nasty??? Do they use the sheets and blankets without washing them? I'D NEVER STAY IN THE ECONOLODGE AGAIN!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marshall hotels

Little Rock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2008

We drove in without a reservation. Requested a non-smoking room. The room smelled faintly of cigar. The water pressure produced a gentle trickle even after I fiddled with the shower head. The pool didn't look so good--of course it's January.
The heating unit provided wonderful heat after driving in cold East Texas in January. The beds were nicely firm without that mushy feel. If we go through Marshall again, we will try another motel.

  • Liked — Convenience, firm beds, heating worked well
  • Disliked — Faint smell of cigar, trickle from shower head
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arkansawtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi in Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

We have stayed at other Econolodges and fully understand the level to expect. Noting that these are cheaper hotels I wasn't expecting too much.

Pros: Handy to the I-20 and some good resturants (can recommend the Italian resturant attached to the Days Inn across the I-20). Friendly desk person. Relatively quiet. Reasonably clean room. Microwave and fridge in room

Cons: The linen.... Towels too small and thin and were stained. Worst aspect was that the bed sheets were too small and didn't stay tucked in. Bedding rode up on both beds leaving us sleeping on an uncomfortable wedge of bedding and the bare mattress. We were glad we only stayed one night.

Complimentary breakfast was a little basic, however, quite accceptable for the price.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marshall hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Marshall
Days Inn & Suites Marshall
#11 of 14 in Marshall
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marshall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Marshall
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Marshall
Hampton Inn Marshall
#2 of 14 in Marshall
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marshall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Marshall

Property: Econo Lodge Marshall
Address: 5904 East End Blvd. South, I-20 & US 59, Marshall, TX 75672
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Marshall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Marshall 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing