We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value pricing reflects the quality...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn McAllen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn McAllen
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Kitchener Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value pricing reflects the quality...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed one week while visiting family; would likely not go back to this hotel.
The good: rooms are very large, most with a full kitchen. Beds are quite comfortable; bathroom is adequate. Cleaning staff did a great job every day.
The not so good: furniture is well worn, with an armchair that has most of the finish scraped off. Windows are not clear (moisture??) and difficult to open. The vanity and sink are outside the bathroom and adjacent the bed; so it's impossible for one person to get cleaned up without waking anyone else in the room. As is often the case, one cannot turn on the bathroom light without also turning on an annoyingly loud fan.
A laundry room on our floor was very convenient.
The breakfast was somewhat worse than anything else we encountered on this trip. Cut up fruit consisted solely of pineapple... in an area where oranges and grapefruit abound. Scrambled eggs and DIY waffles were the mainstay of the breakfast. Coffee was "available" during the evening, but it was always cold.
Staff were friendly, but we were surprised at how little local knowledge front desk personnel had. Inquiries about local restaurants were not well answered, nor our questions about things to see and do in the area.
The hotel is somewhat difficult to locate, with an address that most GPS devices would not find. Although it is quite close to the main highway it is surprisingly quiet. There is a wonderful walking/running/cycling trail one short block away.

Room Tip: There is some walking noise from the room above, so pick the top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your current stay. We appreciate your time and comments regarding your suite. The Hotel is making arrangements for replacing the chairs you saw. We will visit with the Front Desk staff to have more information available. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
3
3
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Would definately stay here again. THE PROS: Spacious room; very comfortable bed; comfortable sofa and recliner; excellent breakfast; great internet connection; dinner 3x a week; clean, well kept property. The CONS: The towels were stiff and rough; the pool water was cold; the "business center" printer only printed in B&W; the furniture was beyond its prime.

It was a challenge to find their location. The other hotels in the area have eye-level signs to attract the driver's sight. This hotel has an aerial sign to attract the highway traveller - although it is not located on the highway!

I wouldn't call the staff friendly or unfriendly. The only greeting we got during a 5 day stay was a "Hello" from someone in the manager's office as we passed by the door one morning. The desk staff couldn't even recommend a good pizza place. Housekeeping honored the "Do Not Disturb" and the room was spotless upon our return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us your feeback on your recent stay. We are looking into putting more signs out by the access road. Thanks again for your time and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in McAllen, TX. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and the beds very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. We will return to this hotel when we come back to McAllen.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff lived up to top service. The beds are very comfortable and we do receive those comments. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stay at this particular hotel on a weekly basis and I have to say its a great hotel for the value. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The property is well kept and the staff is amazing. The staff goes above and beyond to help accommodate the customers. I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you Joyce S. for your comments and feedback! We enjoy having you as one of our guests weekly. We pride ourselves in providing top service from the heart and Marriott Culture. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to your next visit. Please call me direct or any of the super star employees from the Residence Inn McAllen.
Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Breakfast every morning, dinner Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday included. I love they have stoves and refigerators. Not a mini refigerator either! I like to have lunch in my room and love being able to cook it and relax while working split shifts. The couch (chaise) is sooooo comfy, I usually end up falling asleep there. Every one has been friendly and is always looking for ways to make your stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors - seems to have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumrbrez038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us your feedback and great comments about your recent stay at the Residence Inn Marriott McAllen. We are very proud of our Service and staff here. Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to having you back soon. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations or any of the staff.
Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
956-994-8626
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here over the weekend for a conference. Hotel is nice and clean, COLD AC...I like that. Security was on site...at least I saw them a few times. The one bedroom king suite I had was spacious, comfortable and I had no problems.

The enterance was a little hard to find, because you see the sign from the road, but the hotel is actually off the freeway and the turn comes up very quickly. Check in was fast, the staff was very helpful with directions to the convention center.

If you are staying for a longer period of time, you get a kitchen and full fridge to cook your own meals in your room.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area and further from the back door are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and givings us your experience at the Hotel. We are working with the city to see where else off the highway we can put another sign. Once again, thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed the Hotel. Next time in McAllen give us a call.

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed here a few nights in May 2012 during a business trip to McAllen, Texas. The hotel is an older property that has been renovated and is in good repair. The hotel sits back from the freeway about 1/2 a block, lending a bit more quiet for guests (another hotel is located between the freeway and the Residence Inn, absorbing much of the road noise). Check-in was quick and without issues. I was upgraded without asking to a larger room.Hotel staff seemed genuinely interested in providing a relaxing stay.Flat screen TVs were located in the living room and bedroom (this is an extended stay suite hotel, complete with full kitchen). Mattress was comfy. I wouldhave liked a thicker comforter. My room had a gas fireplace (who knows why in South Texas), but I did not use it. Had I stayed for an entire month I would have been comfortable. The wireless internet was fast enough to stream music and video TV shows, and provided a steady signal, without a fee. The free internet from the next-door Drury Inn is also useable, surprisingly. Reception staff indicated the hotel was frequently booked full. An Olive Garden Restaurant is next door, an easy stroll for a dinner. Other than that one has to drive to get a meal out.McAllen is not that big, and all of the expected chain restaurants line both sides of the freeway for a few miles. Otherwise a drive north on 10th street offers many local eateries, grocery stores, etc. The hotel is five (5) minutes away from the McAllen Airport. A large hospital is directly across from the freeway.A large shopping mall(La Plaza Mall I think) is situated between the airport and the freeway and is about 1 1/2 miles from the hotel. Hot food is offered free evenings Monday-Wednesday. Beer and wine are offered free with evening meals. A good continental breakfast is provided gratis daily from 0630-0900 weekdays. Weekends breakfast starts thirty minutes later. Breakfast offering include four (4) warm food choices, usually scrambled eggs, hash, egg + ham biscuit sandwiches, bacon and other offerings that are rotated daily. Oatmeal, yogurt, breads, cereals and waffles are also offered. A small workout room is provided with a couple of treadmills, stair-climber and a stationary bike. The hotel offers complimentary passes to a local fully-equipped gym. There are many newer hotels located near the freeway and Ware Road, but this one was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the courtyard and pool area. Some of the longer-term guests congregate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahnreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua R, General Manager at Residence Inn McAllen, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time and putting your comments regarding your Hotel stay. We will share with the staff and we look forward to having you back at the Hotel in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly for future bookings. Once again, thank you for your time.

Joshua Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#10 of 42 in McAllen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Staybridge Suites McAllen
#14 of 42 in McAllen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites McAllen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites McAllen
SpringHill Suites McAllen
#11 of 42 in McAllen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham McAllen
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn McAllen
Drury Inn McAllen
#16 of 42 in McAllen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn McAllen

Property: Residence Inn McAllen
Address: 220 W. Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated Residence Inn McAllen is proud to be the business travelers' preferred choice for extended-stay McAllen, TX hotels. We elevate your long-term stay by combining all the comfort of home with our passion for making you feel welcome. Find our McAllen, Texas hotel only minutes from Miller International Airport (free shuttle on request) and local attractions such as Reynosa, Nuevo Progresso and the Quinta Mazatlan for bird watching. Our 78 spacious McAllen suites provide ample comfort, including separate work and living areas, furnished kitchens and a free grocery service. Our McAllen, TX hotel's other perks include free Wi-Fi, evening hospitality hours (M-W) and delicious free healthy breakfast every morning. A well-equipped fitness center helps you keep up your routine, or you can play a healthy game at the Sport Court(R). Whatever you need, trust our knowledgeable and friendly staff to be at your service 24/7. Among extended-stay hotels in McAllen, TX, Residence Inn by Marriott is the perfect home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Residence Inn
Residence Inn McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing