We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't Be Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pear Tree Inn McAllen
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our visit started off OK, but then it went downhill. After breakfast, we left to go sight seeing. Later that evening, we came back to our room. Nothing had been done to the room --- not cleaned, beds not made, towels not replaced, trash not emptied! When we complained, they tried to say that we had put the do not disturb sign out. We had NOT done this! They did give us more towels and a plastic bag so we could empty our trash!! Even then we had to go to the front desk to get them!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value guest feedback as it helps us improve the guest experience. We are sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your recent stay at Pear Tree Inn McAllen. Please contact me at your leisure to further discuss the way you were treated.

Greg Castillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many many times. It's always clean and they give me a good rate. The new girl they have working the desk is not the norm here. She's rude and tried to argue with me about when the last time I stayed here! I'm guessing it was her boyfriend at the counter the whole time just looking at me like he was watching over her. She screwed up on my bill then argued how it was right. As said I've stayed here MANY times. I think I know what my bill should be. Well she was wrong and needs to learn how to treat customers. Fair warning Drury you got issues with the new girl working evenings at the pear tree inn in McAllen Texas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texcop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
We are very concerned with the impression you were left with after your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry to have given you this impression. It runs completely counter to our spirit of genuine hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and once again on behalf of our entire team, We apologize for the manner in which you were treated. If I may be of service to you in the future please contact me directly at the hotel.

Greg Castillo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband & I stayed here for a week in early November along with other members of a butterfly watching group. Rooms are simple and clean and such a good value. Liked the glass elevator and free breakfast selections. The Happy Hour (really 1.5 hours) is a nice "perk", and we usually made it back to the hotel each evening after viewing elusive and rare butterflies (with much success) to enjoy wine or beer with chips, salsa, popcorn. I'd recommend staying here for budget-minded couples and families. Staff was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor looked out onto the lobby/elevator with no outside window view. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is located in a convenient location ad was a very good value. Nothing special, but the poeple were friendly and the room was a good deal for the money. when we were there beer was offered certain evenings in the hotel happy hour. The beer was cold and the atmosphere was fun

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsbost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

You should really consider staying here. It was surprisingly nice and great value. Lots of families with children, so you do need to be tolerant! Stayed for two nights. Easy parking, safe lighting, comfortable, clean rooms and decent beds. Hot breakfast included eggs, sausage, biscuits with gravy, waffles, fresh fruit. Coffee and tea available all day and night - YAY!
Missed happy hour snacks (pretzels, chips, salsa) and beverages (wine, beer, soda) both nights, but it's available.
Good restaurants nearby-- I recommend the Republic of the Rio Grande (10th St.), Red Lobster, and Furr's Buffet.
I chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed!

Room Tip: First floor is noisier because of proximity to lobby, pool, and breakfast area. If you want a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autrevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I made a reservation with Pear Tree Inn for 3 nights based on good reviews here and incredibly inexpensive stay. I stayed at Embassy Suite before but with the double $$, I decided not to this time. I didn't regret with that. My stay was pleasant. Staffs were friendly and let me check in at 11am. The room was clean and looked nice with the brick wall. There was hassle-free WIFI to use for free. TV was old fashioned but I didn't pay much attention. There was a coffee maker in the room. No fridge, no microwave, no safe but who cares (I don't). You can stop by the lobby and get free popcorn and hot coffee anytime.. that's sweet. Everything was too good for something below $70 a night. Stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INFJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thompson,nd
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We will stay again if we get to south Texas. Good food, nice rooms, friendly staff. Wish all hotels were like this one! Thanks to Tripadvisor, we found it!

Room Tip: Inside room we stayed in was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellygro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn McAllen
Drury Inn McAllen
#17 of 42 in McAllen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Express McAllen
Mision Express McAllen
#28 of 42 in McAllen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#15 of 42 in McAllen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn McAllen

Property: Pear Tree Inn McAllen
Address: 300 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501-2912 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Hotel Class:2 star — Pear Tree Inn McAllen 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicknamed the “Texas Tropics”, McAllen offers warm weather, year-round golf, some of the best shopping in the Rio Grande Valley and is among the best places for bird watching anywhere on earth! Pear Tree Inn offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free breakfast. We serve free continental breakfast, which includes pastries, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juices. Enjoy a refreshing drink to end your day with free drinks from 5:30 to 7 pm. Pear Tree Inn also offers free wireless Internet and free long distance calls ensuring you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pear Tree Inn McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Mcallen Hotel Mcallen
Hampton Inn Mcallen
Mcallen Hampton Inn
Pear Tree Inn McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing