We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B for family”

Stanley-Fisher House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matagorda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stanley-Fisher House
Ranked #2 of 3 Matagorda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a very pleasant stay this summer at this nice B&B in the quiet beach town of Matagorda. Although the B&B is not on the island/beach, it's only aboutr 5 minutes over the bridge to the beach. We have family in the area so it's nice to have a place to stay when there's not enough room for everyone. Peggy and her husband were really nice hosts and they seem accustomed to having children visit, and even had sand toys for our kids to take to the beach. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a Queen bed plus two twins, so it was great for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2011

We went to the Stanley Fisher house for our 11th Anniversary. Our trip started with a very warm welcome from Peggy Stanley who made us feel we were family right off. She gave us a tour of the home and the history with was informative and entertaining. The house was beautiful and you could feel the pride the Stanley's take in it in every room and in the tour. We had a lovely note and wine in our room wishing us a happy anniversary, along with information on things to do in the area. Because the weather was agreeable, the AC was off and the windows and doors open. There was a lovely breeze throughout the home. We went to the beach and then visited the town. There are several interesting shops and we stopped at a small bar called Matagordaville, where we were made very welcome by both the woman who owns the bar and the customers inside. We chose to eat at a place called Snappers. Grilled shrimp and talapia were our choice of dinner and was good. Back at the house, we wandered around reading the articles on the walls, and checking stuff out. We watched some TV and then took a nap. The evening was spent with Rick Stanley and Peggy's brother watching a movie and visiting. We slept well in a very comfortable bed and never heard the other guests or our hosts moving around at all. Breakfast was wonderful and we had choices of when we wanted breakfast and where. The Stanleys somehow made us feel like family while making us feel like pampered guests, that combined with the quiet yet welcoming feel of Matagorda made for a very peaceful and relaxing weekend. If you like history and you like the beach, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Best is 2, then 3, then 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MicheleHoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Absolutely a place to recommend.Wish we could have stayed twice as long. Very openhearted and warm owners of this B&B (the house was built in 1832!). Breakfast in the morning was delightfully delicious. Everything home baked with fresh ingredients.Very tasteful interior. Everything is extremely clean! Every corner of the house "sends" you a message that you are being well taken care of.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Efra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

This is a charming piece of Texas history and a wonderful place to stay! This house is one of the first houses built in Texas (back when Texas was part of Mexico). It has a cozy feel. The owners were very accommodating. The husband is a Viet Nam Marine Veteran who proudly showed our son his Civil War collectables and gave him some words of wisdom the Marine way as well (When our son stubbed his toe, "Pain is weakness leaving the body!"- this said as our host was wearing an apron and bringing us muffins.)
It really did feel like we were part of a loving family and I can't wait to go back.

The nearby beach is the best shell beach I have ever been on and we collected pounds of beautiful shells to bring back home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank expertoviajero1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stanley-Fisher House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley-Fisher House

Address: 107 St. Mary St., Matagorda, TX 77457
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Matagorda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matagorda
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing