We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drury Inn, McAllen a great deal”
Review of Drury Inn McAllen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn McAllen
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drury Inn, McAllen a great deal”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Not the fanciest or newest but has everything you need and more. Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and comfy, good breakfast plus an evening light meal including DRINKS. We spent 10 days there in January and a week last year...very pleased!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    31
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
14
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Clean low cost hotel with good service (free breakfast and happy hour). The work-out "facility" only has a treadmill and a bike. Few resturants nearyby to walk to...but some are a quick 5-10 min drive.

This was booked through my companies travel team, if traveling for business I would not recommend staying here; however, if it was my own money and I needed a quick, safe, cheap and clean place I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

By far the best value. A clean, comfortable room. AdAlso had a nice breakfast plus evening food and drinks and unlimited soda and coffee until 10PM. A very nice fitness center. The staff was friendly and courteous. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I come to McAllen every week on business and stay here. I have tried most hotels in the area and this one is by far the best. They have excellent customer service as well as other perks. They serve a buffet style breakfast in the morning which is very good and also have dinner/snacks/drinks in the evening for free. The rooms are also very nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenGirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This is an older hotel, but it was pretty clean. The breakfast was ample and there was a wide selection. Apparently, this plus the price of the motel makes it popular with families. There were lots of kids and they were everywhere--including the exercise room. When I inquired about the age restrictions, the clerk said that he would boot the kids out because they were under 18.. The kids were back the next night, so I didn't bother to go in. If you like things like having white towels white, go elsewhere. The towels were all grayish. If you like fluffy toilet paper, go elsewhere. This is a motel where families can get more bang for their buck. The drawing card for us was that we took our two small dogs along and they allowed pets without charging extra. Next time we are boarding the dogs and paying more for the extra comfort. If you want breakfast, dinner, snacks and you're taking the kids and the dog, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with two full-sized beds. The room was small and the bathroom tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txteacher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at the Drury Inn, in McAllen Texas on the first week of March 2012 with my wife and two children. If you get to register before 7 pm, you will get complimentary snacks, soda, and beer! I know many hotels that offer a happy hour (2x1), but few that offer Very Happy two hours (complimentary snacks and drinks including beer!)
Our room was very spacious, clean, and had strong WiFi signal.
The hotel is located right on Highway 83, just across the “street“ from the Medical Center. There is a Shoneys (All you can eat) dinner buffet next door that we found ok, for $6.99
You can also order pizza to your room, if you like.
This hotel has a very clean swimming pool that my children enjoyed.
The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast. On weekends, you have to go there early (before 8am) to secure a table, and avoid long lines. The busiest lines you will find them at the waffles station.
I recommend this place to any family traveling with children, to any business traveler, and to those people wanting to be staying close to the McAllen Medical Center.
I hope this review is helpful. Happy trails!

Room Tip: Check in by 5 pm to take advantage of the happy hours! Complimentary snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anmegk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

An excellent overall experience. Free wi-fi, clean rooms, attentive and friendly service, ample parking, free breakfast (with lots to choose from), free dinner (with lots to choose from and adult beverages), and late night popcorn and soda. It's like staying with the grandparents!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
0.1 mi away
Drury Suites McAllen
Drury Suites McAllen
#15 of 41 in McAllen
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites McAllen
Staybridge Suites McAllen
#19 of 41 in McAllen
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Mcallen Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn McAllen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn McAllen

Property: Drury Inn McAllen
Address: 612 W Expressway 83, McAllen, TX 78501-2938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in McAllen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn McAllen 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn McAllen is located across I-2 from McAllen International Airport, near US-281 and the Mexico border. South Texas is a major shopping destination and offers year-round outdoor recreation. The hotel's central location is surrounded by many options, but your stay includes a free hot breakfast and free hot food and cold beverages at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn McAllen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Mcallen
Drury Inn McAllen Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing