We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for an extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for an extended stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a nice well maintained hotel for the business traveler that lives up to the Hilton brand. Check in was smooth and easy with convenient access to the airport. The rooms are clean and the service is exceptional. A great breakfast and a nice dinner, which was a surprise. They will even tap you a beer. Not really anything fancy. It made my week in McAllen, Texas a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flowerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    51
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
79
21
10
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Comfortable accommodations, good food, excellent staff. I would recommend to other traveling guests and look forward to returning to this hotel in the future. This particle hotel has a lot of activity so please make sure that you book your stay in advance. Otherwise accommodations may be sold out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
On behalf of Homewood Suites McAllen Texas, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If you take the time to read my other TripAdvisor reviews you will see that I am pretty easy to please and I don't complain much. We have been HH members since 1999 and love Homewood Suites, but this hotel was not the norm for Hilton. I was shocked and have included photos. All was fine until we left the elevator on the 4th floor. There was a sour milk smell and it just got worse as we walked to our room. When I got in the room the smell was over powering. I bought some Clorox wipes thinking that maybe it was the room fridge that smelled. Day one we just put up with it, I did ask a few others at the hotel if they thought it smelled one said he could not tell and another agreed with me. My son that was with me noticed the smell the 2nd day of our stay, I had started to get a sore throat and stuffy nose while staying there. I began to look for the source of the odor again (we were visiting my mom in the hospital in McAllen so we just decided to keep the hotel and not waste time moving to another one). I closed the bedroom door and found mold on the wall, I wiped it off, but the next day it was there again. Then I looked up at the ceiling and there was mold around the smoke detector, and mold in one of the corners of the room. As we were walking to breakfast that 2nd day, I saw mold along the edges of the ceiling in the hall way by the elevator also. I am wondering now since we were on the 4th floor, that maybe there was some unknown storm damage on the roof and it had leaked. We will stay at Homewood Suites again, but not ever again at this location. There was a line at the front desk for checkout so we just left our keys and took off for the Drury Suites in McAllen and had a much better week there. This was so unlike a Hiltion property. I hope that they will check out room 416 along with the other rooms on that floor and the roof area. Otherwise the 1st floor was fine (we did not check out the 2nd or 3rd floor), breakfast was good, the ladies taking care of the breakfast area were super great! They did not speak a lot of English, but were always friendly and would try to chat with my son. Get rid of the mold and odor and this will be a great place.

Room Tip: Before you pay for your room ask to see it first to make sure that they have cleaned up the mold iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Kindest regrards,
Roxanne Pequeno
roxanne.pequeno@hilton.com
956-630-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After a very long travel day where nothing seemed to go right, I arrived at this hotel. I made my reservation at least two weeks ago. I am an HHoners member. I am not hard to please but I do always request a higher floor room away from the elevator. When I checked in I was given room 102. First floor directly next to the elevator. I did manage to get a room further from the elevator but still on the first floor. Also, front desk clerk said almost nothing to me. No explanation of breakfast, evening meal, WiFi etc. Not the Hilton experience I am used to. I will say the hotel itself and room is very pretty. Will update after I've stayed if I have a more positive experience. So far I am one unhappy Honors member!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KerryD984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We greatly apologize for the unnecessary frustrations you experienced. Our goal is to meet and exceed every guests' expectations and we are terribly sorry we failed to do so on your visit. We would love the chance to further discuss your stay. Please feel free to reach out to us at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed in this property a number of times and always had a good exerience for the price but the last time I stayed in room 102. It was noisy, as it was next to the maintenance room and elevator. ALl night long equipment and the elevator made noise loud enough to hear directly in the sleeping area of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the unfortunate experience you had while staying with us, and I sincerely apologize for the noisy disturbances you encountered during your visit.
Your feedback is important to us and we’re sorry that you were unhappy with the way this issue was handled. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value your business and do hope you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Clean, well maintained, Good parking lot size and well illuminated at night.
We got one of the studio rooms and it was pretty spacious. Fridge was great, All the kitchenette was clean and well equippped.

If you are travelling with kids its great because everyone will get plenty of room and you can store or prepare late dinners for them in your room.

Service is kinda rude, I read about this before but decided to give it a try.
Cleaning service is constantly urging you to leave the room on your check out day from more than 2 hours in advance your check out.

There's no late check out so remember that while being here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akenathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homewood1mcallen, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback for your most recent stay with us. I'm glad you were comfortable during your stay and I apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I have taken your feedback and have share it with all of our staff to ensure that our guest services be a positive experience to all of our future guests. Again thank you and we look forward to better serving you during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Upon checking in until I checked out, I had no issues or concerns with this hotel. This was my first stay at this location, but expected nothing less from a Hilton property. Staff was great and always greeted me with a smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham McAllen
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAllen Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
0.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen
Address: 3801 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in McAllen
#5 Family Hotel in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from McAllen Miller International Airport and in easy reach of downtown McAllen, the Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen, Texas hotel is your home from home. However long you're staying for, you'll like the freedom your spacious suite offers. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast served daily and evening dinner and drinks, served every evening Monday to Thursday. With a private bedroom and a separate living room with fold-out sofa bed, you have the space to get down to some work or keep all the family happy. Catch the big game on one of the two flatscreen TVs or put on your favorite TV show. Use the complimentary WiFi access to check your emails and surf the web. With a fully equipped kitchen, making a meal or a snack just the way you like it is easy. Work-out in the modern fitness center or swim some laps under the warm Texan sun in the outdoor pool. Challenge family or friends to a quick game on the basketball court. If you're looking for a venue for your meeting or celebration in McAllen, this hotel is a perfect choice. Two function rooms have space for up to 60 attendees. It's all you need to make yourself at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing