We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent place too stay.. Very clean, professional, and great location. Staff goes above and beyond too accomadate you and your needs. Definitely would recommend too anyone. I accidentally left my IPad while staying here and the Staff went out of there way too ship my $600 IPad back too my residence in Tennessee. I am very grateful for there generosity!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

After many Super 8 stays in many states, this one is easily the cleanest, most comfortable. Even the bed sheets seem to be neatly ironed-- just like grandmother used to do!

Thanks for a Super stay! Booked here again for a stay later in the year. Great AARP rates, too.

Room Tip: Front desk personnel want to satisfy preferences. Ask and give them that opportunity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jrdtsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was so clean and I love how all the rooms had tile floors and granite tops all over. It was really clean and had friendly service, Johnny was great and I wish I had the names of the man and woman that checked us in the night before because they were awesome too. It was refreshing to walk into a smoking room and it smelled so good. We are smokers and it amazed us how clean the room was. Will definitely be back if and when we come back to McAllen. And the prices are amazing! $69.00!!!! No body can beat that for such a great room!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpea2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Clean, good service; tidy, good breakfast and support staff very kind. The manager, Mr. Johnny Cham, has a good reception and organization of the staff. The breakfast has variety and quality, ans the server lady was also very kind. Has also a laundry and dry machine.

Room Tip: The first-floor apartments Sao for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What an excellent experience! From the time we checked in to breakfast time, our entire experience was amazing. I checked out the prices on the internet but I decided to drive to the location and the person on staff was able to give me a price $10 cheaper than what I found on the internet. The rooms are a very good size considering it's a motel. There were two queen size beds, a full sized couch, a granite top table, two sets of drawers, a refrigerator, microwave, countertop bathroom, tiled floor and an air conditioner that worked. The room was very clean and smelled good. There floor was tiled instead of carpeted, which was a nice change. The location is freeway close and there is a mall nearby.

When we went to breakfast, there was a very nice lady in charge of cleaning up and replenishing the food. She went out of her way to prepare waffles and toast for us and made us feel very welcomed. She was so nice that we decided to give her a tip. If you see her, please show your appreciation for her excellent work by giving her a tip as well.

When in McAllen, I will definitely stay at Super 8 again. Excellent management, excellent rooms, excellent service, very good prices...what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closest to the freeway as it can get a bit noisy. Try to get the rooms closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FitTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and kids were down in McAllen a few weeks ago and this place was plenty big enough for all 5 of them. My wife had been on a super long road trip over night and I called Johnny in the morning to see if they could check in early since they would arrive around 9:30. This was no problem at all and he was very accommodating. My wife also mentioned that Johnny was extremely pleasant and helpful. The location was great too. The only drawback, no pool, but the manager arranged it so the kids could swim at the other nearby Super 8 pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Enjoyed the friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Very nice room for the price. Manager (Johnny) was more than helpful during and after our stay. Advice on attractions and restaurants nearby cheerfully offered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.3 mi away
Studio 6 McAllen
Studio 6 McAllen
#24 of 40 in McAllen
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#28 of 40 in McAllen
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites McAllen
Comfort Suites McAllen
#22 of 40 in McAllen
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
0.8 mi away
Best Western Rose Garden Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown

Address: 1505 S 9th St, Exp 83 West and 9th Street, McAllen, TX 78501-2903 (Formerly Ramada Limited McAllen)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in McAllen
#2 Business Hotel in McAllen
#2 Best Value Hotel in McAllen
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Ramada
Ramada Mcallen
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing